From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu comes a historical YA fantasy about a musical prodigy and the dangerous lengths she'll go to make history remember her--perfect for fans of Susanna Clarke and The Hazel Wood.

Two siblings. Two brilliant talents. But only one Mozart.

Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish--to be remembered forever. But even as she delights audiences with her masterful playing, she has little hope she'll ever become the acclaimed composer she longs to be. She is a young woman in 18th century Europe, and that means composing is forbidden to her. She will perform only until she reaches a marriageable age--her tyrannical father has made that much clear.

And as Nannerl's hope grows dimmer with each passing year, the talents of her beloved younger brother, Wolfgang, only seem to shine brighter. His brilliance begins to eclipse her own, until one day a mysterious stranger from a magical land appears with an irresistible offer. He has the power to make her wish come true--but his help may cost her everything.

In her first work of historical fiction, #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu spins a lush, lyrically-told story of music, magic, and the unbreakable bond between a brother and sister.
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on March 3, 2020 by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1524739014
ISBN-13: 9781524739010
2 Book Reviews
  • idkmyusername
    idkmyusername16 days55 stars
    The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu is a fantasy book with a mix of historical fiction. This book takes place all around Europe and is about Nannerl Mozart, the older sister of Wolfgang Mozart (referred to as Woferl) wanting to be known in the world, and mark her place in history. But she was a shadow of her genius brother, who could work music like magic at such a young age. So Nannerl makes a deal with a so called Prince from another world, but all is not what it seems. This book talks about many important aspects of life such as family, love, stereotypes, and jealousy. I think that this book is a must read because if it’s amazing incorporation of fantasy and reality. If you are a fan of Marie Lu’s bestseller series Legend, you would love this book because they are both great examples of Marie Lu’s style.
    • idkmyusername
      idkmyusername16 days55 stars
      The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu is a fantasy book with a mix of historical fiction. This book takes place all around Europe and is about Nannerl Mozart, the older sister of Wolfgang Mozart (referred to as Woferl) wanting to be known in the world, and mark her place in history. But she was a shadow of her genius brother, who could work music like magic at such a young age. So Nannerl makes a deal with a so called Prince from another world, but all is not what it seems. This book talks about many important aspects of life such as family, love, stereotypes, and jealousy. I think that this book is a must read because if it’s amazing incorporation of fantasy and reality. If you are a fan of Marie Lu’s bestseller series Legend, you would love this book because they are both great examples of Marie Lu’s style. This review was written by Akarsh.