Eight Starred Reviews! #1 New York Times Bestseller!

"Absolutely riveting!" —Jason Reynolds

"Stunning." —John Green

"This story is necessary. This story is important." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Heartbreakingly topical." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A marvel of verisimilitude." —Booklist (starred review)

"A powerful, in-your-face novel." —The Horn Book (starred review)

Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.

Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil’s name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr.

But what Starr does—or does not—say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life.

Paperback, 448 pages
Published on August 2, 2018 by Walker Books Ltd
ISBN-10: 1406387169
ISBN-13: 9781406387162
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • soso17970
    soso17970Saturday, January 18, 2020 at 3:37 pm44 stars
    I really didn’t think I would like this book because it seemed so mature. But that turned out to be the exact reason I loved it. The hate u give takes the reader into a whole different world. The lovable main character, Starr goes through a lot of drama with family, friends, and her neighborhoods. The book balances action, theme and comical relief very well and reader will definitely take something away from it. Big warning, only read this book if you are 13+, lots of swearing and mature topics.
    • kgautam
      kgautamWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 10:30 am55 stars
      amazing book, really touching. it shows what life is like for others that are discriminated against. wish I could have seen the movie, it seemed very interesting.
      • kgautam
        kgautamTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 3:14 pm55 stars
        amazing book, really touching. it shows what life is like for others that are discriminated against. wish I could have seen the movie.
        • michaelhunter
          michaelhunterMonday, October 29, 2018 at 7:06 am55 stars
          one of the best books I've read
          • unibrowboi
            unibrowboiThursday, July 5, 2018 at 5:05 am55 stars
            Wrenching, soul stirring, funny, endearing, painful, and frustratingly familiar, this novel offers a powerful look at a few weeks in a fairly typical teen girl's life -- with one horrific exception
            • e06
              e06Sunday, June 17, 2018 at 4:51 pm55 stars
              I read this book in 3 days.... It is a book everyone should read. It also has some very political aspects. I enjoyed this book soon much, it was AMAZING! It shows a very emotional movie in your head. You should definitely read it if you are about 12 and up. Otherwise an outstanding story. It is a book you really cannot put down. Angie Thomas did and outstanding job, put so much effort and it was all worth it! This should in a Newberry Award! Highly Recommend!
              • lolololThursday, May 24, 2018 at 8:48 am
                Good history. Would recommend this book to people who love hearing about activist
                • macflowerchild
                  macflowerchildWednesday, September 20, 2017 at 7:23 am55 stars
                  I absolutely loved this book. The characters were amazing and the story line is very much of our reality right now. I highly recommend!!
                  • Lincoln LionThursday, September 14, 2017 at 10:32 am
                    This book was amazing. I loved it so much. Everyone should read this and it really brings current events to the table. Cannot recommend this book enough!