Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Hardcover
Published on August 24, 2010 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545265355
ISBN-13: 9780545265355
2341 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • tulegabu-157615959653
    tulegabu-157615959653Thursday, December 12, 2019 at 6:57 am55 stars
    I really liked this book. The attention to detail was great, and I recommend it for anyone who is into this type of genre, or anyone really.
    • genos
      genosSunday, December 8, 2019 at 11:25 am55 stars
      This series is a great series about a made up world with 12 districts and is controlled by the capitol, you read as Katniss and her friends try to overcome the capitol, or die trying.....
      • ticktok2
        ticktok2Sunday, November 3, 2019 at 8:48 am55 stars
        its a good seires because it made me feel grown up.(not that i arnt.
        • martinmcfly
          martinmcflySunday, October 27, 2019 at 3:32 pm55 stars
          The book is about a teenage girl named Katniss Everdeen who lives in District 12 in a fictionary world. She struggles for her survival in dystopia. Every year, as a penalizing for the failed rebelion by District 13, the 12 districts are forced to pay tributes to the merciless Capitol regime.
          • 27norqmuh
            27norqmuhTuesday, October 22, 2019 at 11:55 am55 stars
            This book is really good.
            • elle_0724
              elle_0724Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 9:12 am55 stars
              This book is really good! I love how strong and fierce Katniss is, and I love that she loves her sister so much, that she volunteered for her! I love how it tells you exactly how Katniss survived and what she had to do. This is one of my favorite book series ever and I would definitely recommend it! That is why this book is so amazing!
              • proudgryffindor
                proudgryffindorWednesday, October 2, 2019 at 6:52 pm55 stars
                I love this book soooooo much 10/10 would recomend
                • shannoncole
                  shannoncoleTuesday, September 17, 2019 at 10:30 am55 stars
                  This book is a really good read. Quick and steady pace allows for easy follow of the story. Much better than the movie. Though the movie luckily stayed fairly true to the storyline while being adaptive where necessary thanks to Suzanne Collins working on the screen play. Recommend the whole series.
                  • adventure0329
                    adventure0329Monday, August 26, 2019 at 3:16 pm
                    This book was pretty good. I thought it would be really scary but it was really a mild romance. Still I don't recomend it to anyone below eight year of age. It is about a girl named Katniss Everdeen who is chosen to particapate in the hunger games, where kids in between the ages of 12 and 18 are chosen to go to the capital and fight to the death.
                    • SarahWednesday, August 21, 2019 at 5:21 pm
                      I love these books!!