Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover
Published on August 24, 2010 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545265355
ISBN-13: 9780545265355
2406 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jimmyTuesday, October 20, 2020 at 6:13 am
    thats a good book
    • violingirl82
      violingirl82Monday, October 19, 2020 at 3:37 pm55 stars
      I read this book, and now i cant wait to get the next two! I would rate this a 10+, due two a lot of violence
      • skeleton-boi-01
        skeleton-boi-01Friday, October 16, 2020 at 10:09 am55 stars
        i really want to read the books and watch the movies the movies and the books sound interesting my older brother read all the books so i wanna read them too
        • skeleton-boi-01
          skeleton-boi-01Thursday, October 15, 2020 at 12:21 pm55 stars
          wow it seems interesting
          • samibriggs
            samibriggsTuesday, October 6, 2020 at 12:19 pm55 stars
            This is a really good book I just read it. It's about a girl named katniss everdeen who has to battle in the hunger games. The hunger games is something that the capitol made so that the districts would always remember that the capitol is in charge .
            • aaa57
              aaa57Friday, September 11, 2020 at 9:19 am55 stars
              Plus you might want to know that I read this book in two days! TWO DAYS! That’s how good it is!
              • aaa57
                aaa57Friday, September 11, 2020 at 9:18 am55 stars
                This is officially my FAVE series of ALL TIME! Last year I read Wings of Fire and Warriors, these are Waaaaay better! Now I’m reading Percy Jackson and other Riordan books and they are the closest I’ve found on the awesome-o-meter to The Hunger Games! Love the whole series definitely a must read but I would say 7th grade and up.
                • divergent-fan13
                  divergent-fan13Friday, October 16, 2020 at 8:43 am55 stars
                  You should read the divergent series.
                • rio91021
                  rio91021Monday, August 24, 2020 at 3:23 pm55 stars
                  The Hunger Games is one of the best series I have ever read. All of the books in the series have that magical power that makes you not want to put it down. I spent many countless hours getting sucked into the book. The characters are all well made and make you feel like they're just your normal people and the setting of the story is perfectly described. The plot of the story make you bite on to your nails and never stop reading. Katniss Everdeen takes her sister's place for the Hunger Games and has to fight to the death. This series is a must-read for any 11-13 year olds.
                  • lilabug
                    lilabugSaturday, August 22, 2020 at 6:18 pm55 stars
                    i love this book so much! i have read it about 20 times since this year began and love it so much!! I also watched the movie. In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen year old Katniss Everdeen regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sisters place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.
                    • kkgautamm
                      kkgautammFriday, August 14, 2020 at 1:21 pm55 stars
                      i really enjoyed this book! the first time i read it, i felt like katniss should end up with gale, but when i reread it this year, i could see that she had chemistry with peeta. they were so good together because they worked together and helped each other.
                      • lilabug
                        lilabugSaturday, August 22, 2020 at 5:45 pm55 stars
                        yeah me too