The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Hardcover, 384 pages
ISBN-10: 0141381477
ISBN-13: 9780141381473
1449 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bluestar_111
    bluestar_111Wednesday, August 12, 2020 at 8:45 am55 stars
    Amazing!!! I just love this book!
    • grlsrule
      grlsruleTuesday, August 11, 2020 at 12:34 pm55 stars
      I recommend this book to those who like Greek Mythology/Gods, Adventure, Comedies. The Lightning Thief is about a boy who has dyslexia and ADHD named Percy. A lot of weird stuff has happened to him. He finds out: The Greek gods are real, his friend is half- goat, his dad is Poseidon , and the lighting bolt which Zeus uses for thunderstorms is missing! Will Percy and his friends find the bolt in time? Grades 3-6
      • dogo_maniac
        dogo_maniacTuesday, August 4, 2020 at 12:01 pm55 stars
        This is my FAVORITE BOOK EVER. it's a about Percy Jackson a demigod who has a big destiny but he'll have to figure that out through the story as he Gets to Camp Half-blood a demigod training camp, meets Annabeth, Clarisse, and Luke. But his mom has disappeared and in the end he'll have to make a great decision.
        • ceebee
          ceebeeSunday, July 26, 2020 at 2:06 am55 stars
          Zeus,the leader of the Olympians, has had his beloved master bolt stolen,and blames it on Percy Jackson, the demigod son of Poseidon. Meanwhile, strange things are happening on land too.The sky and sea are churning together, as if they were at war. And indeed they were,as Poseidon had no intentions to steal it!The fate of the world is at stake,and it's up to Percy and his friends to save it.Will they survive the terrors that lie ahead of them?Read on to find out!
          • pinkmonkey9
            pinkmonkey9Saturday, July 25, 2020 at 12:02 am55 stars
            This book is really good. I recommend this book for kids 9+. if you are younger then that read it with a parent. I love all of the Percy Jackson books. This book is about 12 year old Percy Jackson and he finds out that he is a half blood and that he is a son of a god, and he has to fight off all these monsters. I would not like to be Him because he has to always be Worried that a monster will come after you and I would have to be fighting off monsters all the time and the monsters come back to life after a while. My favorite character is Annabeth, She is super cool. Sorry this Review is Kinda short but thanks for reading it, And please follow. Thank you Bye!
            • 2029
              2029Saturday, July 18, 2020 at 10:27 am
              I should probably finish reading this book and then comment but its a really good book
              • hockey_dude77
                hockey_dude77Friday, July 17, 2020 at 5:04 pm55 stars
                Loved this book, period. The series is amazing, and it shows me what it's like to be in a pickle, and then getting out! This first book was the intro to the whole thing, which is very important.
                • xxbooksloverxx
                  xxbooksloverxxThursday, July 16, 2020 at 1:10 pm55 stars
                  This is book is absolutely the BEST I’ve read Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Hero’s of Olympus, and reading trails of Apollo. (SPOILER ALERT) Percy and annabeth become boyfriend and girlfriend!!
                  • owlfluff
                    owlfluffWednesday, July 15, 2020 at 2:28 pm55 stars
                    This book is splendiferous. I read these books so, so much, and they are slightly addictive because they are so fun.
                    • undyneundying
                      undyneundyingMonday, July 13, 2020 at 10:17 am55 stars
                      This book makes me to scream with happiness!