The Heroes of Olympus, Book One The Lost Hero (new cover)

Book 1 of 5 in the The Heroes of Olympus Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.5127859
Jason has a problem. He doesn't remember anything before waking up on a school bus holding hands with a girl. Apparently she's his girlfriend Piper, his best friend is a kid named Leo, and they're all students in the Wilderness School, a boarding school for "bad kids." What he did to end up here, Jason has no idea-except that everything seems very wrong.

Piper has a secret. Her father has been missing for three days, and her vivid nightmares reveal that he's in terrible danger. Now her boyfriend doesn't recognize her, and when a freak storm and strange creatures attack during a school field trip, she, Jason, and Leo are whisked away to someplace called Camp Half-Blood. What is going on?

Leo has a way with tools. His new cabin at Camp Half-Blood is filled with them. Seriously, the place beats Wilderness School hands down, with its weapons training, monsters, and fine-looking girls. What's troubling is the curse everyone keeps talking about, and that a camper's gone missing. Weirdest of all, his bunkmates insist they are all-including Leo-related to a god.

Rick Riordan, the best-selling author of the Percy Jackson series, pumps up the action and suspense in The Lost Hero, the first book in The Heroes of Olympus series. Fans of demi-gods, prophesies, and quests will be left breathless--and panting in anticipation for Book Two. The accessible and dramatic cover art by graphic novelist Nilah Magruder will attract a new generation of readers.
Hardcover, 576 pages
Published on October 12, 2010 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 142311339X
ISBN-13: 9781423113393
444 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • docterstrange
    docterstrangeMonday, February 10, 2020 at 5:28 pm55 stars
    The lost hero is an excellent book for kids to enjoy. It is book one of the Heroes of Olympus series, and is a sequel to the Percy Jackson books.
    • ghostadventures
      ghostadventuresFriday, January 24, 2020 at 8:56 am
      I already finished the percy jackson series and I loved it so I have been wanting to start the Heros of Olympus.
      • supujeha-157805874868
        supujeha-157805874868Tuesday, January 14, 2020 at 3:49 pm55 stars
        In my opinion, I really liked this book. The story where Jace, Leo, and Piper go on a quest in the modern world to save Camp Half-Blood where all of the children of the gods go to. They need to protect it from the Greek mythology monsters who attack the gods and the camp. Another reason why is it taught me a lot of information about Greek Mythology including the gods and monsters they used to believe in. The last reason why is there are a lot of mysteries that will make you want to keep reading until you figure out what happens. My favorite part is when they battle the Greek monsters and minions who try to stop them from saving Camp Half-Blood while having to save each other from them and work together as a team to save the world from the monsters. You might like this book if you like action, Greek Mythology, Fantasy, comedy, and mystery. You should read this book because it can help you learn a lot about Greek Mythology. The story is very interesting and unique because it is a story about Greek Mythology that takes place in the modern world with all of our current technology, unlike other Greek Mythology books which just tell facts about Greek Mythology or stories in the old world about Greek Mythology.
        • penguin777
          penguin777Saturday, December 21, 2019 at 12:25 pm55 stars
          I read the whole series
          • ginny1980h
            ginny1980hMonday, December 9, 2019 at 3:42 pm55 stars
            Lovely. It tells you about the broken romances and the new character. Keeps you reading until you finish the book!!!!!!!
            • seriously58
              seriously58Wednesday, November 20, 2019 at 3:11 pm55 stars
              I really liked this book, and am excited for book two. I think the characters are great, each main character having an individual backstory, problems, and weaknesses. I also like how all of their traits are not revealed at the beginning of the book, but rather later into the story. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is trying to find a good read.
              • big_bobby_2008
                big_bobby_2008Thursday, October 10, 2019 at 6:36 pm55 stars
                At the start of the book Jason realizes that he isn't like the other Greek demigods. That is probably because he is Roman not Greek. Near the end of the book Jason and his friends are trying to save Hera. If you were to read this book you would not be able to put it down.
                • ryanng1letsgopa
                  ryanng1letsgopaThursday, October 3, 2019 at 1:30 pm55 stars
                  I have read most of the books that Rick Riordan has wrote within the past few years and they were cool. He puts little funny things in it too.
                  • thatpersonSaturday, August 31, 2019 at 9:30 am
                    this book was AMAZING i love all of the characters! Riordan had done it again with another AMAZING book!🤩🤪
                    • shadow_shady
                      shadow_shadySaturday, August 24, 2019 at 9:42 am55 stars
                      It was awesome and the character are so easy to fall in love with