Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8W4.170793
Two girls separated by race form an unbreakable bond during the tumultuous integration of Little Rock schools in 1958

Twelve-year-old Marlee doesn't have many friends until she meets Liz, the new girl at school. Liz is bold and brave, and always knows the right thing to say, especially to Sally, the resident mean girl. Liz even helps Marlee overcome her greatest fear - speaking, which Marlee never does outside her family.

But then Liz is gone, replaced by the rumor that she was a Negro girl passing as white. But Marlee decides that doesn't matter. Liz is her best friend. And to stay friends, Marlee and Liz are willing to take on integration and the dangers their friendship could bring to both their families.
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on January 5, 2012 by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 039925644X
ISBN-13: 9780399256448
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • SharkySunday, December 2, 2018 at 8:37 am
    This book is amazing and it shows that segregation is nothing to these 2 girls
    • birdygirl
      birdygirlTuesday, April 19, 2016 at 4:56 pm55 stars
      I really like this because it shows that segregation was not good at all. Love it !!!!!!! Friendship is more than skin deep !!1 <3
      • sydstar
        sydstarMonday, November 23, 2015 at 11:13 am55 stars
        What I really liked about this book is how Marlee and Liz don't let the color of their skin get in the way of their friendship. What I did not like is how in the end they aren't exactly friends. But that was the only thing I did not like the rest was great. It was written so well I read it in one day. I would highly recommend that everyone should read this book.
        • dduran
          dduranFriday, September 25, 2015 at 10:07 am55 stars
          this book is about the past when whites and blacks went to different schools! you should read this book it is a really good book! :)
          • bubblesThursday, September 10, 2015 at 7:52 am
            This was one of the best books I've ever read! It made me cry, it made me laugh and made me smile. Kristin Levine is an EXCELLENT author and I will recommend all of her books
            • icecat9791
              icecat9791Wednesday, September 9, 2015 at 12:04 pm44 stars
              I was suggested this book by one of my friends. It is a great book that shows you a bit about prejudice and racism in the late 1900s. It is the tale of two friends from two different races, who stubbornly refuse to let color get in the way offriendship.
              • taylor-tot
                taylor-totFriday, July 24, 2015 at 12:39 pm55 stars
                This book was AMAZING!!! The way the author, Kristin Levine, uses literary devises and terms was incredibly hooking. The book was sad, yet touching. I was really able to feel for Marley and Liz and see the troubles that they went through to maintain their friendship. Lions of Little Rock was super sweet and encouraging, yet deep. The whole time that I was reading it, I felt sympathy for the characters. It is a great example of true friendship. It is such a great book! I would highly recommend it to anyone and everyone. This book gets a well-deserved 5 star rating from me!
                • bazzer987
                  bazzer987Wednesday, June 10, 2015 at 11:17 am
                  I loved this book it was really good. It has lots of feeling and a little parts that are violent, but over all it was a good book
                  • reecesloveWednesday, May 6, 2015 at 1:30 pm
                    this is an awesome book i loved it!
                    • swagger456g
                      swagger456gMonday, March 9, 2015 at 12:36 pm
                      i recomend this book