Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a

The Lion King meets Wings of Fire in the magical rainforest kingdom of Caldera in this new middle grade animal fantasy series from New York Times bestselling author and National Book Award finalist Eliot Schrefer.

Caldera has forever been divided into those animals who walk by night and those who walk by day. Nightwalker panthers, like young Mez and her beloved sister, have always feared daywalkers as creatures of myth and legend. Until the eclipse.

Now Mez has discovered that she can cross the Veil and enter the daylight world. Her magical power has unknown depths, but she must rush to discover it after a mysterious stranger arrives at her family’s den, bearing warnings of a reawakened evil.

Saving Caldera means Mez must leave her sister behind and unite an unlikely group of animal friends to unravel an ancient mystery and protect their rainforest home.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on January 2, 2018 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062491075
ISBN-13: 9780062491077
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • LunafloofWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 11:15 am
    My book review is about the book The Lost Rainforest: Mez’s Magic by Eliot Schrefer. The book is about Mez, a panther born during the eclipse and found friends who were also born during the eclipse to defeat the ant queen. I liked the book because I love panthers and adventure books. I liked that the book made you happy when SPOILER ALERT characters find each other again and sad when SPOILER ALERT characters that you relate to die This book helped me learn about perseverance and pushing forward. Like when SPOILER ALERT they are in the owl fight on the river and they get flipped under the water. In that situation the main character, Mez just keeps pushing through and eventually emerges from the water. Unlike Mez, a character who doesn’t persevere is Sorrella the monkey. In the beginning of the book the side character Sorrella the monkey had no respect for anyone but herself. Sorrella thought she was very sophisticated and we can tell because in one part, Auriel the cobra was talking and Sorrella wasn’t paying attention, she was grooming herself. Gogi the monkey wanted her respect but Sorrella hated Gogi because he was only a seventeen on the rankings. After Gogi SPOILER ALERT saved the animals from the ant queen for the first time, Sorrella actually gave him some respect by giving him praise for what he did. Like when Gogi is giving a speech about how they will defeat the ant queen once and for all, Sorrella is listening and joins into the speech to help prove Gogi’s point. They were all so positive that they would win, and they were even more moved to win because SPOILER ALERT they had a dead member to fight for. I think that the chapter when SPOILER ALERT Nico the fish dies means sometimes good people have bad things happen to them. Nico was a good fish and he didn’t deserve to be SPOILER ALERT eaten by Auriel. This chapter helps show that SPOILER ALERT Auriel works for the ant queen and can hollow out animals bodies. There was no crack in the temple so the ant queen couldn’t have come out of the temple to eat it herself. I hope that if you read the book, you enjoyed it and if you haven’t, you will and you will enjoy it.
    • lumos
      lumosSunday, August 19, 2018 at 11:46 am44 stars
      Did you ever read “The One and Only Ivan” and really wanted a sequel? Maybe this isn’t a sequel - but it’s definetley amazing and similar to it! Adventure through the jungles that Mez, a young panther - experiences with magical powers to discover! This book actually made me cry (hint: a small, sad part of Mez’s sister and leaving her behind because she lost one of her paws). This is a great book recommended, you should DEF-IN-IT-LEY read this!
      • reader_red
        reader_redWednesday, August 15, 2018 at 7:14 am55 stars
        I really liked this story!! It had a couple creepy descriptions in it but oh well! Mez and her sister Chumba where born on the night of the eclipse. There mother dies because of it and the two sisters are brought up by their tough Aunt Usha. Mez has been having trouble sleeping. one day when everyone else was sleeping Mez sees the tiniest but of a Boa Constrictor. That next night, Aunt Usha finds and eagle dead right by their den. Chumba has strange attack marks on her. Mez is banished and leaves to go save Caldera from the great Ant Queen. She meets many friends that touch her heart.
        • readwriter
          readwriterMonday, August 6, 2018 at 3:04 pm44 stars
          This was such a cute book! It was fun and easy to read, but was still a really good book! The pictures are also super cool!
          • jwarne
            jwarneFriday, August 3, 2018 at 11:34 am55 stars
            Oh my gosh! This book is so funny. I didn't expect it to be as funny as it was. I thought it would be a really compelling fantasy story, but It made me laugh out loud so many times that my mom kept asking what was happening and we ended up reading it together.
            • armcginn
              armcginnWednesday, August 1, 2018 at 12:49 pm55 stars
              Mez, a young panther rises to join the quest to stop the legendary ant queen, before the ant queen escapes and starts enslaving the animals of the jungle!
              • springchick114
                springchick114Tuesday, July 31, 2018 at 8:09 am55 stars
                This book was full of secret fun facts, exotic animals, and spine tingling adventure! I totally recommend this book, only if you like crazy twists though. This is a good book to choose a favorite character, and I loved how it was so described, you could play it out in your mind! I really loved this book and I wish good luck to all those reading it! Also, anyone with a strong love of animals should TOTALLY read this book! :D HAPPY READING!!!
                • lees
                  leesSunday, July 29, 2018 at 7:50 pm33 stars
                  its about a panther named mez and a bunch of other animals that have poweres because of the eclipse. and they have to come together to defeat the Ant queen. i like it it is very interesting.
                  • spykitten
                    spykittenSaturday, July 28, 2018 at 4:14 pm22 stars
                    I don't really like this book. It wasn't written well and I didn't care for the storyline. It is about a black panther (not from Marvel) named Mez who should be asleep during the daytime. Animals in the rainforest are separated from ones who walk at night and the ones that walk at daytime. She isn't asleep so she looks out her cave and sees a snake. And snakes walk at night. I don't recommend this book.
                    • jso6
                      jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 7:38 am44 stars
                      Mez is a black panther who lives in a rain forest named Caldera. The rain forest is split into the nightwalkers and the daywalkers. Between that is called the Veil. When a solar eclipse happens, Mez joins together with some of the solar eclipse animals.