Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 4 - 6n/a5.546368

The beloved New York Times bestselling author of the modern classic Frindle celebrates books and the joy of reading with a new school story to love!

Sixth grader Alec can’t put a good book down.

So when Principal Vance lays down the law—pay attention in class, or else—Alec takes action. He can’t lose all his reading time, so he starts a club. A club he intends to be the only member of. After all, reading isn’t a team sport, and no one would want to join something called the Losers Club, right? But as more and more kids find their way to Alec’s club—including his ex-friend turned bully and the girl Alec is maybe starting to like—Alec notices something. Real life might be messier than his favorite books, but it’s just as interesting.

With The Losers Club, Andrew Clements brings us a new school story that’s a love letter to books and to reading and that reminds us that sometimes the best stories are the ones that happen off the page—our own!

Paperback, 240 pages
Published on July 10, 2018 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 039955758X
ISBN-13: 9780399557583
52 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • 30057
    30057Saturday, July 14, 2018 at 2:18 pm
    The Losers Club title already has me wondering and curious, what is this book about. I mean, what happened to these kids that made them to be the Losers club. This book is rated 5 stars, so I am interested in trying a new, different book out and seeing how this odd club fixes whatever problem they have. Hopefully, the solution is finally being called something, other that "the losers". I am really excited to start reading.
    • dybook2018
      dybook2018Sunday, July 8, 2018 at 4:00 pm
      The Losers Club is a boy that makes this club at the after school program because he wants to read his book in peace and thats when the trouble starts.
      • jso6
        jso6Monday, July 2, 2018 at 9:41 am55 stars
        Alec loves to read, but he reads books in his classroom instead of paying attention, but when the principal says that if he's caught reading in a class, he'll be sent to summer school. He starts an after school reading club so that he can just read, but when more and more people want to join, he doesn't know what to do, especially when the school bully joins. This was a great book, and I would absolutely recommend it.
        • auntieb
          auntiebMonday, June 18, 2018 at 5:46 pm44 stars
          The Loser's Club by Andrew Clements is a very enjoyable read I love seeing the different books the kids were reading. I also was really excited to read another book by Andrew Clements.
          • Bob the guyMonday, June 18, 2018 at 9:01 am
            The preview looks nice.. but what I don't like is how he ALWAYS reads his books no matter how many times the teacher/guardian/ or any responsible grown up has told him. To be a book worm you don't have to constantly read a book 24/7. Sometimes you can just lay on your bed while reading a good book.
            • rainshine116
              rainshine116Sunday, June 17, 2018 at 4:49 pm55 stars
              Sixth grader Alec just doesn't want to put down his really good book. But when it becomes a problem that the principal has to know about, he decides to act upon it. If you want to find out how he acts upon his problem read this book. It is a great book and I love it!
              • eybook2018
                eybook2018Monday, June 11, 2018 at 7:34 pm44 stars
                This book was a very interesting and to read. It was about Alec and him so into reading that it gets him into trouble. Alec just wants it to be quiet when he is reading and I would want that too. So he makes a club so he could read in peace. He also makes its name The Losers club so no one would join.
                • eybook2018
                  eybook2018Monday, June 11, 2018 at 2:16 pm44 stars
                  The main character in this story is Alec and he likes reading time to be silent and i totally agree with him. This book is really good even though i thought it was bad, but it turned out to be a really good book.
                  • gia21
                    gia21Tuesday, June 5, 2018 at 7:35 am44 stars
                    I really like this book is about a boy named Alec. he creates a reading club because all he wants to do in school is read.The club was named the losers club, but it started to become more popular. This is a good book about friendship and making your dreams come true.
                    • spykitten
                      spykittenTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 6:14 am33 stars
                      I picked this book up to read but I didn't think it would be very good, but it was actually a pretty great book! It wasn't a very interesting storyline but how it was worded made it pretty good. It was about a boy named Alec who can't put a book down and keeps getting in trouble for it so at his school he makes a book club called the Losers Club so people will not join it but some kids join it still. I would recommend this book for all the readers and definitely the readers who like reading and clubs.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      hopes
                      hopes wrote:

                      I loved this book because it was...
                      Mustaches for Maddie

                      spykitten
                      spykitten wrote:

                      I am reading the Land Of Stories...
                      The Curvy Tree: A Tale from the ...

                      jso6
                      jso6 wrote:

                      Zach King lives in a family that...
                      Zach King: My Magical Life

                      jso6
                      jso6 wrote:

                      Rump is a boy with half of a nam...
                      Rump: The True Story of Rumpelst...