The Hobbit

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 5 - 12Z6.695022
The adventures of Bilbo Baggins and his quest forr stolen treasure have enthralled readers for over sity years. Now, through John Howe's magical artwork, Tolkien's world is bbrought vividly to life in this stunning and sophisticated three dimensional celebration of that famous jorney.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on October 21, 2014 by Mariner Books
ISBN-10: 0544422848
ISBN-13: 9780544422841
110 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • mewheart
    mewheartWednesday, March 1, 2017 at 2:23 pm55 stars
    This book is great and I recommend it to 5th through anything grades. A hobbit named Bilbo has to go on a journey with dwarves to take a mountain from a dragon. This mountain is the dwarves mountain. The dragon is gaurding the gold he stole from the dwarves. If you like fantasy, I totally recommend this book for you.
    • comanderkitten
      comanderkittenFriday, February 24, 2017 at 9:07 am55 stars
      Riley want to read book Sean the movie lived it loved it
      • blockedacorn
        blockedacornMonday, February 13, 2017 at 10:56 am
        hard to read but great
        • happypug12
          happypug12Monday, February 13, 2017 at 9:41 am44 starsFeatured
          After watching the Hobbit movies and loving them, I wanted to read the book. I was surprised at how little they changed in the movies. This classic tale begins in the Shire, and in the Shire lives peacefully Biblo Baggins. He is a respectable Hobbit who has nothing and wants nothing to do with adventures and journeys and peril. But he is soon swept up on an dreary, dangerous, wet, hungry journey with dwarves to exact their revenge on the wicked dragon Smaug and reclaim their long-lost gold. I really enjoyed reading the Hobbit (although the writing was unclear at some places as if the author had too many ideas going on at once) and it was an interesting mix of poetry, adventure, and is just overall an epic tale. A perfect classic for all ages, young and old, adventurous or not!
          • kadester
            kadesterMonday, January 30, 2017 at 3:12 pm44 stars
            Its awesome! But a bit hard. :)
            • sea_bunny
              sea_bunnyWednesday, October 19, 2016 at 10:37 am55 stars
              Bilbo Baggins was a young hobbit, he had had a simple lifestyle, he tended to his garden, drank tea, and read the newspaper. Until he's approached by a wizard, named Gandalf and 13 dwarfs. Gandalf told Bilbo that the dwarfs home had been taken over by a dragon, named Smaug. They told Bilbo to help them take back their home, Bilbo decided to help. What will happen on their adventure with Orcs, Dragons, and worst of all, Saruman? Read the book to find out!
              • lalbr
                lalbrSunday, September 25, 2016 at 9:14 am55 stars
                i have see all of the movies but i have not read the book. I will say that the movie was very good and my friends says the book is good!:)
                • writinggirl
                  writinggirlSaturday, September 10, 2016 at 8:03 pm
                  I read this book when I was nine and I loved it so much! It is still by far the best book I have ever read. Also it is of not many at all, movie is good to. I reccomend this book to ANYONE based on my expeirence. It will take you somewhere else! I myself would read it again but I will never feel the same way!
                  • m1lk3y_w4y
                    m1lk3y_w4yThursday, September 8, 2016 at 5:38 pm55 starsFeatured
                    I have immensely enjoyed enjoyed The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien. The Hobbit is about Bilbo Baggins, who is a hobbit, which is a person who is rich and highly respected. Hobbits are known to live a good life, enjoy their riches and not supposed to go on adventures, but Gandalf and his dwarf friends tell Bilbo of an adventure of his lifetime and that this adventure has a generous reward at the end, which is why they choose him for the job. As they set off, they find themselves in trouble with the orcs, who are like goblins. Bilbo finds a magic ring and they make many enemies along the way. Their adventures are dangerous and nerve-wrecking! They must go through a black forest with giant spiders that are poisonous, and the King of the Forest, who puts them in prison for disturbing his royal subjects. Bilbo helps the dwarves escape and he finally reaches his treasure, but the adventure does not end there. They then have to defeat an evil dragon that has been plundering all the people of the towns near his mountain and takes their valuables. Bilbo finally defeats the dragon and gets his share of the reward, which is a handsome sum of money and treasures. He heads back to his home, but finds that he is no longer respected because he went on an adventure rather than live his life as a hobbit like everyone expected him to. I recommend this book to higher level readers because it is a challenging book to understand, although it is quite interesting.
                    • cobaltWednesday, September 7, 2016 at 4:28 pm
                      This book is wonderful and I think all kids should read it.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      coco wrote:

                      Book reviews are in! There are ...
                      The Wearle (The Erth Dragons #1)

                      bookgeek101

                      It kept me reading even through ...
                      Hunger Games Trilogy (3 Book Ser...