Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.47648
The ice dragon was a creature of legend and fear, for no man had ever tamed one. When it flew overhead, it left in its wake desolate cold and frozen land. But Adara was not afraid. For Adara was a winter child, born during the worst freeze that anyone, even the Old Ones, could remember.
Adara could not remember the first time she had seen the ice dragon. It seemed that it had always been in her life, glimpsed from afar as she played in the frigid snow long after the other children had fled the cold. In her fourth year she touched it, and in her fifth year she rode upon its broad, chilled back for the first time. Then, in her seventh year, on a calm summer day, fiery dragons from the North swooped down upon the peaceful farm that was Adara's home. And only a winter child--and the ice dragon who loved her--could save her world from utter destruction.
The Ice Dragon marks the highly anticipated children's book debut of George R.R. Martin, the award-winning author of the New York Times best-selling series A Song of Ice and Fire and is set in the same world. Illustrated with lush, exquisitely detailed pencil drawings by acclaimed artist Yvonne Gilbert, The Ice Dragon is an unforgettable tale of courage, love, and sacrifice by one of the most honored fantasists of all time.
Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on October 3, 2006 by Starscape
ISBN-10: 0765316315
ISBN-13: 9780765316318
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • cucusuvufypefy
    cucusuvufypefyTuesday, January 16, 2018 at 11:40 am33 stars
    I recommend this book to people who really like fantasy books that are more realistic fiction. This book is really action packed and full of heart and I really liked it!
    • armcginn
      armcginnWednesday, September 27, 2017 at 5:59 pm
      i wana read it
      • littleriver
        littleriverWednesday, September 27, 2017 at 8:56 am
        me like dragons. Especially vicious ones.
        • jinkim0808
          jinkim0808Sunday, February 28, 2016 at 4:25 pm
          OMG! Where is the nearest book store? I need to buy it right now!
          • cocobunnys
            cocobunnysSunday, February 28, 2016 at 12:13 pm55 stars
            Love this book. I recommend it to everyone!
            • cocobunnys
              cocobunnysTuesday, August 18, 2015 at 1:05 pm55 stars
              This book can get Violent!!!!!
              • cocobunnys
                cocobunnysTuesday, August 18, 2015 at 1:04 pm55 stars
                I love this book. It is about a girl named Adara she was born on the worst freeze anyone could remember. The freeze was so bad that people still talked about it, they also talked about how it killed Adara's mother. As Adara's mom was suffering from the cold, the freeze went in Adara making her a winter child. Adara's favourite season was winter. She was the only one that was able to hold an ice lizard where as if a normal kid where to touch an ice lizard, it would instantly melt. Adara loved the ice lizards but what she loved even more was the ice dragon!!!
                • supermoo47
                  supermoo47Monday, August 17, 2015 at 10:15 am
                  I wanna read this now!!!!!!!!!
                  • cocobunnys
                    cocobunnysSunday, February 28, 2016 at 12:14 pm55 stars
                    You will not want to put this book down.
                    • cocobunnys
                      cocobunnysSunday, February 28, 2016 at 12:12 pm55 stars
                      This is a really good book. You have to read it. ;)
                      • cocobunnys
                        cocobunnysTuesday, August 18, 2015 at 12:50 pm55 stars
                        It is a really good book, I am not joking!!
                      • cocobunnys
                        cocobunnysFriday, February 27, 2015 at 8:51 pm55 stars
                        Ten Stars (I forgot to add)
                        • cocobunnys
                          cocobunnysFriday, February 27, 2015 at 8:48 pm55 stars
                          This is one of the best books in the world!