The Isle of the Lost: A Descendants Novel (The Descendants)

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.363152
Evil tree. Bad Apple?

Twenty years ago, all the evil villains were banished from the kingdom of Auradon to the Isle of the Lost--a dark and dreary place protected by a force field that makes it impossible for them to leave. Stripped of their magical powers, the villains now live in total isolation, forgotten by the world.

Mal learns from her mother, Maleficent, that the key to true darkness, the Dragon's Eye, is located inside her scepter in the forbidden fortress on the far side of the island. The eye is cursed, and whoever retrieves it will be knocked into a deep sleep for a thousand years. But Mal has a plan to capture it. She'll just need a little help from her "friends." In their quest for the Dragon's Eye, these four kids begin to realize that just because you come from an evil family tree, being good ain't so bad.
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on April 25, 2017 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1484725441
ISBN-13: 9781484725443
108 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • levi0sa
    levi0saThursday, June 22, 2017 at 1:08 pm33 stars
    I liked learning about fairy tales from the villain's point of view. I really liked the character Mal. I liked reading about how she changes through the story. I would recommend this book for people who like fairy tales.
    • levi0sa
      levi0saThursday, June 22, 2017 at 12:36 pm33 stars
      I enjoyed this book. It was interesting to hear the story from the villain's point of view. My favorite character was Mal. I liked to see her change as the story went on.
      • lotusdance
        lotusdanceThursday, June 22, 2017 at 12:32 pm44 stars
        I really liked this books modern day twist. I would definitely recommend this to people who like fairy tales but would like a little twist. I like how Mal is a bit of a rebel and takes charge.
        • lotusdance
          lotusdanceThursday, June 22, 2017 at 11:03 am44 stars
          I loved this books modern day twist and if you like fairy tales this might be a book you would want to read. I loved Mal the best with her rebellious spirit.
          • e06
            e06Sunday, June 18, 2017 at 11:25 pm33 stars
            This book was interesting. You should read it if you like fairy tales. It's is a modern day villain side of the story! Hope you enjoy reading this book like I did!!!!
            • mybooksandi
              mybooksandiFriday, June 16, 2017 at 9:14 am44 stars
              Okay, here goes nothing.... The Isle Of The Lost by Melissa De La Cruz was a book that was 'Rotten To The Core', I love that song. If you ever get your hands on that precious book, read first then watch the movie. That's Lana's 'Advice of the day'. Anyway, to the review. I loved the main character, Mal and her 'Evil Buddies'. I loved Mal, I loved Evie. There's something about fractured fairytales that just appeals to me. Don't ask me why, I have no idea. Anyway, The Isle of the Lost was a win, win to me. It was really enjoyable, I'd have to give it 4.5 stars. It's half a star, no biggy.
              • e06
                e06Friday, June 16, 2017 at 7:48 am33 stars
                This book is amazing. It tells a story that you feel might have been real, somehow. It is a different perspective of books.Usually you would hear a story about the princesses kids and stuff like that. But in this story it is Different.
                • momoko12
                  momoko12Thursday, June 15, 2017 at 6:55 pm
                  Years after the original Disney stories we all know and love the evil villains were banished to an island with a magic force field that prevents them from ever leaving the island. The Isle of the Lost is about the children of these villains and the mission they go on to try to prove to there parents that they are just as evil. The author did a really great job at weaving the old stories into something new and portraying the villains well known quality's in there children while also not making them exactly like there parents. I really enjoyed this book, for the most part it was great I loved the characters and the setting and plot. I would diffidently recommend it if you love anything Disney.
                  • llpanda
                    llpandaThursday, June 15, 2017 at 9:36 am33 stars
                    Mal (daughter of Maleficent ), Evie ( daughter of the Evil Queen ), Jay ( son of Jafar ), and Carlos ( son of Cruella de Vil ) are all stuck on the Isle of the Lost. Twenty years ago their parents and all the other villains were banished from Auradon and forced to live ( without magic ) on the decrepit and disgusting Isle of the Lost. Life on the island is basically everyone trying to do more evil things than the last person. Then Carlos, who is really good at the techie stuff, invents what he thinks will get them all more cable channels; instead the force field that protects the island from magic gets a hole in it which makes Maleficent's scepter the Dragon's Eye gain power. All four set out to get the scepter and discover more about themselves along the way.
                    • annabethluna
                      annabethlunaTuesday, June 13, 2017 at 3:16 pm44 stars
                      This book, based off of the descendants TV show is about Maleficent's daughter, Mal, Evil Queen's daughter, Evie, Cruella de Vil's daughter, Carlos, and Jafar's son, Jay. The four go on a quest, each having their own reasons to go on the quest, to get the Dragon's Eye, Maleficent's staff. They go through many phases and end up losing the quest when the staff is gone in a flash. Read to find out what happens.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      callie_is_cool

                      OK, this book is AWESOME. Fast-f...
                      Cinder: Book One in the Lunar Ch...

                      railz
                      railz wrote:

                      This is about a boy who is a sci...
                      Frank Einstein and the Antimatte...

                      railz
                      railz wrote:

                      I like this book because it remi...
                      Smile

                      divadancer101

                      This Graphic novel is about Rain...
                      Smile