Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 4Grades 2 - 5P3.11815
"Unless someone like you...cares a whole awful lot...nothing is going to get better...It's not."

Long before saving the earth became a global concern, Dr. Seuss, speaking through his character the Lorax, warned against mindless progress and the danger it posed to the earth's natural beauty.

"The big, colorful pictures and the fun images, word plays and rhymes make this an amusing exposition of the ecology crisis."—School Library Journal.
Hardcover
Published on September 30, 1989 by Collins
ISBN-10: 0001800019
ISBN-13: 9780001800014
22 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • spacepenguin
    spacepenguinMonday, June 3, 2019 at 4:31 pm44 stars
    I decided to read this book because I have seen the movie. It is interesting. I'd give four stars out of five because it wasn't like my favorite book, but I liked it. I liked how long it was, and I liked the pictures a lot. I liked the rhymes, too.
    • spacepenguin
      spacepenguinSunday, June 2, 2019 at 1:01 pm44 stars
      I decided to read this book because I have seen the movie. It is interesting. I gave four stars instead of five because it wasn't like my favorite book, but I liked it. I liked how long it was, and I liked the pictures a lot. I liked the rhymes, too.
      • spacepenguin
        spacepenguinSunday, June 2, 2019 at 12:58 pm44 stars
        I decided to read this book because I have seen the movie. It is interesting. I gave four stars instead of five because it wasn't like my favorite book, but I liked it. I liked how long it was, and I liked the pictures a lot. I liked the rhymes, too.
        • catslovewaffles
          catslovewafflesThursday, December 7, 2017 at 7:17 am22 stars
          I love Dr. Seuss but The movie and the book are cringy
          • celekovymu
            celekovymuThursday, October 26, 2017 at 11:09 am55 stars
            This book is AMAZING!!!! I recommend the movie and all the other Dr. Seuss books. Teaches you a great life lesson on caring for others and perseverance.
            • hermioneslaying
              hermioneslayingWednesday, April 20, 2016 at 2:16 pm55 stars
              This is a very inspiring,funny and it's a little sad book.Dr.Seuss wrote this book because air pollution and water pollution was happening and the Earth was getting sicker,and sicker.Once-lor decides to make a business and make himself rich and famous.He didn't care if he cut down the Truffla tress,pollute the air and water.The Lorax tries hard to stop Once-lor but he just didn't care.I learned to take good care of the Earth by recycling and stoping pollution.I also learned not to be greedy like Once-lor.
              • julius
                juliusThursday, May 14, 2015 at 11:52 am55 stars
                THIS VERY BBOOK IS AMAZING MRS WRIGHT READ IT TO US AND LET US WATCH THE MOVIE THIS SHOULD REAAAAALLLLY TEACHER U A LESSON ABOUT NATURE ITS THE THNEED THNEEDS ARE THE MAIN SORES OF EVIL MONEY COMES OUT OF SELLING THEM SO THINK AND READ BUT WHAT EVER U DO DONT BUY A THNEED
                • courtesy
                  courtesyFriday, April 3, 2015 at 2:27 pm
                  I really think that if the person cut off all the tree and he wanted to then why did he not wanted to cut the last tree and at the end it was all good
                  • sammycorte
                    sammycorteThursday, March 26, 2015 at 10:59 am55 stars
                    i love this book
                    • issac3
                      issac3Tuesday, June 17, 2014 at 6:13 am55 stars
                      i love this book it awesome but sad too and you will injoy it