The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Hardcover, 384 pages
ISBN-10: 0141381477
ISBN-13: 9780141381473
1483 Book Reviews
  • nbbc012
    nbbc012Thursday, March 18, 2021 at 8:02 am33 stars
    i like the book but the movie is better in my opinion
    • hackerfox
      hackerfoxWednesday, March 17, 2021 at 3:00 pm55 stars
      i love the percy jackson series
      • HfstrhkraSunday, March 14, 2021 at 4:30 am
        I love 💕this book is very interestin
        • booklover313
          booklover313Friday, March 12, 2021 at 10:41 am55 stars
          I loved it! It makes you think the Greek gods are real!!! It is one of the best books I've ever read!
          • erpandareader
            erpandareaderMonday, March 8, 2021 at 11:58 am44 stars
            My sister is reading it to me, pretty good so far...
            • iam_bannai
              iam_bannaiMonday, March 1, 2021 at 1:39 pm44 stars
              It i long but it is very intresting and a lot about mytholygy.
              • orangeme
                orangemeThursday, February 25, 2021 at 8:30 am55 stars
                This book is awesome! So much adventure and comedy.
                • ant-riderj
                  ant-riderjWednesday, February 24, 2021 at 1:03 pm55 stars
                  It's super good! If you like mythology, or magic, or action, or adventure, or a lot of other stuff, try it out! It's one of the longer books in the series (I have the Percy Jackson series at home) but it's very good, and you'll finish it wanting to read more! It also makes a lot of sense and everything fits together really well. I think you should try it out no matter what your interests are.
                  • mercury_dust
                    mercury_dustFriday, February 19, 2021 at 3:18 pm55 stars
                    Ok. First, it's freaking HILARIOUS and l laughed a whole lot the whole time l was reading it. It's about a boy named Percy Jackson who finds out his dad is a Greek God and he gets sent of to Camp-Half-Blood where he trains to fight monsters with other half bloods. If you think the Greek Gods are interesting, you'll really want to read this.
                    • caninelover101
                      caninelover101Thursday, February 18, 2021 at 8:25 pm55 stars
                      The book was wonderful!!! I had already read all the books in this series add all of those stories are soooo exciting! I really recommend it, especially if you like Greek myths!