Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.272785
Heather and Picket are extraordinary rabbits with ordinary lives until calamitous events overtake them, spilling them into a cauldron of misadventures. They discover that their own story is bound up in the tumult threatening to overwhelm the wider world.

Kings fall and kingdoms totter. Tyrants ascend and terrors threaten. Betrayal beckons, and loyalty is a broken road with peril around every bend.

Where will Heather and Picket land? How will they make their stand?

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on September 13, 2016 by Story Warren Books
ISBN-10: 0986223514
ISBN-13: 9780986223518
7 Book Reviews
  • Rana NataniellaTuesday, August 11, 2020 at 3:43 am
    I love this book
    • reader56
      reader56Monday, August 10, 2020 at 8:29 pm55 stars
      it is a book where you have to keep reading and it is fun and exciting to read as the siblings and uncle fight the enemy and protect their namesake
      • The dancerTuesday, December 18, 2018 at 7:23 pm
        This book is awesome but very sad. It's about rabbits and wolves fighting! It is a 5 star book šŸŒŸšŸŒŸšŸŒŸšŸŒŸšŸŒŸ!
        • traviskid3
          traviskid3Tuesday, June 5, 2018 at 11:30 am55 stars
          I liked how the rabbit mom looked and I liked how Heather fought. I also liked the rabbit's house. I liked how Heather and Picket played the Star catcher game.
          • majise
            majiseFriday, November 10, 2017 at 9:16 am44 stars
            This is an amazing book!
            • Halen Thursday, November 9, 2017 at 6:44 pm
              I love how action packed this book is and love the characters šŸ‘šŸ»šŸ°šŸ°šŸ°šŸŗ!! Iļø highly recommend this book šŸ“–
              • Kambigsis Saturday, August 27, 2016 at 2:02 pm
                The Green Ember is one of my favorite books. It is the epic adventure of two young rabbits Picket and Heather. It shows the bond of a brother and sister, and how much they care about there family. Picket is headstrong, yet kind and understandable. He will do anything to protect the ones he cares about. Heather is a calm and beautiful rabbit, who is a friend to all who meet her. SD Smith has written an amazing tale that makes you sit on the edge of your seat. It always leaves you wanting to know what happens next.