Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 5 - 12Z6.695022
J.R.R. Tolkien's classic prelude to his Lord of the Rings trilogy featuring cover art by Caldecott Honor winning children’s book illustrator Peter Sís, this edition of The Hobbit has been specially formatted for young readers. Larger print size and wider margins provide reading ease for the youngest Tolkien fans. This quality digest edition also includes interior maps and original interior illustrations by J.R.R. Tolkien.
Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than his pantry or cellar. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an adventure. They have launched a plot to raid the treasure hoard guarded by Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey to the Lonely Mountain he will encounter both a magic ring and a frightening creature known as Gollum.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on September 21, 2017 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0007497938
ISBN-13: 9780007497935
128 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • DERPYMonday, March 12, 2018 at 11:45 am
    This book is awsome!!!
    • ranger51
      ranger51Tuesday, March 6, 2018 at 7:26 am55 starsFeatured
      J.R.R. Tolkien is FOR SURE one of my favorite authors (apart of John Flanagan, the author of my favorite series Ranger's Apprentice). The Hobbit was different than the Lord of the Rings to me (but I also read the LOTR series when I was 7 vs. The Hobbit for the first time when I was 9). There were a lot less details than in the Lord of the Rings (where I find the little un-important things sometimes just going on and on and on until I'm tired and want to get to the main point... although I still love those books...). This was one of those books where you (finally) read the actual thing BEFORE you watch the movies... (Yeah, I know... that never seems to happen, does it?!) So I found this very different (and WAY better) than the movies in a lot of ways. I really enjoyed it all coming from Bilbo's perspective and I find it more enjoyable than from Frodo's or the others in LOTR. It had more action, it seemed like, although I wish the book was a little bit longer because I just didn't want it to end!! Whenever I'm bored or don't know what to read, my go-to place is the Hobbit. I've probably read this book 20 times in the last 5 years and I'm still going to read it another 10 before 2018 is over. I just LOVE this series!! (and I love the elves, too!)
      • suchomimus
        suchomimusTuesday, February 27, 2018 at 3:26 am55 stars
        This is a great book. Really worth reading
        • suchomimus
          suchomimusTuesday, February 27, 2018 at 3:09 am55 stars
          I have re-read this book over the ;last month and I was thinking that DogoBooks should start a Hobbit group.
          • five0show
            five0showTuesday, January 30, 2018 at 8:04 am44 stars
            Interesting book so far!
            • suchomimus
              suchomimusThursday, January 25, 2018 at 3:30 am55 stars
              I thought this book wouldn't be as good as the film, but I was wrong. I loved it! I am now obsessed with it and I am starting a Hobbit memorabilia collection.
              • cadycat
                cadycatThursday, November 16, 2017 at 7:23 am44 stars
                this book is really adventurous and at a really high reading level
                • snippyisdevon
                  snippyisdevonThursday, November 2, 2017 at 10:47 am
                  best book ever
                  • cugitinoma
                    cugitinomaWednesday, October 11, 2017 at 8:04 am55 stars
                    I love this book
                    • floorboard4Friday, September 29, 2017 at 1:57 pm
                      i think that it was a really nice book! it was a bit slow at times, but i really enjoyed it, and i will defiantly read it again!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews


                      In this heartwarming novel by R....


                      Amazing book. You never lived un...
                      The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Oly...

                      bestever22 wrote:

                      This is my life in 2 weeks


                      This book exceeded my expectations.
                      Weird But True Animals