Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a

The Lion King meets Wings of Fire in the magical rainforest kingdom of Caldera in this new middle grade animal fantasy series from New York Times bestselling author and National Book Award finalist Eliot Schrefer.

Caldera has forever been divided into those animals who walk by night and those who walk by day. Nightwalker panthers, like young Mez and her beloved sister, have always feared daywalkers as creatures of myth and legend. Until the eclipse.

Now Mez has discovered that she can cross the Veil and enter the daylight world. Her magical power has unknown depths, but she must rush to discover it after a mysterious stranger arrives at her family’s den, bearing warnings of a reawakened evil.

Saving Caldera means Mez must leave her sister behind and unite an unlikely group of animal friends to unravel an ancient mystery and protect their rainforest home.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on January 2, 2018 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062491075
ISBN-13: 9780062491077
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • readwriter
    readwriterMonday, August 6, 2018 at 3:04 pm44 stars
    This was such a cute book! It was fun and easy to read, but was still a really good book! The pictures are also super cool!
    • jwarne
      jwarneFriday, August 3, 2018 at 11:34 am55 stars
      Oh my gosh! This book is so funny. I didn't expect it to be as funny as it was. I thought it would be a really compelling fantasy story, but It made me laugh out loud so many times that my mom kept asking what was happening and we ended up reading it together.
      • armcginn
        armcginnWednesday, August 1, 2018 at 12:49 pm55 stars
        Mez, a young panther rises to join the quest to stop the legendary ant queen, before the ant queen escapes and starts enslaving the animals of the jungle!
        • springchick114
          springchick114Tuesday, July 31, 2018 at 8:09 am55 stars
          This book was full of secret fun facts, exotic animals, and spine tingling adventure! I totally recommend this book, only if you like crazy twists though. This is a good book to choose a favorite character, and I loved how it was so described, you could play it out in your mind! I really loved this book and I wish good luck to all those reading it! Also, anyone with a strong love of animals should TOTALLY read this book! :D HAPPY READING!!!
          • lees
            leesSunday, July 29, 2018 at 7:50 pm33 stars
            its about a panther named mez and a bunch of other animals that have poweres because of the eclipse. and they have to come together to defeat the Ant queen. i like it it is very interesting.
            • spykitten
              spykittenSaturday, July 28, 2018 at 4:14 pm22 stars
              I don't really like this book. It wasn't written well and I didn't care for the storyline. It is about a black panther (not from Marvel) named Mez who should be asleep during the daytime. Animals in the rainforest are separated from ones who walk at night and the ones that walk at daytime. She isn't asleep so she looks out her cave and sees a snake. And snakes walk at night. I don't recommend this book.
              • jso6
                jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 7:38 am44 stars
                Mez is a black panther who lives in a rain forest named Caldera. The rain forest is split into the nightwalkers and the daywalkers. Between that is called the Veil. When a solar eclipse happens, Mez joins together with some of the solar eclipse animals.
                • soyster
                  soysterSaturday, July 7, 2018 at 5:30 pm55 stars
                  This book is really captivating. It's about a black panther named Mez who lives in the rainforest called Caldera. Caldera's animals are split into 2 categories. Those who live at night and those who live at day. The time in between is called the Veil, and to cross it makes you an unnatural. But there are some animals born during the eclipse that have magical powers and are able to cross the veil. Mez joins together with other eclipse-born animals led in a group by a boa constrictor named Auriel. With betrayal arriving on Mez's doorstep, she must figure out how to stop the Ant Queen, who wants to rule the rainforest. It takes you on a series of twists and turns, and I liked the suspenseful moments.
                  • eybook2018
                    eybook2018Friday, June 15, 2018 at 4:26 pm
                    The Lost Rainforest: Mez's Magic is full of adventure and animals. It's really fun to read and when I read it I sort of see a movie of what's happening.
                    • belle252
                      belle252Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 4:04 pm44 stars
                      This is a good book if you are into animals and fantasy so it was the perfect combination for me, sometimes it got confusing like in the start but later on it was really good.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      soyster
                      soyster wrote:

                      This book was nice to read. It d...
                      Book Scavenger (The Book Scaveng...

                      soyster
                      soyster wrote:

                      I enjoyed reading this book very...
                      The Door to the Lost

                      unibrowboi
                      unibrowboi wrote:

                      well you should read it
                      Waste of Space (Moon Base Alpha)

                      unibrowboi
                      unibrowboi wrote:

                      this book has the right about of...
                      A Study in Charlotte (Charlotte ...

                      Our Apps and Plugins