The Blood of Olympus

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grade 6n/a5.2111748

Though the Greek and Roman crew members of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen-all of them-and they're stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood-the blood of Olympus-in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it might be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea's army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423146735
ISBN-13: 9781423146735
Fans
1054 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • daughterofzeus
    daughterofzeusWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 6:07 am
    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!
    • bobby gibsonMonday, April 3, 2017 at 6:34 am
      I didn't like it
      • skylierMonday, April 3, 2017 at 6:28 am
        this book is the best book best.
        • magickingwizard
          magickingwizardTuesday, March 21, 2017 at 3:02 pm
          Very good book
          • dogobirdie25
            dogobirdie25Thursday, March 16, 2017 at 6:58 am
            This book is about the Greek and roman demigods going through and some people roman and Greek trying to stop the war. They go on a quest to stop the war which brings them half way across the world and they have to go back. Another group which is also trying to stop the war. They try to bring a ancient statue that is the reason Romans never get along with Greeks.
            • porlygon
              porlygonSaturday, March 4, 2017 at 9:59 pm
              A must-read!
              • fantomsky26
                fantomsky26Thursday, March 2, 2017 at 4:29 pm55 stars
                I fell in love with this series a long time ago. I love the characters and the story. Rick Riordan is my ultimate hero and if I got to meat him I would pass out. The thing that made me fall in love with this series was the adventure that every book had in store for you and how it always kept you on your toes it is a really good book and I think everyone should read it.
                • dollasticdreams
                  dollasticdreamsMonday, February 20, 2017 at 5:04 pm55 stars
                  It has some amazing characters like say Percy not everyone is like him he can control water and stays cool near his crush.
                  • predaking
                    predakingThursday, January 19, 2017 at 8:28 am55 stars
                    The blood of olympus by Rick Riordan is a fantasy book about the greek gods and their mortal children.The blood of olympus takes place in greece and surrounding countries. The seven demigods heros are aboard the Argo ll. The heros are racing toward Athens where the giants are going to awake Gaea the goddess of the earth. The Greek and Roman camps are at the verge of war. A Roman named Reyna must transport the Athena Parthenos. My favorite parts are, the giant battle in Athens with the gods and giants.The huge battle at camp half blood where Leo died but Gaea was defeated. Later in the book Leo is alive thanks to a potion and saved Claspo from her island.If you like mythology and action,you will love this book.
                    • the_awesome_one
                      the_awesome_oneWednesday, January 11, 2017 at 10:42 am
                      This should be the number one book of all time!