J.R.R. Tolkien's classic prelude to his Lord of the Rings trilogy featuring cover art by Caldecott Honor winning children’s book illustrator Peter Sís, this edition of The Hobbit has been specially formatted for young readers. Larger print size and wider margins provide reading ease for the youngest Tolkien fans. This quality digest edition also includes interior maps and original interior illustrations by J.R.R. Tolkien.
Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than his pantry or cellar. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an adventure. They have launched a plot to raid the treasure hoard guarded by Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey to the Lonely Mountain he will encounter both a magic ring and a frightening creature known as Gollum.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on October 21, 2014 by Mariner Books
ISBN-10: 0544422848
ISBN-13: 9780544422841
120 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • cugitinoma
    cugitinomaWednesday, October 11, 2017 at 8:04 am55 stars
    I love this book
    • floorboard4Friday, September 29, 2017 at 1:57 pm
      i think that it was a really nice book! it was a bit slow at times, but i really enjoyed it, and i will defiantly read it again!
      • benchmark#2Friday, September 29, 2017 at 12:13 pm
        i really liked the movie, so then i read the book. i liked the book, but is was really hard to read. i thought that the author seemed to like to take his time describing a single blade of grass. Other than that, it was a really good book, and i will read it again!:)
        • reader#16Friday, September 29, 2017 at 11:56 am
          i think that this book was ok, but it was really hard to understand what was going on without having to re-read the entire chapter.
          • ironmanx
            ironmanxFriday, June 30, 2017 at 2:51 pm55 stars
            Best Book Ever!!!
            • readsoccer8
              readsoccer8Sunday, April 30, 2017 at 6:35 pm55 stars
              This is a great book about a hobbit named Bilbo Baggins, a wizard named Gandalf, and 13 dwarves who go on a adventure to win back there riches from the evil dragon ( Smaug ) who took it from them.
              • soffles
                sofflesFriday, April 7, 2017 at 3:15 pm55 stars
                My dad told me it was a really good book so I read it. I didn't really like it at first, but then it got really interesting.
                • magnacharge1600
                  magnacharge1600Friday, March 31, 2017 at 4:35 pm55 stars
                  This is a great book for ages most likely 9+ That is what I think. I am almost done will the hobbit. I think that you should read it with your parents because there are a lot of words that I don't understand. I am in 4th grade and I am advanced spelling (5th grade spelling).
                  • baylenFriday, March 31, 2017 at 6:41 am
                    i love tis book somuch.i like it when the giant goblins come out and gandulph saves bilbo fom dieing and being eaten.
                    • mewheart
                      mewheartWednesday, March 1, 2017 at 2:23 pm55 stars
                      This book is great and I recommend it to 5th through anything grades. A hobbit named Bilbo has to go on a journey with dwarves to take a mountain from a dragon. This mountain is the dwarves mountain. The dragon is gaurding the gold he stole from the dwarves. If you like fantasy, I totally recommend this book for you.
                      • magnacharge1600
                        magnacharge1600Friday, March 31, 2017 at 5:06 pm55 stars
                        There is one snag to that, I am in 4th grade and reading the hobbit. Just so you know ;)

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      logam wrote:

                      good book much wow
                      The Twisted Ones (Five Nights at...

                      its just me wrote:

                      this looks so cool
                      The Wimpy Kid Movie Diary

                      ilikeroblox

                      love it i read all the books 5 ...
                      The Wimpy Kid Movie Diary

                      annabel
                      annabel wrote:

                      I just finished this book and I ...
                      Ender's Game