The Heroes of Olympus, Book One The Lost Hero (new cover)

Book 1 of 5 in the The Heroes of Olympus Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.5127859
Jason has a problem. He doesn't remember anything before waking up on a school bus holding hands with a girl. Apparently she's his girlfriend Piper, his best friend is a kid named Leo, and they're all students in the Wilderness School, a boarding school for "bad kids." What he did to end up here, Jason has no idea-except that everything seems very wrong.

Piper has a secret. Her father has been missing for three days, and her vivid nightmares reveal that he's in terrible danger. Now her boyfriend doesn't recognize her, and when a freak storm and strange creatures attack during a school field trip, she, Jason, and Leo are whisked away to someplace called Camp Half-Blood. What is going on?

Leo has a way with tools. His new cabin at Camp Half-Blood is filled with them. Seriously, the place beats Wilderness School hands down, with its weapons training, monsters, and fine-looking girls. What's troubling is the curse everyone keeps talking about, and that a camper's gone missing. Weirdest of all, his bunkmates insist they are all-including Leo-related to a god.

Rick Riordan, the best-selling author of the Percy Jackson series, pumps up the action and suspense in The Lost Hero, the first book in The Heroes of Olympus series. Fans of demi-gods, prophesies, and quests will be left breathless--and panting in anticipation for Book Two. The accessible and dramatic cover art by graphic novelist Nilah Magruder will attract a new generation of readers.
Hardcover, 384 pages
ISBN-10: 0141384921
ISBN-13: 9780141384924
474 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • penguinpop
    penguinpopMonday, January 11, 2021 at 9:35 am55 stars
    I love Clovis, and I love Leo. But where was PERCYYY. Also percabeth forever.
    • harrypfangirl
      harrypfangirlWednesday, January 6, 2021 at 8:14 am55 stars
      I love this book SO much! I got it for my birthday in December and I have read it three times this month! Rick Riordan is one of my all-time favorite authors!
      • wolfofthemoon
        wolfofthemoonTuesday, December 8, 2020 at 12:35 am55 stars
        A really nice book. Jason wakes up on a school bus. He apparently doesn't know who he is. He has a girlfriend named Piper McLean, and his friend is Leo Valdez. He doesn't even know his last name. After an attack by storm spirits named venti, Jason, Piper, and Leo get whisked away to a place named Camp Half-Blood. They meet a girl from the Athena Cabin named Annabeth Chase. She's looking for her boyfriend, Percy Jackson, who vanished mysteriously from the camp. Soon, Piper discovers that her relationship with Jason was actually part of the Mist, meaning it didn't exist at all. Soon they all get claimed. Leo gets claimed by Hephaestus, the Greek god of fire and forges. Piper gets claimed by Aphrodite, goddess of beauty and love. And Jason gets claimed by Zeus, Greek god of lightning. They soon go on a quest to save Hera, Zeus's wife. Okay, I'm not gonna spoil anymore.
        • chloele
          chloeleThursday, November 26, 2020 at 7:53 pm55 stars
          awesome!
          • daniellee
            danielleeWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 12:20 pm55 stars
            The best book ever!
            • soup_can11
              soup_can11Tuesday, October 6, 2020 at 7:37 am55 stars
              If you love action, romance, drama, comedy, and or mythology, then this is the book for you! I loved the way that Rick Riordan wrote the plot. Sometimes he wrote it so well so I could tell exactly what was going t happen next, and other times he wrote it so well that I had no idea what was coming next. Anyway, I just want to say that this is a great book, in a great series. #Leo is the best!
              • crunchyrainbow
                crunchyrainbowTuesday, September 29, 2020 at 11:04 pm44 stars
                This book was an amazing continuation to the famous Percy Jackson series! It starts off with a ton of questions, and ends in a huge cliffhanger, leaving us with even more questions than before! Overall, this book was a complete joy to read, and introduces the readers to a complete new set of characters (Of course, Annabeth and a few other older favourites are still there) and takes us on a wonderful journey! I would whole-heartedly recommend this to someone who has read the Percy Jackson series and enjoyed it.
                • dragonite36345
                  dragonite36345Tuesday, September 29, 2020 at 8:37 am55 stars
                  Jason has a problem. He doesn't remember anything before waking up on a school bus holding hands with a girl. Apparently she's his girlfriend Piper, his best friend is a kid named Leo, and they're all students in the Wilderness School, a boarding school for "bad kids." What he did to end up here, Jason has no idea-except that everything seems very wrong. Piper has a secret. Her father has been missing for three days, and her vivid nightmares reveal that he's in terrible danger. Now her boyfriend doesn't recognize her, and when a freak storm and strange creatures attack during a school field trip, she, Jason, and Leo are whisked away to someplace called Camp Half-Blood. What is going on? Leo has a way with tools. His new cabin at Camp Half-Blood is filled with them. Seriously, the place beats Wilderness School hands down, with its weapons training, monsters, and fine-looking girls. What's troubling is the curse everyone keeps talking about, and that a camper's gone missing. Weirdest of all, his bunkmates insist they are all-including Leo-related to a god. The Mist takes over. What will happen next?
                  • ttgtristan5525
                    ttgtristan5525Wednesday, September 16, 2020 at 10:49 am55 stars
                    i have read all of them over a hundred times my all time favorite book series right there.
                    • olivia24hello
                      olivia24helloMonday, August 24, 2020 at 5:00 pm
                      I'm in the middle of it. Super good so far.