The beloved New York Times bestselling author of the modern classic Frindle celebrates books and the joy of reading with a new school story to love!

Sixth grader Alec can’t put a good book down.

So when Principal Vance lays down the law—pay attention in class, or else—Alec takes action. He can’t lose all his reading time, so he starts a club. A club he intends to be the only member of. After all, reading isn’t a team sport, and no one would want to join something called the Losers Club, right? But as more and more kids find their way to Alec’s club—including his ex-friend turned bully and the girl Alec is maybe starting to like—Alec notices something. Real life might be messier than his favorite books, but it’s just as interesting.

With The Losers Club, Andrew Clements brings us a new school story that’s a love letter to books and to reading and that reminds us that sometimes the best stories are the ones that happen off the page—our own!

Praise for The Losers Club!

“I LOVED this book…Five stars. I cannot wait to talk about this when we head back to school next year. I think my fifth graders are going to love it.”—Colby Sharp, teacher, blogger, and co-founder of the Nerdy Bookclub

Enter the Love of Reading Challenge to earn a FREE Book

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on August 1, 2017 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0399557555
ISBN-13: 9780399557552
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • bookishfangirl
    bookishfangirlSunday, October 15, 2017 at 10:39 am
    I wanna continue reading this book!
    • lovebug101
      lovebug101Friday, October 13, 2017 at 3:20 pm44 stars
      I like this book a lot, and Andrew Clements is an amazing author.
      • robin13
        robin13Friday, September 22, 2017 at 10:25 am
        me+like=agree
        • robin13
          robin13Friday, September 22, 2017 at 10:24 am
          ok so my sister told me this was a good book but i didnt belive here so she read a little bit to me and i started to like it then the next day i was alomost done around dinner i finished it was a great book ;]
          • shaybabyMonday, September 18, 2017 at 6:18 pm
            i like this book agree
            • noobieWednesday, September 13, 2017 at 1:16 pm
              i like the name
              • migbro2006
                migbro2006Monday, September 18, 2017 at 1:43 pm55 stars
                agree
              • jeffTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 4:46 pm
                This was a terrbile book
                • seungchung
                  seungchungMonday, August 7, 2017 at 4:29 am
                  jeff. I wouldn't say it was terrible.. but it is kinda bad. I agree
                  • skylerlove4
                    skylerlove4Wednesday, August 2, 2017 at 8:37 am
                    I agree jeff
                  • Nail BroTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 3:59 pm
                    I think this is going to be a good book
                    • meTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 3:58 pm
                      this book was so interesting
                      • Nail BroMonday, July 31, 2017 at 6:46 pm
                        I think this is going to be a good book

                        Recent Kids Book Reviews

                        Guy wrote:

                        I used to like Roblox... but now...
                        Roblox: Ultimate Jokes & Memes f...

                        grapefruit
                        grapefruit wrote:

                        Another great book from Rick Rio...
                        The Dark Prophecy (The Trials of...