The Isle of the Lost: A Descendants Novel (The Descendants)

Book 1 of 3 in the The Descendants Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.363152
Evil tree. Bad Apple?

Twenty years ago, all the evil villains were banished from the kingdom of Auradon to the Isle of the Lost--a dark and dreary place protected by a force field that makes it impossible for them to leave. Stripped of their magical powers, the villains now live in total isolation, forgotten by the world.

Mal learns from her mother, Maleficent, that the key to true darkness, the Dragon's Eye, is located inside her scepter in the forbidden fortress on the far side of the island. The eye is cursed, and whoever retrieves it will be knocked into a deep sleep for a thousand years. But Mal has a plan to capture it. She'll just need a little help from her "friends." In their quest for the Dragon's Eye, these four kids begin to realize that just because you come from an evil family tree, being good ain't so bad.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on May 5, 2015 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1484720970
ISBN-13: 9781484720974
167 Book Reviews
  • lubear2
    lubear2Friday, June 18, 2021 at 10:25 pm55 stars
    me to I love decendants so much! I really want to read this book
    • tigersblood848
      tigersblood848Monday, June 14, 2021 at 1:52 pm55 stars
      Its great! I love Descendants and so I checked out this book. Its very good so far.
      • jada2478
        jada2478Tuesday, January 19, 2021 at 10:40 am55 stars
        i can not read it
        • cutenerdgirl
          cutenerdgirlMonday, August 10, 2020 at 6:03 am55 stars
          Twenty years ago, all the evil villains were banished from the kingdom of Auradon to the Isle of the Lost--a dark and dreary place protected by a force field that makes it impossible for them to leave. Stripped of their magical powers, the villains now live in total isolation, forgotten by the world. Mal learns from her mother, Maleficent, that the key to true darkness, the Dragon's Eye, is located inside her scepter in the forbidden fortress on the far side of the island. The eye is cursed, and whoever retrieves it will be knocked into a deep sleep for a thousand years. But Mal has a plan to capture it. She'll just need a little help from her "friends." In their quest for the Dragon's Eye, these four kids begin to realize that just because you come from an evil family tree, being good ain't so bad.
          • magicalmythical
            magicalmythicalMonday, August 3, 2020 at 3:07 pm55 stars
            I loved this book so much that it never gets boring! It has fun and adventure popping out of the words! I would recommend you to read this amazing book!
            • tyati0712
              tyati0712Sunday, July 19, 2020 at 1:19 pm55 stars
              I had fun reading this book!
              • wondescendantsk
                wondescendantskSunday, July 12, 2020 at 12:19 pm
                I have not read this book, but it sounds super good. I do not know how to rate it sense I have not read this book.
                • exallentemma9
                  exallentemma9Sunday, November 10, 2019 at 12:50 pm55 stars
                  It tells a lot bigger story then what the movie says because it focuses on the island and nothing relly else. I loved it so much
                  • wocukizy-156884508154
                    wocukizy-156884508154Friday, October 4, 2019 at 8:37 am55 stars
                    i love this book i will never forget
                  • mibapila-156821584456
                    mibapila-156821584456Wednesday, September 25, 2019 at 12:03 pm
                    This book looks really good