J.R.R. Tolkien's classic prelude to his Lord of the Rings trilogy featuring cover art by Caldecott Honor winning children’s book illustrator Peter Sís, this edition of The Hobbit has been specially formatted for young readers. Larger print size and wider margins provide reading ease for the youngest Tolkien fans. This quality digest edition also includes interior maps and original interior illustrations by J.R.R. Tolkien.
Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than his pantry or cellar. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an adventure. They have launched a plot to raid the treasure hoard guarded by Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey to the Lonely Mountain he will encounter both a magic ring and a frightening creature known as Gollum.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on October 21, 2014 by Mariner Books
ISBN-10: 0544422848
ISBN-13: 9780544422841
116 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • ironmanx
    ironmanxFriday, June 30, 2017 at 2:51 pm55 stars
    Best Book Ever!!!
    • readsoccer8
      readsoccer8Sunday, April 30, 2017 at 6:35 pm55 stars
      This is a great book about a hobbit named Bilbo Baggins, a wizard named Gandalf, and 13 dwarves who go on a adventure to win back there riches from the evil dragon ( Smaug ) who took it from them.
      • soffles
        sofflesFriday, April 7, 2017 at 3:15 pm55 stars
        My dad told me it was a really good book so I read it. I didn't really like it at first, but then it got really interesting.
        • magnacharge1600
          magnacharge1600Friday, March 31, 2017 at 4:35 pm55 stars
          This is a great book for ages most likely 9+ That is what I think. I am almost done will the hobbit. I think that you should read it with your parents because there are a lot of words that I don't understand. I am in 4th grade and I am advanced spelling (5th grade spelling).
          • baylenFriday, March 31, 2017 at 6:41 am
            i love tis book somuch.i like it when the giant goblins come out and gandulph saves bilbo fom dieing and being eaten.
            • mewheart
              mewheartWednesday, March 1, 2017 at 2:23 pm55 stars
              This book is great and I recommend it to 5th through anything grades. A hobbit named Bilbo has to go on a journey with dwarves to take a mountain from a dragon. This mountain is the dwarves mountain. The dragon is gaurding the gold he stole from the dwarves. If you like fantasy, I totally recommend this book for you.
              • magnacharge1600
                magnacharge1600Friday, March 31, 2017 at 5:06 pm55 stars
                There is one snag to that, I am in 4th grade and reading the hobbit. Just so you know ;)
              • comanderkitten
                comanderkittenFriday, February 24, 2017 at 9:07 am55 stars
                Riley want to read book Sean the movie lived it loved it
                • blockedacorn
                  blockedacornMonday, February 13, 2017 at 10:56 am
                  hard to read but great
                  • happypug12
                    happypug12Monday, February 13, 2017 at 9:41 am44 starsFeatured
                    After watching the Hobbit movies and loving them, I wanted to read the book. I was surprised at how little they changed in the movies. This classic tale begins in the Shire, and in the Shire lives peacefully Biblo Baggins. He is a respectable Hobbit who has nothing and wants nothing to do with adventures and journeys and peril. But he is soon swept up on an dreary, dangerous, wet, hungry journey with dwarves to exact their revenge on the wicked dragon Smaug and reclaim their long-lost gold. I really enjoyed reading the Hobbit (although the writing was unclear at some places as if the author had too many ideas going on at once) and it was an interesting mix of poetry, adventure, and is just overall an epic tale. A perfect classic for all ages, young and old, adventurous or not!
                    • kadester
                      kadesterMonday, January 30, 2017 at 3:12 pm44 stars
                      Its awesome! But a bit hard. :)

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      annaleigh wrote:

                      is this a good book for a high s...
                      The DUFF: (Designated Ugly Fat F...

                      krazymoose wrote:

                      I finished fnaf 5
                      Five Nights at Freddy's: The Sil...

                      fKAWA4894 wrote:

                      okaaaaaa
                      I Am Number Four (Lorien Legacie...

                      howlergirl
                      howlergirl wrote:

                      This book isn't exactly a story ...
                      My Weird But True Fact-a-Day Fun...