From the unique combination of the timelessness of an old and seemingly forgotten world deftly mixed with the futuristic reality of a brave new world comes a chilling tale of ethics and mortality that is thought provoking and macabre, and yet strangly fascinating...Is this the way of the future? Matt is six years old when he discovers that he is different from other children, from other people. To most people Matt isn't a boy, but a beast, dirty and disgusting. But to El Patron, lord of a country called Opium, Matt is the guarantee of eternal life. El Patron loves Matt as he loves himself - for Matt is himself. They share the same DNA. As Matt struggles to understand his existence and what that existence trully means, he is threatened by a host of sinister and manipulating characters, from El Patron's power-hungry family to the brain-deadened eejits and mindless slaves that toil Opium's poppy fields. Surrounded by a dangerous army of bodyguards, Matt longs for escape. But even escape is no guarantee of freedom because Matt is marked but his difference in ways that he doesn't even suspect. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
Paperback, 400 pages
Published on July 7, 2003 by Simon & Schuster Children's
ISBN-10: 0689837704
ISBN-13: 9780689837708
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • variiz
    variizThursday, September 21, 2017 at 1:34 pm33 stars
    I decided to read this book because it was recommended to me and i love it! It's about a clone named matt and he's a clone of El Parton.
    • princessskylar
      princessskylarWednesday, March 9, 2016 at 12:29 pm55 stars
      This is great, strong plot, page turners. I strongly recommend this book but the content may be sort of advanced for some people.
      • chrystal13
        chrystal13Friday, July 31, 2015 at 3:33 pm44 stars
        I love this book! I read it for my Creative Writing class and I am in 7th grade. I really want to read the sequel (The Lord of Opium) soon. This book has lots of emotion, description, and ups and downs. I think I enjoyed this book the most because it makes everything seem so real. A definite recommendation.
        • erik123eal
          erik123ealFriday, May 1, 2015 at 12:08 pm55 stars
          I think its the best book because a boy was made like a robot and was treated well but know he gets treated like a slave.Also when he becomes a slave he has to be locked up and gets shot with a pea shooter its a sad but good book.
          • poison_ivy
            poison_ivySunday, January 11, 2015 at 1:04 pm44 stars
            The first part almost made me throw up, but after you get into it, it is really interesting. Though thee are still some gross parts
            • vaderortiz1
              vaderortiz1Thursday, March 13, 2014 at 10:24 am
              It's a book with adventure and survival and has a lot of action.
              • ikyra_marie
                ikyra_marieSunday, March 9, 2014 at 3:05 pm
                Great book.once you start you can't put it down!
                • prinh
                  prinhThursday, October 10, 2013 at 6:45 pm
                  Okay, so I'm reading this book for my school book club and honestly I LOVE this book so far. It is a mixture of mystery, Sci-Fi, and action. MUST READ. I repeat, MUST READ!
                  • swagme
                    swagmeSaturday, December 15, 2012 at 5:47 pm
                    this is a good book read it err day at school
                    • loveWednesday, December 12, 2012 at 3:41 pm
                      this is a good book i read it everyday with my teacher

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      grapefruit
                      grapefruit wrote:

                      Mia has a beautiful future--a mu...
                      If I Stay

                      missknowitall

                      All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                      Dork Diaries 7: Tales from a Not...

                      missknowitall

                      All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                      Tales from a Not-So-Talented Pop...

                      missknowitall

                      All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                      Dork Diaries 5: Tales from a Not...