The Hostile Hospital (A Series of Unfortunate Events #8)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 12V6.937752

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

The Baudelaires need a safe place to stay—somewhere far away from terrible villains and local police. A quiet refuge where misfortune never visits. Might Heimlich Hospital be just the place? In Lemony Snicket's eighth ghastly installment in A Series of Unfortunate Events, I'm sorry to say that the Baudelaire orphans will spend time in a hospital where they risk encountering a misleading newspaper headline, unnecessary surgery, an intercom system, anesthesia, heart-shaped balloons, and some very startling news about a fire.

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on January 1, 2001 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0064408663
ISBN-13: 9780064408660
26 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hedgeguin2
    hedgeguin2Monday, June 17, 2019 at 7:14 pm55 stars
    This book is very exciting and thrilling! It is filled with tons of detail and a little bit of horror, too. In this book, the Baudelaires are traveling across the desert to escape the V.F.D village. They come across a hospital and go inside. Count Olaf finds them, though, and when the Baudelaire children are trying to escape from Esmé Squalor’s clutches, who is Count Olaf’s girlfriend, Violet is captured and is scheduled to have a cranioectomy, but Klaus and Sunny are too clever for these villains! This book is recommended to people who are adventurous and like to read about the journeys of people!
    • kfjfjfFriday, June 7, 2019 at 8:26 am
      THIS IS VERYY LITTT
      • rovyjofu-155904856798
        rovyjofu-155904856798Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 10:07 am55 stars
        This is my favorite book series of all time. I love these books so much. I really don't want the series to end but it eventually will have too. I can't wait to read other books by Lemony Snicket!!!!!!!! (5 stars all the way)
        • rovyjofu-155904856798
          rovyjofu-155904856798Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 10:05 am55 stars
          This book series is my favorite book series iv'e ever read. I started this series like a year ago and that has been the only book iv'e read for a while. I DON'T want the series to come to an end, but it's going to eventually. Again I love this series and can't wait to read more of Lemony Snicket's books!!!!!!!!!!
          • wiccanbat666
            wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:20 pm55 stars
            This series was my ENTIRE LIFE when I was a small human child. I saved any and all money I received to buy the books (my first collection of matching hardcovers) and listened to them on cassette tape (OKAY GUESS WHO JUST SOUNDS OLD RIGHT NOW) when I wasn't re-reading the physical copies.
            • potterhead101Sunday, June 3, 2018 at 4:50 pm
              For those who like mystery, adventure, and a tiny touch of creepiness
              • cschubert
                cschubertSunday, May 27, 2018 at 7:20 am55 stars
                This book does not go light on the details. It is the 8th book in the series. I recommend this book to anyone who likes adventure and mystery.
                • cugitinoma
                  cugitinomaFriday, December 15, 2017 at 7:53 am55 stars
                  I love this book because Klaus will perform surgery.
                  • 🍗🍉🎧🌍Sunday, November 13, 2016 at 3:49 am
                    This book makes you want to read on you can't put the book down! Love this book 😎
                    • lil_lil101
                      lil_lil101Saturday, September 10, 2016 at 5:33 pm55 stars
                      This book is good at times I stayed up really late because I couldn't put the book down it was that good.