Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8V4.557248
Once upon a time, fairy tales were grim.

Cinderella’s stepsisters got their eyes pecked out by birds.

Rumpelstiltskin ripped himself in half.

And in a tale called “The Mouse, the Bird, and the Sausage,” a mouse, a bird, and a sausage all talk to each other. Yes, the sausage talks. (Okay, I guess that one’s not that grim…)

Those are the real fairy tales.

But they have nothing on the story I’m about to tell.

This is the darkest fairy tale of all. Also, it is the weirdest. And the bloodiest.

It is the grimmest tale I have ever heard.

And I am sharing it with you.

Two children venture through forests, flee kingdoms, face ogres and demons and monsters, and, ultimately, find their way home. Oh yes, and they may die. Just once or twice.

That’s right. Fairy tales
Are
Awesome.
Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on October 8, 2013 by Dutton Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0525426159
ISBN-13: 9780525426158
22 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hedgeguin2
    hedgeguin2Monday, July 8, 2019 at 5:20 pm44 stars
    Chilling and grim, this book is about fairy tales. But fairy tales that are grim, horrible, and just plain scary. They tell of these two kids, who rule a kingdom, meet unicorns, are killed and brought back to life, and many more of these things. If you like horror, mystery, surprise, and a little bit of humor books, then you should read this book!
    • spykitten
      spykittenSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 6:25 am55 stars
      I loved this book! It is a little disturbing, but great. It has The Juniper Tree, Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, and more! Very funny with great writing. I highly recommend!
      • ZJWThursday, February 7, 2019 at 3:38 pm
        I love this book. It is amazing. I LOVE IT!!
        • ryrypunk
          ryrypunkThursday, March 2, 2017 at 7:50 am55 stars
          It is awesome
          • wolfboyMonday, February 13, 2017 at 9:32 am
            good book
            • wolfboyMonday, February 13, 2017 at 9:30 am
              good book i like it to
              • jasonMonday, February 13, 2017 at 9:28 am
                this book is scary and a good book
                • justinMonday, February 13, 2017 at 9:26 am
                  this book is scary but cool to
                  • locker33453
                    locker33453Monday, February 13, 2017 at 7:06 am55 stars
                    This book was great! Like all of them say, Joringel (Your-ingel) makes the devil cry! Eventually, kids end up building a fortress and battling the adults! Joringel and Jorinda (Your-inda) even meet the author of the book! This book also has tons of references to the 1st and 2nd book. But be warned: This book is not for 5 year olds. This fairy tale is dark and gory. There's a lot of blood in this book, and little kids will probably have nightmares. With that said, check this book out!
                    • fastflash
                      fastflashThursday, January 26, 2017 at 7:41 am55 stars
                      good like the first one