Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 4 - 6n/a5.546368

The beloved New York Times bestselling author of the modern classic Frindle celebrates books and the joy of reading with a new school story to love!

Sixth grader Alec can’t put a good book down.

So when Principal Vance lays down the law—pay attention in class, or else—Alec takes action. He can’t lose all his reading time, so he starts a club. A club he intends to be the only member of. After all, reading isn’t a team sport, and no one would want to join something called the Losers Club, right? But as more and more kids find their way to Alec’s club—including his ex-friend turned bully and the girl Alec is maybe starting to like—Alec notices something. Real life might be messier than his favorite books, but it’s just as interesting.

With The Losers Club, Andrew Clements brings us a new school story that’s a love letter to books and to reading and that reminds us that sometimes the best stories are the ones that happen off the page—our own!

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on August 1, 2017 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0399557555
ISBN-13: 9780399557552
80 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • galaxy52
    galaxy52Saturday, July 18, 2020 at 9:49 am44 stars
    I really liked this book. I can connect to it because I am a bookworm, just like the main character. I might buy it sometime soon ( the one I have is from the library)! I give this an eight out of ten.
    • blossomreader
      blossomreaderFriday, July 10, 2020 at 2:37 pm55 stars
      This book is one of my favorites by Andrew Clements. Alec loves to read, and he always wants to do it, but the after school program requires Alec to do something else active or productive. So Alec desides to take matters in his own hands and starts his own club, a club that no one else would want to join and he can be alone in peace: The Losers Club. But then kids start to join and it becomes a nuisance. What will happen?
      • belle252
        belle252Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 8:35 pm55 stars
        This is an amazing book. Alec is the type of kid who gets in trouble- for reading. Reading is his world for him and he can not focus on the world of school and teachers around him. He gets the threat of going to summer school from his principal. Now, he can't read in the class where was he supposed to read? Alec's questions turn into answers when after school starts- Alec was able to create a club so he could read books. There was still one problem: Kids can come into the club and distract him from reading. He names it The Losers Club, so nobody wants to join the club. As it turns out, a lot of kids find themselves in The Losers club. which gets Alec annoyed. Will he ever learn that the world around him is just as fascinating as the worlds in the book- or will he grow up as a "bookworm" who will never be able to live without books?
        • Little lollipopFriday, February 14, 2020 at 3:57 pm
          It was amazing
          • tulegabu-157615959653
            tulegabu-157615959653Friday, December 13, 2019 at 7:00 am55 stars
            Amazing book. I loved reading it, there was so much detail, and it really describes how the kid is feeling. I totally recommend this book.
            • abiyo
              abiyoThursday, November 21, 2019 at 7:02 am
              This book is great because it has love,laughs, and funny thing .
              • dramaqueen777
                dramaqueen777Monday, October 14, 2019 at 12:37 pm
                I love this book so much!
                • inmemoryofcpr
                  inmemoryofcprSaturday, July 20, 2019 at 8:19 am33 stars
                  So this book was soooo awkward!!! The plot was weird and this Andrew Clement's book was such a dissapointment. 😥 I would not recommend this.
                  • freewayjada5
                    freewayjada5Monday, July 8, 2019 at 9:36 pm55 stars
                    This book is about a boy who loves to read he reads whenever he can so when he is enrolled in extended day class he starts a reading club called the loser club He called it that because he didn't want to be botherd to much. it;s a interesting book espesceily for kids who like reading as much as i do
                    • BookwormWednesday, October 24, 2018 at 10:17 am
                      Amazing