Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 6Z+5.1100214
From the unique combination of the timelessness of an old and seemingly forgotten world deftly mixed with the futuristic reality of a brave new world comes a chilling tale of ethics and mortality that is thought provoking and macabre, and yet strangly fascinating...Is this the way of the future? Matt is six years old when he discovers that he is different from other children, from other people. To most people Matt isn't a boy, but a beast, dirty and disgusting. But to El Patron, lord of a country called Opium, Matt is the guarantee of eternal life. El Patron loves Matt as he loves himself - for Matt is himself. They share the same DNA. As Matt struggles to understand his existence and what that existence trully means, he is threatened by a host of sinister and manipulating characters, from El Patron's power-hungry family to the brain-deadened eejits and mindless slaves that toil Opium's poppy fields. Surrounded by a dangerous army of bodyguards, Matt longs for escape. But even escape is no guarantee of freedom because Matt is marked but his difference in ways that he doesn't even suspect. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
Paperback, 400 pages
Published on July 7, 2003 by Simon & Schuster Children's
ISBN-10: 0689837704
ISBN-13: 9780689837708
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • bookstory13
    bookstory13Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 5:43 pm55 stars
    *Minor Spoilers Ahead* I decided to read this book because my language arts teacher recommended it. I really like-correction, LOVE- science fiction and fantasy books because they show magic or what the world can be. I think my favorite part of the book was when Tam Lin tells Matt that no one can tell you are a clone-and how Matt feels after that. He realizes that finally he is free to be who he wishes, that he is not condemned to be as evil as El Patron. And I love how Maria and Celia try to save him. They were a big part of his life in the book. Overall, everyone I know who read this loved this book and I think future readers to come will love it too!
    • variiz
      variizThursday, September 21, 2017 at 1:34 pm33 stars
      I decided to read this book because it was recommended to me and i love it! It's about a clone named matt and he's a clone of El Parton.
      • princessskylar
        princessskylarWednesday, March 9, 2016 at 12:29 pm55 stars
        This is great, strong plot, page turners. I strongly recommend this book but the content may be sort of advanced for some people.
        • chrystal13
          chrystal13Friday, July 31, 2015 at 3:33 pm44 stars
          I love this book! I read it for my Creative Writing class and I am in 7th grade. I really want to read the sequel (The Lord of Opium) soon. This book has lots of emotion, description, and ups and downs. I think I enjoyed this book the most because it makes everything seem so real. A definite recommendation.
          • erik123eal
            erik123ealFriday, May 1, 2015 at 12:08 pm55 stars
            I think its the best book because a boy was made like a robot and was treated well but know he gets treated like a slave.Also when he becomes a slave he has to be locked up and gets shot with a pea shooter its a sad but good book.
            • poison_ivy
              poison_ivySunday, January 11, 2015 at 1:04 pm44 stars
              The first part almost made me throw up, but after you get into it, it is really interesting. Though thee are still some gross parts
              • vaderortiz1
                vaderortiz1Thursday, March 13, 2014 at 10:24 am
                It's a book with adventure and survival and has a lot of action.
                • ikyra_marie
                  ikyra_marieSunday, March 9, 2014 at 3:05 pm
                  Great book.once you start you can't put it down!
                  • prinh
                    prinhThursday, October 10, 2013 at 6:45 pm
                    Okay, so I'm reading this book for my school book club and honestly I LOVE this book so far. It is a mixture of mystery, Sci-Fi, and action. MUST READ. I repeat, MUST READ!
                    • swagme
                      swagmeSaturday, December 15, 2012 at 5:47 pm
                      this is a good book read it err day at school

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Neal wrote:

                      Rick Riordan Number 1 fan. Loved...
                      Weird But True Know-It-All: Gree...

                      soyster
                      soyster wrote:

                      I found the story really intrigu...
                      Rump: The True Story of Rumpelst...

                      no name wrote:

                      the book is not scary
                      The Slender Man

                      Our Apps and Plugins