The Knife of Never Letting Go: Chaos Walking: Book One

Book 2 of 4 in the Chaos Walking Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 6n/a4.4112022
A dystopian thriller follows a boy and girl on the run from a town where all thoughts can be heard — and the passage to manhood embodies a horrible secret.

Todd Hewitt is the only boy in a town of men. Ever since the settlers were infected with the Noise germ, Todd can hear everything the men think, and they hear everything he thinks. Todd is just a month away from becoming a man, but in the midst of the cacophony, he knows that the town is hiding something from him — something so awful Todd is forced to flee with only his dog, whose simple, loyal voice he hears too. With hostile men from the town in pursuit, the two stumble upon a strange and eerily silent creature: a girl. Who is she? Why wasn't she killed by the germ like all the females on New World? Propelled by Todd's gritty narration, readers are in for a white-knuckle journey in which a boy on the cusp of manhood must unlearn everything he knows in order to figure out who he truly is.
Hardcover, 496 pages
Published on September 9, 2008 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763639311
ISBN-13: 9780763639310
2 Book Reviews
  • aidanlynde
    aidanlyndeTuesday, June 30, 2015 at 8:47 am44 stars
    I like this book so far because to me it is really interesting how everyone can hear each others thoughts and their is always noise but in this one small spot their is no noise and why that is makes me want to keep reading to find out why that is.
    • swiftie4life13
      swiftie4life13Monday, December 1, 2014 at 2:15 pm55 stars
      This book is another favorite which I recomend to everyone, it takes place on the future were Earth is a mess and people moved to this distant planet, but the air there made it so everyone can hear men's thoughts. But just to warn you, it makes you cry! 😭😭