Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.747140
Everyone in Emma's family is special. Her ancestors include Revolutionary War spies, brilliant scientists, and famous musicians--every single one of which learned of their extraordinary destiny through a dream.

For Emma, her own dream can't come soon enough. Right before her mother died, Emma promised that she'd do whatever it took to fulfill her destiny, and she doesn't want to let her mother down.

But when Emma's dream finally arrives, it points her toward an impossible task--finding a legendary treasure hidden in her town's cemetery. If Emma fails, she'll let down generations of extraordinary ancestors . . . including her own mother. But how can she find something that's been missing for centuries and might be protected by a mysterious singing ghost?

With her signature blend of lyrical writing, quirky humor, and unforgettable characters, Natalie Lloyd's The Key to Extraordinary cements her status as one of the most original voices writing for children today.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on February 23, 2016 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545552745
ISBN-13: 9780545552745
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sugar_andspice
    sugar_andspiceSunday, February 19, 2017 at 8:21 am55 stars
    This book is about a girl who has lost her mother and how she fights that pain and fulfills her destiny. In this story, Emma Pearl Casey, the main character, has to save her home from a rich man and fulfill her destiny. This book is very good and I recommend you to read it.
    • Epic QueenFriday, February 17, 2017 at 8:12 am
      EPIC. AND THAT'S ALL.
      • Epic QueenFriday, February 17, 2017 at 8:11 am
        Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love Emma's enthusiastic attitude. I love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
        • luckycharm12
          luckycharm12Friday, February 17, 2017 at 7:46 am
          Super cool!! Awesome! Amazing! There aren't enought words to describe this book! Follow kitten7260
          • kit-katThursday, February 16, 2017 at 4:21 pm
            I read this book a few months ago and loved it was neat to know that the author lives in T,N chattanoga I liked that the she kind of threw in some words to let you know what she was writting.I loved it!!!!!
            • Epic QueenThursday, February 16, 2017 at 8:22 am
              I love it more than anything!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ( I love it )
              • CuteBunniesWednesday, December 21, 2016 at 8:59 am
                Want to read a book about a graveyard dig that is not sad? Read this one. This book is deeper than your average treasure hunt story.
                • 25ninjaboss
                  25ninjabossMonday, October 24, 2016 at 8:42 am
                  I think you should read the book called Key To Extraordinary because it is a interesting book and the reason why I liked the book because I love mysterys.
                  • NewtonallcashMonday, October 24, 2016 at 8:38 am
                    I love adventure and mystery i this book you should read it !
                    • sunshinediver
                      sunshinediverMonday, June 6, 2016 at 12:54 pm44 stars
                      It is an amazing story of a girl on a quest . it has ghost in it though and can be scary for younger readers but it is not a spooky story over all,