Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 6 - 12V6.548671
The eleventh grim installment in the series. Prepare yourself to hear more about the mystery of VFD than you really want to know.
Hardcover
ISBN-10: 006074202X
ISBN-13: 9780060742027
19 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hedgeguin2
    hedgeguin2Friday, July 19, 2019 at 9:37 am55 stars
    The Grim Grotto is about the Baudelaire orphans, who find themselves in a little submarine, which has Captain Widdershins, the captain, Fiona, a kid who is also a mycologist, and Phil, whom the Baudelaires met at the Lucky Smells Lumbermill. The Baudelaires soon find themselves actually kind of happy, and when Captain Widdershins tell them they are trying to find the sugar bowl before Count Olaf does and try to make it to the last safe place of V.F.D. But when they start searching, they find themselves soon in Count Olaf's hands again. But the Baudelaires know they can defeat him, but with the uncovering of a man,a betrayal of a friend, and Carmelita Spats, the Baudelaire orphans need all their strength for this!
    • wolfchildren
      wolfchildrenThursday, June 27, 2019 at 4:08 pm55 stars
      9 year old: Best book series ever, but Count Olaf is a jerk. Lemony Snicket has lots of great books, but this series is my favorite. 7 year old: I liked it, because we read it together. 12 year old: It is the best book series, Lemony Snicket is a great author. Mom: Reading this series together as a family was incredible. We paused and discussed theories so much. We did end up watching both the film and Netflix show after, neither do the series justice, but it was fun to see how film portrayed our favorite series of all time.
      • BeCaringWednesday, January 23, 2019 at 12:58 pm
        I already read this book and I am looking for the next one. I totally would recommend this book because it pulls you into the story. Violet's an inventor (14). Klaus is a researcher (10). Sunny is very fond of biting things, speaks a language only her siblings can understand, and later loves cooking (infant). Also TV show on Netflix. HAVE FUN!!!!!
        • wiccanbat666
          wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:18 pm55 stars
          This series was my ENTIRE LIFE when I was a small human child. I saved any and all money I received to buy the books (my first collection of matching hardcovers) and listened to them on cassette tape (OKAY GUESS WHO JUST SOUNDS OLD RIGHT NOW) when I wasn't re-reading the physical copies.
          • anajas1
            anajas1Sunday, November 5, 2017 at 12:03 pm55 stars
            Read this!
            • anajas1
              anajas1Sunday, November 5, 2017 at 12:03 pm55 stars
              great book in a great series...
              • fywazusamy
                fywazusamyFriday, November 3, 2017 at 11:17 am55 stars
                I love this book! Its full of surprises, secrets, and the Baudelaire's grow a lot throughout this book. If you love the other books of this series you will like this book. If you want to know if Sunny gets better from her almost death sickness, read this book to find out.
                • weshdThursday, November 2, 2017 at 7:35 am
                  awww look at sunnys little diving suit.
                  • nish2580
                    nish2580Friday, December 2, 2016 at 9:46 am55 stars
                    I love it how three kids can do so much and how they use their instincts to figure out problems that come in their way! I WOULD RECOMMEND THSI BOOK.
                    • riamis
                      riamisFriday, October 14, 2016 at 1:23 am55 stars
                      I think this book is awesome because it is full of mystery and secrets.I can't wait to complete this book and go onto the next 2. I definitely recommend this book.