Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 5 - 12Z6.695022
J.R.R. Tolkien's classic prelude to his Lord of the Rings trilogy featuring cover art by Caldecott Honor winning children’s book illustrator Peter Sís, this edition of The Hobbit has been specially formatted for young readers. Larger print size and wider margins provide reading ease for the youngest Tolkien fans. This quality digest edition also includes interior maps and original interior illustrations by J.R.R. Tolkien.
Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than his pantry or cellar. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an adventure. They have launched a plot to raid the treasure hoard guarded by Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey to the Lonely Mountain he will encounter both a magic ring and a frightening creature known as Gollum.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on October 21, 2014 by Mariner Books
ISBN-10: 0544422848
ISBN-13: 9780544422841
130 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • septembergirl
    septembergirlSunday, April 15, 2018 at 12:40 pm33 stars
    My mom read this to me a long time ago and now I'm reading it for a book club. It's not my favorite but it's not bad.
    • lynx99
      lynx99Thursday, April 5, 2018 at 7:01 am55 stars
      This book is amazing! There are Battles, friendships, deaths, and slim escapes. I would recommend it to 3rd graders and up. I love J.R.R Tolkien and his books. This story is so action filled and exiting.
      • DERPYMonday, March 12, 2018 at 11:45 am
        This book is awsome!!!
        • ranger51
          ranger51Tuesday, March 6, 2018 at 7:26 am55 starsFeatured
          J.R.R. Tolkien is FOR SURE one of my favorite authors (apart of John Flanagan, the author of my favorite series Ranger's Apprentice). The Hobbit was different than the Lord of the Rings to me (but I also read the LOTR series when I was 7 vs. The Hobbit for the first time when I was 9). There were a lot less details than in the Lord of the Rings (where I find the little un-important things sometimes just going on and on and on until I'm tired and want to get to the main point... although I still love those books...). This was one of those books where you (finally) read the actual thing BEFORE you watch the movies... (Yeah, I know... that never seems to happen, does it?!) So I found this very different (and WAY better) than the movies in a lot of ways. I really enjoyed it all coming from Bilbo's perspective and I find it more enjoyable than from Frodo's or the others in LOTR. It had more action, it seemed like, although I wish the book was a little bit longer because I just didn't want it to end!! Whenever I'm bored or don't know what to read, my go-to place is the Hobbit. I've probably read this book 20 times in the last 5 years and I'm still going to read it another 10 before 2018 is over. I just LOVE this series!! (and I love the elves, too!)
          • suchomimus
            suchomimusTuesday, February 27, 2018 at 3:26 am55 stars
            This is a great book. Really worth reading
            • suchomimus
              suchomimusTuesday, February 27, 2018 at 3:09 am55 stars
              I have re-read this book over the ;last month and I was thinking that DogoBooks should start a Hobbit group.
              • five0show
                five0showTuesday, January 30, 2018 at 8:04 am44 stars
                Interesting book so far!
                • suchomimus
                  suchomimusThursday, January 25, 2018 at 3:30 am55 stars
                  I thought this book wouldn't be as good as the film, but I was wrong. I loved it! I am now obsessed with it and I am starting a Hobbit memorabilia collection.
                  • cadycat
                    cadycatThursday, November 16, 2017 at 7:23 am44 stars
                    this book is really adventurous and at a really high reading level
                    • snippyisdevon
                      snippyisdevonThursday, November 2, 2017 at 10:47 am
                      best book ever

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      laxbro2023
                      laxbro2023 wrote:

                      i have the book and im glad alex...
                      Never Say Die (Alex Rider)

                      Sara wrote:

                      yes that's right... you should n...
                      A Wrinkle in Time

                      Siena wrote:

                      wow... that was very sad.... i'm...
                      A Wrinkle in Time

                      nothing wrote:

                      really good book
                      Torn to Pieces