Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Kindle Edition, 387 pages
Published on February 7, 2012 by Scholastic Inc.
2395 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bluestar_111
    bluestar_111Saturday, August 8, 2020 at 10:14 am55 stars
    This is one of the most amazing books I’ve ever read! Katniss Everdeen has always dreaded Reaping Day—a time when people between the ages of twelve and eighteen are chosen for the Hunger Games, an arena where they have to fight for their survival. So when her younger sister Prim becomes a Hunger Games tribute, Katniss is devastated. Without stopping to think, she throws herself into the arena, ready to fight or die. Then, she finds out that her fellow tribute is Peeta Mellark, and when they are taken into the arena, it might be harder than both of them thought. Katniss doesn’t want to be a featured TV show. Nor does she want to put her loved ones in danger. And now, she must make impossible decisions which will test her love and dedication. Can she win the Hunger Games? Read this book to find out!
    • powergirl2
      powergirl2Monday, July 27, 2020 at 1:50 am55 stars
      It amazing how much that this book is so great alot I am almost finished with it omg lol I'm loving it so much lol
      • hockey_dude77
        hockey_dude77Sunday, July 19, 2020 at 4:55 am55 stars
        This book is about Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark and their adventures in the "Games." This book describes how Peeta and Katniss survive in "The Hunger Games." I loved this book.
        • bballbookkid
          bballbookkidTuesday, July 14, 2020 at 12:11 pm55 stars
          I could not put this book down. My mom was hesitant to let me read this book because of parts of the game. I'm glad she let me read it because it was one of the best books I've ever read. We watched the movie shortly after I finished reading and it was not nearly as good as the book. I can't wait to read the next one to see how the story unfolds.
          • dolbit07
            dolbit07Tuesday, July 7, 2020 at 10:07 am55 stars
            This is one of the best books I have ever read. Katniss is a normal girl and her dad died in a coal mine. This has very highly complicated thinking skills and the beginning of this book to the end will make you not stop to look away from the book. I rate this a five star...
            • glitterclaws
              glitterclawsTuesday, June 30, 2020 at 5:15 pm55 stars
              I really like this book it makes you happy, sad, and mad, sometimes even all at once. it can get intense but i think its definitely worth it, i would recommend it for ages 12 and up.
              • happypig2020
                happypig2020Tuesday, June 30, 2020 at 3:40 pm
                This book was amazing. It has romance, humor, and it is thrilling because the characters are fighting against what is wrong and trying to make it right.
                • sue-zhp
                  sue-zhpMonday, June 29, 2020 at 11:32 am55 stars
                  I have read the first and second book of hunger games and I really love the third book so far.
                  • rose76
                    rose76Friday, June 26, 2020 at 4:02 pm55 stars
                    Amazing book. Loved it🥰
                    • ellasin
                      ellasinThursday, June 25, 2020 at 11:51 am55 stars
                      I LOVE this book so much!!