J.R.R. Tolkien's classic prelude to his Lord of the Rings trilogy featuring cover art by Caldecott Honor winning children’s book illustrator Peter Sís, this edition of The Hobbit has been specially formatted for young readers. Larger print size and wider margins provide reading ease for the youngest Tolkien fans. This quality digest edition also includes interior maps and original interior illustrations by J.R.R. Tolkien.
Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than his pantry or cellar. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an adventure. They have launched a plot to raid the treasure hoard guarded by Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey to the Lonely Mountain he will encounter both a magic ring and a frightening creature known as Gollum.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on October 21, 2014 by Mariner Books
ISBN-10: 0544422848
ISBN-13: 9780544422841
122 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • cadycat
    cadycatThursday, November 16, 2017 at 7:23 am44 stars
    this book is really adventurous and at a really high reading level
    • snippyisdevon
      snippyisdevonThursday, November 2, 2017 at 10:47 am
      best book ever
      • cugitinoma
        cugitinomaWednesday, October 11, 2017 at 8:04 am55 stars
        I love this book
        • floorboard4Friday, September 29, 2017 at 1:57 pm
          i think that it was a really nice book! it was a bit slow at times, but i really enjoyed it, and i will defiantly read it again!
          • benchmark#2Friday, September 29, 2017 at 12:13 pm
            i really liked the movie, so then i read the book. i liked the book, but is was really hard to read. i thought that the author seemed to like to take his time describing a single blade of grass. Other than that, it was a really good book, and i will read it again!:)
            • reader#16Friday, September 29, 2017 at 11:56 am
              i think that this book was ok, but it was really hard to understand what was going on without having to re-read the entire chapter.
              • ironmanx
                ironmanxFriday, June 30, 2017 at 2:51 pm55 stars
                Best Book Ever!!!
                • readsoccer8
                  readsoccer8Sunday, April 30, 2017 at 6:35 pm55 stars
                  This is a great book about a hobbit named Bilbo Baggins, a wizard named Gandalf, and 13 dwarves who go on a adventure to win back there riches from the evil dragon ( Smaug ) who took it from them.
                  • soffles
                    sofflesFriday, April 7, 2017 at 3:15 pm55 stars
                    My dad told me it was a really good book so I read it. I didn't really like it at first, but then it got really interesting.
                    • magnacharge1600
                      magnacharge1600Friday, March 31, 2017 at 4:35 pm55 stars
                      This is a great book for ages most likely 9+ That is what I think. I am almost done will the hobbit. I think that you should read it with your parents because there are a lot of words that I don't understand. I am in 4th grade and I am advanced spelling (5th grade spelling).

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Braelynn Nicole wrote:

                      This is an awesome book for kids...
                      How to Draw Emojis: A Step by St...

                      jtd
                      jtd wrote:

                      Best book series ever
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 1

                      cool wrote:

                      this book is cool and the movie
                      Wonder

                      catslovewaffles

                      Karen is facing some hard change...
                      It's Not the End of the World