Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 6Z+5.1100214
From the unique combination of the timelessness of an old and seemingly forgotten world deftly mixed with the futuristic reality of a brave new world comes a chilling tale of ethics and mortality that is thought provoking and macabre, and yet strangly fascinating...Is this the way of the future? Matt is six years old when he discovers that he is different from other children, from other people. To most people Matt isn't a boy, but a beast, dirty and disgusting. But to El Patron, lord of a country called Opium, Matt is the guarantee of eternal life. El Patron loves Matt as he loves himself - for Matt is himself. They share the same DNA. As Matt struggles to understand his existence and what that existence trully means, he is threatened by a host of sinister and manipulating characters, from El Patron's power-hungry family to the brain-deadened eejits and mindless slaves that toil Opium's poppy fields. Surrounded by a dangerous army of bodyguards, Matt longs for escape. But even escape is no guarantee of freedom because Matt is marked but his difference in ways that he doesn't even suspect. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
Hardcover, 380 pages
Published on September 1, 2002 by Atheneum/Richard Jackson Books
ISBN-10: 0439579295
ISBN-13: 9780439579292
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • pafelojo-158023957322
    pafelojo-158023957322Monday, February 3, 2020 at 6:12 pm55 stars
    This book was so good but also very scary at the same time. The start of the book was a little confusing because there were a lot of flashbacks, but once you get later in the book it makes more sense. There is one boy named Matt and apparently he was a human and now he is a clone. Matt is the ruler of Opium. I think it is a really cool place because there are a lot of flowers there. Later he makes some new friends on this marvelous journey. If you like books that are suspenseful and they have a lot of friendship involved I request this book for you and I also highly suggest this book for people that want to have some thrill in their reading.
    • worewuzo-158023957637
      worewuzo-158023957637Friday, January 31, 2020 at 2:15 pm44 stars
      I really liked House of the Scorpion! Matt, the main character, lives in Opium, a country between the United States and what used to be called Mexico until he is taken away to the Alacran Estate. However, Matt is different. He is a clone of the ruler of Opium, El Patron, and is looked down upon by many because of that. They have the same DNA, and Matt feels like someone accepts him for who he really is. But an unexpected plot turn makes Matt wonder who he can really trust, and that made the book was very suspenseful and mysterious. Overall, I think House of the Scorpion was a well-written book, but I do think the ending could use some work. The ending was unsatisfying because it left me with so many questions, and something life-changing happened to Matt, but there was no other information. Highly recommend: very suspenseful, mysterious, and an enthralling read.
      • supremesorcerer
        supremesorcererThursday, January 30, 2020 at 9:05 am55 starsFeatured
        I loved this book!! It is fast-paced and well written. The mystery involved makes the book interesting from front to back. The adventures that Matteo Alacran goes on and the friends he makes, makes it a memorable book. In the beginning though, I was a bit confused with the flashback and then going straight into the story. Nancy Farmer could have added a bit more background information, but otherwise, it was a great book and I would recommend it to anyone who loves dystopian stories, mystery stories and stories of friendship!! Once I got closer to the climax, I never wanted to put down the book!!
        • bigbrainmian
          bigbrainmianThursday, January 30, 2020 at 8:55 am55 stars
          This was EPIC! I usually like short books, but this was just too good, with all the mystery-solving and a taste of what life is like. The author really understands the life of kids like Matt but takes it much further with all the twists. Matt has to deal with all of this and it is hard but always comes out fun and real. Read this, a really emotional book about friendship and conflicts that moves up a further level.
          • babyjoe247
            babyjoe247Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 7:01 am55 stars
            **Minor spoilers alert** I love how the story is told by how old Matt is. I also love how even if you think the book is over is somehow goes on. Matt learns how he is in danger but the characters all have some relationship to either help or stop him. There are so many plot twists and parts you can only understand if you have read the book. The book is ever dull and a really good read.
            • mickeymousedog
              mickeymousedogThursday, January 30, 2020 at 6:54 am55 starsFeatured
              This book was one of the most amazing book I have read. Essentially, what it is about is that the main character, Matt, is a clone. He barely knew anything about other humans until he met his creator. Now he has a lot of power until something tragic happens. Read on to find out what happened because no spoilers! But like any book, it is not perfect. It has many time skips, with some of the major ones being 4 to 6 years. It is better than it is bad though. This book is action-packed and has many good cliff hangers that make you never want to stop reading. Its also a unique plot, not like one I've ever seen.
              • NagemMonday, October 15, 2018 at 4:32 pm
                I love that the main character, Matt, learns that he is of value as a person in his own right, even though he is a clone. This is true of us all - no matter who we are we are of value.
                • bookstory14
                  bookstory14Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 5:43 pm55 stars
                  *Minor Spoilers Ahead* I decided to read this book because my language arts teacher recommended it. I really like-correction, LOVE- science fiction and fantasy books because they show magic or what the world can be. I think my favorite part of the book was when Tam Lin tells Matt that no one can tell you are a clone-and how Matt feels after that. He realizes that finally he is free to be who he wishes, that he is not condemned to be as evil as El Patron. And I love how Maria and Celia try to save him. They were a big part of his life in the book. Overall, everyone I know who read this loved this book and I think future readers to come will love it too!
                  • variiz
                    variizThursday, September 21, 2017 at 1:34 pm33 stars
                    I decided to read this book because it was recommended to me and i love it! It's about a clone named matt and he's a clone of El Parton.
                    • princessskylar
                      princessskylarWednesday, March 9, 2016 at 12:29 pm55 stars
                      This is great, strong plot, page turners. I strongly recommend this book but the content may be sort of advanced for some people.