Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6T5.177567
When all the humans in his world disappear, Max, a yellow Labrador Retriever, begins the search for his family. He knows that if he can just find Madame Curie, a wise, old black Lab, she'll be able to help. Madame had a premonition of astonishing events to come -- she might know where Max's family is.

But Max can't make the journey alone. Joined by friends Rocky and Gizmo, Max sets off to find Madame. Along the way, the trio must face a pack of angry wolves, forage for food in a land where kibble is akin to gold, befriend a house full of cats, and outsmart a gang of subway rats. Ultimately, they'll have to escape from the biggest threat of all: the Corporation, a "perfect" society for dogs and by dogs, where nothing is quite as it seems.

The Last Dogs: The Vanishing is a thrilling adventure and a tale of three unlikely friends on an epic quest to find their people -- and bring them home.
Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 4, 2012 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316200050
ISBN-13: 9780316200059
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bagelthebeagel
    bagelthebeagelMonday, March 30, 2020 at 2:14 am33 stars
    I just finished this book at home! This book was great and sort of touching. Max and Rocky are on a journey, trying to find the humans (they mysteriously disappeared a few weeks ago), they have a pack of wolves chasing them, and they’re on the run! After a brief meeting at the Enclave (a group of dogs led by the dog named Dandyclaw), a new member named Gizmo joins them and they’re off! They explore many different places, make friends, discover new facts, and make new enemies as well. I would recommend this to 8+. Thanks for reading @constance25’s book reviews!
    • maywheather4547
      maywheather4547Thursday, February 15, 2018 at 9:30 am
      This is a really great book Its about a 2 Dogs named Max and Rocky and all the people in the world is gone recommend for you to read it!
      • demonheart
        demonheartFriday, January 19, 2018 at 7:15 pm44 stars
        A bit like warriors yet different. If you have read all of Warriors and need a new series then come find this. When mysteriously all humans disappear it's up to one dog and his two new friends to find them. But can they?
        • AnanomousThursday, April 6, 2017 at 4:54 pm
          I am grade 5, and The last dogs is about three dogs who are trying to find their owners and it takes friendship, teamwork and skills (physical) to survive and find their Owners. I just LOVE this book. I will rate5 stars because that's the max, but I would actually rate it INFINITY. I highly recommend this book for kids age 8+ and it is very heartwarming, dramatic, amazing, and full of adventures.
          • lemonade11
            lemonade11Wednesday, November 30, 2016 at 4:38 pm55 stars
            This is an amazing book !This entire series is so amazing and heart warming. Max, Gizmo and Rocky are all on the journey to find their humans. It takes courage and friendship to get through all that comes their way. Read the book/s to find out all that happens.
            • lastdogTuesday, June 7, 2016 at 4:04 pm
              finshed the sires. OMGit=aaammmaaazziiinnnggg. so the end is ...............
              • samsterSaturday, July 4, 2015 at 6:58 pm
                Iliked the book but I stopped reading halfway because I kept starting new books and forgot about what I had read
                • teresaSunday, June 28, 2015 at 7:03 pm
                  the people think that this book is okay
                  • pup101
                    pup101Sunday, June 28, 2015 at 7:24 am
                    OMG! This book is soo cool. I can't wait to read the rest of the series!
                    • luvergirl1
                      luvergirl1Wednesday, April 8, 2015 at 12:32 pm55 stars
                      This book is AWESOME and AMAZZZZZZING!!