Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 12Grades 5 - 10n/a6.8n/a
The international bestselling series with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone!

Kidnapped after the fierce battle with Lord Morgarath, Will and Evanlyn are bound for Skandia as captives aboard a fearsome wolfship. Halt has sworn to rescue Will, and he will do anything to keep his promise–even defy his King.

Expelled from the Rangers he has served so loyally, Halt is joined by Will's friend Horace as he travels toward Skandia. On their way, they are challenged constantly by freelance knights–but Horace knows a thing or two about combat. Soon he begins to attract the attention of knights and warlords for miles around with his uncanny skill. Even so, will they be in time to rescue Will from a horrific life of slavery?

The smash hit series continues with another heart stopping adventure.

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.


Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on June 26, 2007 by Philomel Books
ISBN-10: 0399244565
ISBN-13: 9780399244568
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • milkling
    milklingFriday, May 31, 2019 at 8:41 am55 stars
    It's so good right now. It's about Will a ranger and a princess, Evalyn who got captured. It's an amazin journey of Halt and Horace trying to find their friend Will.
    • Slambamfuzzy04 Wednesday, June 27, 2018 at 7:56 pm
      I loved this book!!
      • Ranger51Tuesday, February 27, 2018 at 6:13 am
        Before I write this, I'd just like to first of all start out with saying that THIS IS MY FAVORITE SERIES OF ALL TIME!!! Book 3 (this one) and 4 of this series were so... just crazyyyy!!!! Like it was so intense and so like I NEEDED to get past certain parts and just needed them to find Will and Evanlyn!!! AGH it was INSANE!!! But it was really good, too! - I read the first 8 books in the summer (with a crazy schedule due to ballet and vacation and camps and stuff) and literally gobbled books 1-4 up!! I LOVED it!! Seriously, read these books!!! Just so much suspense and it was just SO intense!!!
        • valchia88
          valchia88Monday, October 3, 2016 at 2:16 pm55 stars
          I decided to read this book because I had already read the two previous books in the series. I enjoyed Book One and Two of the Ranger's Apprentice, The Ruins of Gorlan and The Icebound Land, and decided to continue reading this series. This series was really interesting and it was also the perfect level of reading for me. I really enjoyed this book because it had an excellent story plot and was full of adventures and suspense.
          • bigshark5
            bigshark5Friday, September 30, 2016 at 6:32 pm
            I decided to read this book because I am reading the series and i like the cover art.my favorite part was when halt shot a armor piercing arrow through depariex's armor and when will shoots a tmuj'ui in the rist.I like this book because it keeps you interested at every turn
            • beastmode8
              beastmode8Tuesday, March 31, 2015 at 2:23 pm44 stars
              really good
              • braydencreekside
                braydencreeksideTuesday, February 3, 2015 at 7:14 pm
                This was a really good book
                • readinguyawesom
                  readinguyawesomTuesday, November 19, 2013 at 5:35 pm55 stars
                  With the surprising twist the book excels the peak of excitement for many!!! Filled with bravery and courage this book is good.