Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.3123485
After decades of hiding, the evil Enchantress who cursed Sleeping Beauty is back with a vengeance.

Alex and Conner Bailey have not been back to the magical Land of Stories since their adventures in The Wishing Spell ended. But one night, they learn the famed Enchantress has kidnapped their mother! Against the will of their grandmother, the twins must find their own way into the Land of Stories to rescue their mother and save the fairy tale world from the greatest threat it's ever faced.
Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on August 6, 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316201545
ISBN-13: 9780316201544
105 Book Reviews
  • waterdroplet
    waterdropletThursday, July 15, 2021 at 12:24 pm55 stars
    This is a great book. I really enjoyed reading this book. 😊😊😊
    • arianne_wonder
      arianne_wonderWednesday, July 14, 2021 at 1:21 pm55 stars
      Wow this story dose tell a lot
      • dorischou
        dorischouMonday, July 12, 2021 at 7:41 pm55 stars
        In my opinion I think this is a wonderful book to learn descriptive writing. I love how the author plotted the story so that it seems that we are traveling through the fairy tale world seeing amazing sights in a slow pace yet defeated the enchantress on the majestic trip!
        • dream_beyond
          dream_beyondMonday, July 12, 2021 at 1:10 am55 stars
          A spark of magic, a second adventure, and a powerful Enchantress is all it takes to lure someone into the magical land of stories. Alex and Conner are ready for another adventure in The Land Of Stories, but that's not going to happen anytime soon, because of the situation going on in The Land Of Stories. But when their mom doesn't come home from work, they start getting suspicious and then soon find out that she was kidnapped! Now they have to go to The Land Of Stories and they won't let anyone get in their way of saving their mom and all the other innocent lives. I think this book is very thrilling and fascinating, the characters each have a unique personality, and the plot is really creative and fun!
          • donthavedog
            donthavedogWednesday, May 12, 2021 at 3:19 pm55 starsFeatured
            Have you ever wondered what the backstory of the evil enchantress from Sleeping Beauty is like? From first glance, she might seem completely evil, but clearly, Chris Colfer, author of Land of Stories thinks there’s more to it. Here’s a short summary: After Alex’s mom got kidnapped by the enchantress she had to stay cooped up. She goes to her grandma’s house and then falls but in time her brother caught her. When they reached their grandma’s house they found a way to go to the fairy tale world. They meet an old friend Froggy and they go to Red Riding Hood's castle. When they heard the enchantress was taking over the world they thought they needed to do something. They started to go get the things for the wand of wonderment. When they got the Snow queen’s scepter she prophesied out of the 4 travellers 1 would stay. After the harp went into the wand Jack, Goldie, Red, Froggy, and Conner got trapped by the vines. Alex started to get determined and she needed the enchantress' anger. After she got some by talking to her she got blasted by the enchantress. She came back and dropped the wand on purpose and started beating the enchantress. She was beating the enchantress by words. The enchantress started to lose her power. But then the enchantress got the wand. Conner got Goldielocks’s sword and cut it in half. Some things I appreciated about the book were the themes, characters, and worldbuilding. A theme that I discovered while embarking on a journey with Alex and Connor in Book 2 is to never give up because you never know what is going to happen. I know because when Alex beat the Enchantress she never knew it was going to end like that. There was also some significant character development. In the first book Conner never paid attention to the class. But in the second book he became a good writer after he experienced the fairy tale world. Alex on the other hand she stayed the same and is still a straight A student. Lastly, I was intrigued by what happened in the fantasy world that Colfer created. In the fairy tale world there is castles, caves, villages, Kingdoms, Towers Overall, I’d rate the book 5 stars because it doesn’t have any confusing parts. It is also a very imaginative book. I would recommend this book to third graders because it seems like it would be popular among that age group because the fantasy aspect is very engaging.
            • nichkik
              nichkikThursday, April 1, 2021 at 8:11 am55 stars
              The first book was epic so I wanted to read the next book in the series
              • bsc
                bscSaturday, March 6, 2021 at 7:26 am55 stars
                Alex and Conner Bailey are back in the Otherworld. For Conner, it's fine- he's back to his normal life and somehow excelling at creative writing. But for Alex, normal life is horrible. She misses The Land of Stories, Froggy, Goldilocks, Jack and most of all: her grandmother. So when the twin's mom doesn't arrive home and they are put on house arrest: they are worried. Does this have something to do with the Land of Stories? Where really is the twins mother, Charlotte? Soon they learn one tiny, horrible bit of information. Their mother was kidnapped by Emiza, the evil enchantress who had Sleeping Beauty prick her finger and the kingdom sleep for 100 years. So, Alex and Conner sneak into the Land of Stories to find their mom and free the Land of Stories. But, this may be harder than they expected. Kidnappings, adventure, love, and another adventure in the land of stories. Four travelers. Only three return. Happy reading!
                • # Super awesomeThursday, February 4, 2021 at 11:34 pm
                  This book is amazeblogs ! I read the 1st book and cant stop reading this series !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • hamstergirl11
                    hamstergirl11Monday, December 21, 2020 at 5:57 pm55 stars
                    This book is a great sequel to " The Wishing Spell"! I luv the story line and how well Chris Colfer writes. I think you need to read this!! Please take a chance and you will fall in luv with this book and the characters. Follow me!
                    • jkbear
                      jkbearMonday, November 16, 2020 at 10:29 am55 stars
                      This is a great book. I love reading fantasy, mostly Harry Potter.