Erin Entrada Kelly, the author of the acclaimed Blackbird Fly, writes with grace, imagination, and deepest heart about family, sisters, and friendship, and about finding and holding on to hope in difficult times.

Two sisters from the Philippines, abandoned by their father and living with their stepmother in Louisiana, fight to make their lives better in this remarkable story for readers of Cynthia Kadohata and Rita Williams-Garcia, and for anyone searching for the true meaning of family.

Paperback, 320 pages
Published on February 14, 2017 by Greenwillow Books
ISBN-10: 0062238655
ISBN-13: 9780062238658
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Heaven Saturday, September 12, 2020 at 12:26 am
    Awesome stuff I like it
    • SanskritiWednesday, September 9, 2020 at 2:16 am
      Awesomebook
      • AsalSaturday, September 5, 2020 at 7:41 am
        I like this book
        • squirrelflight
          squirrelflightThursday, August 27, 2020 at 8:31 am44 starsFeatured
          Soledad “Sol” Madrid has gotten through twelve whole years of her life using imagination. Sometimes she imagines herself in a rocket ship, or living in a gigantic mansion, or inside a fairy tale. But none of that is actually true for her. In reality, her mother and one of her sisters are dead, and she lives with her stepmother because her father went to the Philippines a few years ago. He hasn’t come back, and Sol often dreams of running away from their home in Louisiana with her younger sister Ming. But when Ming starts to believe a story Sol told her, about their make-believe aunt who lives in the jungle, everything gets messed up. How will Sol convince her sister to believe the truth? Read this book to find out! Once again, author Erin Entrada Kelly creates a heartfelt, witty, and creative novel that readers will love. The Land of Forgotten Girls is an unforgettable book, and I rate it 4/5 stars.
          • sunset_skys
            sunset_skysMonday, September 14, 2020 at 2:25 pm
            she does have a good way of explaining that i wanna read it
            • kitty13
              kitty13Wednesday, September 9, 2020 at 9:15 am
              You have a great way of explaining things Skywatcher2140.
              • iloveaudreylucy
                iloveaudreylucySaturday, August 29, 2020 at 8:23 am
                Wow! That was an amazing review! You have a talent for writing! You really explain yourself! Now I want to read this book!
                • kitty13
                  kitty13Wednesday, September 9, 2020 at 9:12 am
                  I didn’t before but now I do!
              • belle252
                belle252Tuesday, July 7, 2020 at 2:07 pm44 stars
                This is such a good book about to girls that don't really have anything except their abusive stepmother and their few friends. Their mother and sister died and their father left them and now it's up to them to be there for each other. Their stepmother hates them and doesn't treat them like humans they want to run away but they can't the only have 40 dollars and that won't get them anywhere. The only thing keeping them going is their imagination, whenever they feel lonely they imagine there in a better place with people they love. This is such a touching book that I would totally recommend.
                • GingerThursday, January 10, 2019 at 11:34 am
                  This book is a tale like no other.
                  • auntieb
                    auntiebMonday, July 9, 2018 at 4:47 pm44 stars
                    I read this book a couple of years ago and enjoyed it!