Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover
Published on August 24, 2010 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545265355
ISBN-13: 9780545265355
2388 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sue-zhp
    sue-zhpMonday, June 29, 2020 at 11:32 am55 stars
    I have read the first and second book of hunger games and I really love the third book so far.
    • rose76
      rose76Friday, June 26, 2020 at 4:02 pm55 stars
      Amazing book. Loved it🥰
      • ellasin
        ellasinThursday, June 25, 2020 at 11:51 am55 stars
        I LOVE this book so much!!
        • shewerebear
          shewerebearThursday, June 11, 2020 at 6:15 am55 stars
          I seriously love this book, I even love it more than the movie coz it gives you room to imagine what you can expect from the movie, it's inevitable to not like this.
          • penguin1134
            penguin1134Monday, June 8, 2020 at 3:15 pm55 stars
            I love this book so much! I cried like so many times! So amazing! This is my favorite book ever!
            • sam365
              sam365Thursday, June 4, 2020 at 11:01 am22 stars
              This book is amazing and it has an interesting ending. It always keeps you on the edge of your seat. Katniss Everdeen is put on an adventure of her worst nightmares. I recommend this book to readers who like sci-fi, adventure, and survival.
              • shewerebear
                shewerebearThursday, June 11, 2020 at 6:16 am55 stars
                Thanks, I took your recommendation and fell in love with it
              • max110
                max110Thursday, June 4, 2020 at 6:24 am44 stars
                Katniss is a likable main character with a cool skill set.The roller coaster of the storyline takes the reader on a worthwhile adventure,though it is pretty violent.It's a very well crafted dystopian world with new enemies and friends at every turn.A good book for dystopian sci-fi fans.
                • willow123goma
                  willow123gomaMonday, June 1, 2020 at 6:19 pm22 stars
                  This book was extremely violent, and although the storyline was very exciting, all the fear and sadness as well as guilt with not much hope made the book hard to read and digest. I do not recommend this book.
                  • girlpower4ever
                    girlpower4everMonday, June 1, 2020 at 3:17 pm55 stars
                    In a futuristic world where twenty-four children are thrown into an arena to fight to the death, Katniss Everdeen has always dreaded the gory Hunger Games. However, when her beloved sister Prim is chosen at a tribute, Katniss can't stand the thought of her sister dying and volunteers for the Games in her place. Despite a week of tasteful delicacies, magnificent costumes, and sophisticated interviews in the Capitol, though, Katniss is still a tribute. When fellow District 12 tribute Peeta plays the angle of being in love with her to get sponsors, Katniss knows she has to play along if she wants to survive. But the Games are still the Games. Katniss is more than a piece in the Hunger Games, more than a pawn in a TV show for the Capitol...but it may cost her life to show it.
                    • roxanne3
                      roxanne3Monday, June 1, 2020 at 12:46 pm55 stars
                      My dad finally let me read this, he hadn't for the past 3 years. It is SO creepy, but it is also such a thrilling story of 17 year old Katniss Everdeen and her crazy life, from family issues and hunger to her love for her sister and what could be love for her best friend, Gale. When her sisters name gets drawn for the Hunger Games, she knows she has to do the unheard of- volunteer in her place. When she enters the Games, the only thing she can do is kill everybody and try not to get killed herself. But then there is a new rule announced, and she teams up with Peeta, the other tribute from District 12. They somehow survive by helping each other, and when the rule is taken away they are ready to commit suicide to prevent them from killing each other. Peeta had already announced his love for Katniss, so things got complicated. The president now hates them for what the did in the arena, and Katniss isn't sure what she feels for Peeta, but she would do anything to help him survive!! Find out what happens next in book 2!!!