Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.459641
Love is all you need... or is it? Penny's about to find out in this wonderful debut.

Penny is sick of boys and sick of dating. So she vows: no more. It's a personal choice. . .and, of course, soon everyone wants to know about it. And a few other girls are inspired. A movement is born: The Lonely Hearts Club (named after the band from Sgt. Pepper). Penny is suddenly known for her nondating ways . . . which is too bad, because there's this certain boy she can't help but like. . . .
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on January 1, 2010 by Point
ISBN-10: 0545140315
ISBN-13: 9780545140317
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • losin21
    losin21Friday, November 2, 2018 at 1:55 pm
    one lovely story with most true secrets about love.
    • mjbooknerd
      mjbooknerdFriday, October 23, 2015 at 12:45 pm
      The message I really good in this book. I really liked it. the story was cute and I bet a lot of girls could relate to this book.
      • aguagirl00
        aguagirl00Thursday, October 22, 2015 at 8:40 am
        cool book to read
        • abercrombiegurl
          abercrombiegurlSunday, March 24, 2013 at 6:26 am55 stars
          i love this book! i kind of wanted Ryan and Penny to get together sooner tho....
          • nene7749
            nene7749Friday, March 22, 2013 at 7:55 am55 stars
            This book is a very good book for tweens that are growing up. Just because it is called "The Lonely Hearts Club" doesnt mean your lonely. Its like a book for tweens transitioning from child to young woman with all of the dating.
            • imdabomb
              imdabombFriday, March 22, 2013 at 7:27 am55 stars
              I really liked this book! So Penny is absolutely done with boys after getting hurt with her ex-boyfriend. One day, she gets an idea of starting the "Lonely Hearts Club" which is a club that members have promised not to ever date during their high school years. At first, its only Penny in the club but after hearing about it, tons of other girls join. Penny is also reuinting with Diane, her old BFF after her boyfriend: Ryan broke up with her. But as she's president of "LHC" she mistakenly falls for a guy without knowing it.
              • teacher_2281
                Antonella LopezTuesday, December 27, 2011 at 7:37 am
                The book was good. Just because it is called 'The Lonely Hearts Club' does not mean that you are lonely. It does not matter want your friends think. When I started to read it i could not stop. I finished the book the day I started.