Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover
Published on August 24, 2010 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545265355
ISBN-13: 9780545265355
2455 Book Reviews
  • rosegranger13
    rosegranger13Monday, July 5, 2021 at 1:50 pm55 stars
    Katniss Everdeen is taken from her home to be a tribute in the deadly Hunger Games after she volunteers for her sister. She will fight her way to success...we hope. Will Katniss survive in the arena along with 23 other tributes or die?
    • sugar_n_spice10
      sugar_n_spice10Monday, July 5, 2021 at 10:57 am33 stars
      I don't recommend this book to kids under 10 or 11. it is really big and has some scary parts.
      • demigod3000
        demigod3000Monday, June 14, 2021 at 9:16 am55 stars
        I love this book so much! I am a huge Hunger Games fan and I listen to the podcast Capitol Chatter and its and amazing way for me to get more Hunger Games content! I am team Peeta, he is just so amazing.
        • hermione1315
          hermione1315Saturday, June 5, 2021 at 12:09 pm44 stars
          I liked this book, but there are a few creepy parts and a lot of people dying. probably it is best for older kids (tweens or teens) but maybe a few younger kids could read it. I read it in late 5th grade. I love Katniss though and I have read all four books but I have not seen the movies because they are likely too scary. Still, its a great book!
          • hermione1315
            hermione1315Saturday, June 5, 2021 at 12:10 pm44 stars
            the first two books are the best but the other ones are okay too.
          • roxanne3
            roxanne3Sunday, May 16, 2021 at 8:27 pm55 stars
            I re-read the series a couple days ago and wowwwwww I almost forgot how amazing it is!! I love love love the 1st & 2nd, the 3rd I don't like too much but still enjoyed it. PLEASE read this!! The series is absolutely incredible!! Probably for more mature readers, but I won't name an age because it really depends on you. These are a must-read!!!!!!!!!! <3
            • mem19
              mem19Wednesday, May 5, 2021 at 9:17 am
              This book is a great read! It has a lot of action and might be a bit scary for younger kids but it is very enjoyable!!
              • bookz
                bookzThursday, April 29, 2021 at 7:42 am44 stars
                It leaves you on the edge of your seat!
                • bsc
                  bscSaturday, April 24, 2021 at 8:16 am55 stars
                  Ever year, each district has two children come to the Capitol and fight to death in the brutal Hunger Games, that is streamed on TV. Katniss Everdeen lives in District 12, the poorest of them all. So when Prim Everdeen, Katniss's little sister, gets called for The Hunger Games, Katniss dashes to take her place. She can't let Prim endure the horrible fate of the games. Now Katniss must leave her family and friends, hoping that she'll survive to see them again. Katniss then realises that the other contestant from District 12 is Peeta. Peeta and her never talked, but he was there for a embarrassing secret years past. He couldn't still remember that, could he? Peeta might remember and know more than Katniss expects. With a mockingjay pin, a promise to win, and some mighty good hunting skills, Katniss learns that rebellion comes in many different forms. Happy Hunger Games! May the odds be ever so in your favor. This perfect dystopian book is full of action and you'll be fighting with Katniss til the very end. Happy reading!
                  • rhinogirl9721
                    rhinogirl9721Friday, April 23, 2021 at 2:25 am44 stars
                    This one is probably for teens and tweens to read, it has a very different nature then what most people are used to. Tweens will probably better grasp the story but still be able to connect the dots and understand how it works. But if you don't quite understand after you've read the series then there is four movies (one book is split into two movies) plus an extra book called The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes.
                    • mockingjay1
                      mockingjay1Sunday, March 28, 2021 at 2:43 pm55 stars
                      This book is amazing! The story is so fast and entertaining. If you like Harry Potter, you will love this book! I highly recommend it. you won't stop turning the pages! I love the characters and all the storyline. Suzzane Collins is a genius and so clever to write such an amazing story that is loved throughout the world! Please read!