The Heroes of Olympus, Book One The Lost Hero (new cover)

Book 1 of 5 in the The Heroes of Olympus Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.5127859
Jason has a problem. He doesn't remember anything before waking up on a school bus holding hands with a girl. Apparently she's his girlfriend Piper, his best friend is a kid named Leo, and they're all students in the Wilderness School, a boarding school for "bad kids." What he did to end up here, Jason has no idea-except that everything seems very wrong.

Piper has a secret. Her father has been missing for three days, and her vivid nightmares reveal that he's in terrible danger. Now her boyfriend doesn't recognize her, and when a freak storm and strange creatures attack during a school field trip, she, Jason, and Leo are whisked away to someplace called Camp Half-Blood. What is going on?

Leo has a way with tools. His new cabin at Camp Half-Blood is filled with them. Seriously, the place beats Wilderness School hands down, with its weapons training, monsters, and fine-looking girls. What's troubling is the curse everyone keeps talking about, and that a camper's gone missing. Weirdest of all, his bunkmates insist they are all-including Leo-related to a god.

Rick Riordan, the best-selling author of the Percy Jackson series, pumps up the action and suspense in The Lost Hero, the first book in The Heroes of Olympus series. Fans of demi-gods, prophesies, and quests will be left breathless--and panting in anticipation for Book Two. The accessible and dramatic cover art by graphic novelist Nilah Magruder will attract a new generation of readers.
Paperback, 592 pages
Published on April 3, 2012 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423113462
ISBN-13: 9781423113461
469 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • soup_can11
    soup_can11Tuesday, October 6, 2020 at 7:37 am55 stars
    If you love action, romance, drama, comedy, and or mythology, then this is the book for you! I loved the way that Rick Riordan wrote the plot. Sometimes he wrote it so well so I could tell exactly what was going t happen next, and other times he wrote it so well that I had no idea what was coming next. Anyway, I just want to say that this is a great book, in a great series. #Leo is the best!
    • crunchyrainbow
      crunchyrainbowTuesday, September 29, 2020 at 11:04 pm44 stars
      This book was an amazing continuation to the famous Percy Jackson series! It starts off with a ton of questions, and ends in a huge cliffhanger, leaving us with even more questions than before! Overall, this book was a complete joy to read, and introduces the readers to a complete new set of characters (Of course, Annabeth and a few other older favourites are still there) and takes us on a wonderful journey! I would whole-heartedly recommend this to someone who has read the Percy Jackson series and enjoyed it.
      • dragonite36345
        dragonite36345Tuesday, September 29, 2020 at 8:37 am55 stars
        Jason has a problem. He doesn't remember anything before waking up on a school bus holding hands with a girl. Apparently she's his girlfriend Piper, his best friend is a kid named Leo, and they're all students in the Wilderness School, a boarding school for "bad kids." What he did to end up here, Jason has no idea-except that everything seems very wrong. Piper has a secret. Her father has been missing for three days, and her vivid nightmares reveal that he's in terrible danger. Now her boyfriend doesn't recognize her, and when a freak storm and strange creatures attack during a school field trip, she, Jason, and Leo are whisked away to someplace called Camp Half-Blood. What is going on? Leo has a way with tools. His new cabin at Camp Half-Blood is filled with them. Seriously, the place beats Wilderness School hands down, with its weapons training, monsters, and fine-looking girls. What's troubling is the curse everyone keeps talking about, and that a camper's gone missing. Weirdest of all, his bunkmates insist they are all-including Leo-related to a god. The Mist takes over. What will happen next?
        • ttgtristan5525
          ttgtristan5525Wednesday, September 16, 2020 at 10:49 am55 stars
          i have read all of them over a hundred times my all time favorite book series right there.
          • olivia24hello
            olivia24helloMonday, August 24, 2020 at 5:00 pm
            I'm in the middle of it. Super good so far.
            • kkgautamm
              kkgautammSaturday, August 15, 2020 at 1:59 pm33 stars
              i really liked piper, she seems like aa super cool character! i also really liked how there was a new "roman" perspective to the pjo universe, its a little different but not that much! i also didn't mind the pov change. i missed percy though :((
              • kzoo Sunday, July 12, 2020 at 11:08 am
                i love percy jackson plz make more books about him
                • girlpower4ever
                  girlpower4everTuesday, July 7, 2020 at 9:36 am55 stars
                  Jason Grace wakes up on a school bus, supposedly headed for a field trip, completely disoriented. He has no memory of Leo Valdez, claiming to be his best friend, or Piper McLean, who appears to be his girlfriend. And when they arrive at the field trip destination, deadly winds and sudden flying powers further confuse Jason's mind. Is this all a dream, after all? But then Annabeth Chase arrives at the scene, wild-eyed and rambling, which confirms that all of this is very real. She drags Jason, Leo, and Piper to the mysterious Camp Half-Blood, where more danger - if that's possible - awaits. Now, the new demigod trio must save Hera and figure out the cause of Jason's loss of memory, but death may be patiently waiting on the other side. This earthshaking first book in the Heroes of Olympus sequel series will bring readers back to the mythical world of Percy Jackson, and leave them vying for more.
                  • sue-zhp
                    sue-zhpMonday, June 29, 2020 at 11:22 am55 stars
                    I really like all the the Rick Riordan books they are really interesting and I never get bored of them
                    • undertaleundyne
                      undertaleundyneThursday, June 18, 2020 at 3:34 pm55 stars
                      I LOVED this book because it had lots of suspense and adventure. I liked how the author made things strange to make the book more better. The part I liked in this book is that when Piper has a fight with the Aphrodite counselor, Drew. And of course, Piper now became the head counselor. Thank you so much Mr. Riordan!