Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 5 - 12Z6.695022
J.R.R. Tolkien's classic prelude to his Lord of the Rings trilogy featuring cover art by Caldecott Honor winning children’s book illustrator Peter Sís, this edition of The Hobbit has been specially formatted for young readers. Larger print size and wider margins provide reading ease for the youngest Tolkien fans. This quality digest edition also includes interior maps and original interior illustrations by J.R.R. Tolkien.
Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than his pantry or cellar. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an adventure. They have launched a plot to raid the treasure hoard guarded by Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey to the Lonely Mountain he will encounter both a magic ring and a frightening creature known as Gollum.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on October 21, 2014 by Mariner Books
ISBN-10: 0544422848
ISBN-13: 9780544422841
132 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • libster04
    libster04Friday, June 1, 2018 at 9:15 am55 stars
    The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien is not all about wizards, or magic, but, to me this story represents overcoming our fears and trusting God. Although this story is made up and fun, it has a valuable lesson in it. Sometimes even when you don't want to do something you just have to trust God that everything will turn out alright. Even though you will not have to fight giant spiders or escape a wood-elf prison, there will be other hardships in life that we will have to overcome. You can ether be like Bilbo Baggins and get out of your comfort zone to help someone. Or be like the dwarfs and rely on someone else to get you out of your situation. When Bilbo was stuck in Gollum’s lair, it was hard for him to see any light, literally, it may seem like that in real life, but he found a way out even though it was not easy. This story has an extremely valuable lesson hidden in plain sight, we must always trust God and what he is telling us to do even if we do not want to.
    • libster04
      libster04Wednesday, May 9, 2018 at 5:18 pm55 stars
      My dad read this book to me when I was really little, as it was his favorite book growing up. And now I just finished it in class, and I really love the book. I love adventure fantasy books and this fit right in. It was great!
      • septembergirl
        septembergirlSunday, April 15, 2018 at 12:40 pm33 stars
        My mom read this to me a long time ago and now I'm reading it for a book club. It's not my favorite but it's not bad.
        • lynx99
          lynx99Thursday, April 5, 2018 at 7:01 am55 stars
          This book is amazing! There are Battles, friendships, deaths, and slim escapes. I would recommend it to 3rd graders and up. I love J.R.R Tolkien and his books. This story is so action filled and exiting.
          • DERPYMonday, March 12, 2018 at 11:45 am
            This book is awsome!!!
            • ranger51
              ranger51Tuesday, March 6, 2018 at 7:26 am55 starsFeatured
              J.R.R. Tolkien is FOR SURE one of my favorite authors (apart of John Flanagan, the author of my favorite series Ranger's Apprentice). The Hobbit was different than the Lord of the Rings to me (but I also read the LOTR series when I was 7 vs. The Hobbit for the first time when I was 9). There were a lot less details than in the Lord of the Rings (where I find the little un-important things sometimes just going on and on and on until I'm tired and want to get to the main point... although I still love those books...). This was one of those books where you (finally) read the actual thing BEFORE you watch the movies... (Yeah, I know... that never seems to happen, does it?!) So I found this very different (and WAY better) than the movies in a lot of ways. I really enjoyed it all coming from Bilbo's perspective and I find it more enjoyable than from Frodo's or the others in LOTR. It had more action, it seemed like, although I wish the book was a little bit longer because I just didn't want it to end!! Whenever I'm bored or don't know what to read, my go-to place is the Hobbit. I've probably read this book 20 times in the last 5 years and I'm still going to read it another 10 before 2018 is over. I just LOVE this series!! (and I love the elves, too!)
              • suchomimus
                suchomimusTuesday, February 27, 2018 at 3:26 am55 stars
                This is a great book. Really worth reading
                • suchomimus
                  suchomimusTuesday, February 27, 2018 at 3:09 am55 stars
                  I have re-read this book over the ;last month and I was thinking that DogoBooks should start a Hobbit group.
                  • five0show
                    five0showTuesday, January 30, 2018 at 8:04 am44 stars
                    Interesting book so far!
                    • suchomimus
                      suchomimusThursday, January 25, 2018 at 3:30 am55 stars
                      I thought this book wouldn't be as good as the film, but I was wrong. I loved it! I am now obsessed with it and I am starting a Hobbit memorabilia collection.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      extrememsb
                      extrememsb wrote:

                      Ever think if trees can talk? Me...
                      Wishtree

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      I really enjoyed reading this bo...
                      Untamed: The Wild Life of Jane G...

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      I always enjoy reading these boo...
                      Bad Kitty

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      This was a fun book to read. It ...
                      Two's A Crowd (Pug Pals #1)