Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.997462
The fifth book in Chris Colfer's #1 New York Times bestselling series The Land of Stories!

The Masked Man has captured all the royal families from the Land of Stories with the help of his army of literature's greatest villains, including the Wicked Witch of the West, the Queen of Hearts, and Captain Hook. With his sinister plan finally in motion, he is eager to destroy the families and take his place as emperor.

Alex and Conner know they are no match against the Masked Man's legion of villains, but they realize that they may be in possession of the greatest weapon of all: their own imaginations! So begins the twins' journey into Conner's very own stories to gather an army of pirates, cyborgs, superheroes, and mummies as they band together for the ultimate fight against the Masked Man.

Meanwhile, an even more dangerous plan is brewing--one that could change the fates of both the fairy-tale world and the Otherworld forever.

Conner's tales come alive in the thrilling fifth adventure in the #1 New York Times bestselling Land of Stories series.
Hardcover, 464 pages
Published on July 12, 2016 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316383295
ISBN-13: 9780316383295
52 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • anney
    anneyTuesday, June 9, 2020 at 11:15 am
    It is cool how in this book it goes back and fourth from when Conner is older and younger. This is the last book, and I was so sad when it ended.
    • toodorky
      toodorkyMonday, June 8, 2020 at 9:50 am
      This is the 6th book in the land of stories series, and it's my favorite one. After Conner realizes that they are too late to stop their uncle from finding an army, he realizes that he has to make some of his own, so he gathers up his stories from his past and travels inside of them in search of his new allies. But his stories aren't all fun and games. He has to face the bttle in his books and defaet the literary villins with his knowledge of his books. Can he travel into all his books, find his army, and get back to the fairy talr world safe and sound to defeat his uncle?
      • madisonann
        madisonannWednesday, January 15, 2020 at 4:57 pm55 stars
        I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and i've read the whole seires
        • little_demon727
          little_demon727Tuesday, January 14, 2020 at 7:49 pm55 stars
          After the Masked Man recruited a whole bunch of villans for the literary army, he went on destroying the fairytale world. Conner and his friends are no match for their enemy, but they have the best weapon imagenable; imagination. In this thrilling book, you will get to view the villians sometimes different, but get reminded that they still have their own personality and weaknesses. Conner and Alex travels to Conner's short story by using their grandmother's potion. First, they went to a pirate/romantic adventure, "Starbordia". They learn that the characters do NOT know their authors. They went to "The Galaxy Queen", which involved bug guts, and "The Ziblings", which has super heros who struggles to open a locked window. The last book is not so fun, but it has mummies. Major twists and good laughs (thanks to our annoying characters). Highly recommended.
          • ASTRIDDRAGONFriday, October 11, 2019 at 9:20 am
            LOVE THIS BOOK! CURRENTLY READING IT! BY FAR MY FAV BOOK IN THE SERIES!!!!!!
            • jaden07
              jaden07Sunday, August 18, 2019 at 8:47 pm55 stars
              It’s time for new help. We go into Connor short stories we go on daring quests to get help fo the army. We meet superheroes , an explorer with some mummies, out of this world people, etc. then there’s a mix up. Don’t forget Alex and Connor’s Uncle, is still out there
              • ochaco_uraraka
                ochaco_urarakaSunday, April 21, 2019 at 6:35 pm55 starsFeatured
                A terrible misfortune has washed upon the fairy-tale world, and only Conner's short stories can save them. Alex and Conner go on a thrilling adventure while travelling through Conner's stories using the portal potion, and recruiting characters for the army. They even go into an unexpectedly creepy tale, written by one of their classmates. A fantastic story filled with pirates, robots, mummies, and even zombies, there are enough twists and turns to make your heart pound. Grade A.
                • bookstory14
                  bookstory14Monday, April 15, 2019 at 5:13 pm55 stars
                  The Masked Man has recruited a whole bunch of famous book villains to create the Literary Army! Alex and Conner know only one thing can stop him: their own army of fictional characters! They travel into Conner's novels to recruit his characters! My favorite part was when he tried telling the pirates of Starboardia that he was their creator. They called him crazy and threw him off the boat! LOL! Another of my favorite parts in this book was when Conner tells Alex that she was his Professor Wallet. She was what kept him writing. She was his inspiration. She was his life vest. It's a really touching story and I love it!
                  • auntieb
                    auntiebWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 1:37 pm44 stars
                    This book was very fast paced. But very good. What happens when Alex and Connor travel into Connor's short stories? Lots of adventures, lots of secrets, and lots of discoveries! Dive deep into the mind (and writing) of Connor Bailey!! - I absolutely loved how Connor's characters are based on the fairytale characters but in different ways then what I thought!!
                    • I’m on conneit Monday, October 15, 2018 at 10:47 am
                      The book is great I love the wishing spell the enchantress and all the others I find them very interesting