The beloved New York Times bestselling author of the modern classic Frindle celebrates books and the joy of reading with a new school story to love!

Sixth grader Alec can’t put a good book down.

So when Principal Vance lays down the law—pay attention in class, or else—Alec takes action. He can’t lose all his reading time, so he starts a club. A club he intends to be the only member of. After all, reading isn’t a team sport, and no one would want to join something called the Losers Club, right? But as more and more kids find their way to Alec’s club—including his ex-friend turned bully and the girl Alec is maybe starting to like—Alec notices something. Real life might be messier than his favorite books, but it’s just as interesting.

With The Losers Club, Andrew Clements brings us a new school story that’s a love letter to books and to reading and that reminds us that sometimes the best stories are the ones that happen off the page—our own!

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on August 1, 2017 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0399557555
ISBN-13: 9780399557552
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • tori3ghoul
    tori3ghoulThursday, November 30, 2017 at 10:50 am
    I love chapter books that talk about great reads. I am also a fan of Andrew Clements' books. I've read three of them already! In this one, Alec keeps getting punished for reading in class, so he starts a solo club that soon becomes popular. Give this book a try!
    • njreader
      njreaderSaturday, November 18, 2017 at 5:57 am55 stars
      I like this book because there are so many lessons. Like to go with the flow.I think you will like this if you like action. If you like this book you may want to read more Raina Telgemeier books.
      • lovebug101
        lovebug101Wednesday, November 8, 2017 at 4:28 am44 stars
        I like this book a lot, and Andrew Clements is an amazing author. This book is sad and a bit happy!
        • Holden HartleyTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 11:49 am
          It is so good
          • savagepoopMonday, November 6, 2017 at 4:27 pm
            its so good
            • mister magicFriday, November 3, 2017 at 9:01 am
              i call dibs on this book
              • bostonboyz
                bostonboyzThursday, November 2, 2017 at 2:27 pm55 stars
                I have read this book three times and i love it every time i read it. I love the older boy because he reads a lot just like me. Unlike him I like to read sports books. I also go to an extended day program.
                • oofThursday, November 2, 2017 at 10:45 am
                  Good Job, totally not IT. Not a big fan of copying vastly more popular authors ideas.
                  • bossThursday, November 2, 2017 at 10:29 am
                    it is so cool and intresting
                    • pandajojoThursday, November 2, 2017 at 9:18 am
                      i do not think so

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      bella6411
                      bella6411 wrote:

                      well the baby is cute but the bo...
                      The Sleep Lady®’s Good Night, Sl...

                      samantha1234567

                      i like this book that i read it ...
                      Drama

                      samantha1234567

                      i really liked this book because...
                      I Survived the Sinking of the Ti...

                      samantha1234567

                      I read it once and I loved it it...
                      Wonder Movie Tie-In Edition