The Hobbit

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 5 - 12Z6.695022
The adventures of Bilbo Baggins and his quest forr stolen treasure have enthralled readers for over sity years. Now, through John Howe's magical artwork, Tolkien's world is bbrought vividly to life in this stunning and sophisticated three dimensional celebration of that famous jorney.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on October 21, 2014 by Mariner Books
ISBN-10: 0544422848
ISBN-13: 9780544422841
114 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • soffles
    sofflesFriday, April 7, 2017 at 3:15 pm55 stars
    My dad told me it was a really good book so I read it. I didn't really like it at first, but then it got really interesting.
    • magnacharge1600
      magnacharge1600Friday, March 31, 2017 at 4:35 pm55 stars
      This is a great book for ages most likely 9+ That is what I think. I am almost done will the hobbit. I think that you should read it with your parents because there are a lot of words that I don't understand. I am in 4th grade and I am advanced spelling (5th grade spelling).
      • baylenFriday, March 31, 2017 at 6:41 am
        i love tis book somuch.i like it when the giant goblins come out and gandulph saves bilbo fom dieing and being eaten.
        • mewheart
          mewheartWednesday, March 1, 2017 at 2:23 pm55 stars
          This book is great and I recommend it to 5th through anything grades. A hobbit named Bilbo has to go on a journey with dwarves to take a mountain from a dragon. This mountain is the dwarves mountain. The dragon is gaurding the gold he stole from the dwarves. If you like fantasy, I totally recommend this book for you.
          • magnacharge1600
            magnacharge1600Friday, March 31, 2017 at 5:06 pm55 stars
            There is one snag to that, I am in 4th grade and reading the hobbit. Just so you know ;)
          • comanderkitten
            comanderkittenFriday, February 24, 2017 at 9:07 am55 stars
            Riley want to read book Sean the movie lived it loved it
            • blockedacorn
              blockedacornMonday, February 13, 2017 at 10:56 am
              hard to read but great
              • happypug12
                happypug12Monday, February 13, 2017 at 9:41 am44 starsFeatured
                After watching the Hobbit movies and loving them, I wanted to read the book. I was surprised at how little they changed in the movies. This classic tale begins in the Shire, and in the Shire lives peacefully Biblo Baggins. He is a respectable Hobbit who has nothing and wants nothing to do with adventures and journeys and peril. But he is soon swept up on an dreary, dangerous, wet, hungry journey with dwarves to exact their revenge on the wicked dragon Smaug and reclaim their long-lost gold. I really enjoyed reading the Hobbit (although the writing was unclear at some places as if the author had too many ideas going on at once) and it was an interesting mix of poetry, adventure, and is just overall an epic tale. A perfect classic for all ages, young and old, adventurous or not!
                • kadester
                  kadesterMonday, January 30, 2017 at 3:12 pm44 stars
                  Its awesome! But a bit hard. :)
                  • sea_bunny
                    sea_bunnyWednesday, October 19, 2016 at 10:37 am55 stars
                    Bilbo Baggins was a young hobbit, he had had a simple lifestyle, he tended to his garden, drank tea, and read the newspaper. Until he's approached by a wizard, named Gandalf and 13 dwarfs. Gandalf told Bilbo that the dwarfs home had been taken over by a dragon, named Smaug. They told Bilbo to help them take back their home, Bilbo decided to help. What will happen on their adventure with Orcs, Dragons, and worst of all, Saruman? Read the book to find out!
                    • lalbr
                      lalbrSunday, September 25, 2016 at 9:14 am55 stars
                      i have see all of the movies but i have not read the book. I will say that the movie was very good and my friends says the book is good!:)

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      panda13 wrote:

                      looks awesome o: I want the book...
                      Dragon Captives (The Unwanteds Q...

                      llama wrote:

                      Favorite book series!!!
                      The Hunger Games (The Hunger Gam...

                      TACOS!!! wrote:

                      i'm a tomboy and i want to read...
                      Love Bomb

                      puppylove29

                      I love this book. It is about M...
                      The Misadventures of Max Crumbly...