Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 5 - 12Z7.831117
The Louisville Lip.Cassius Clay.The Greatest.Muhammad Ali may be known by more than one name, but his accomplishments, both inside and out of the boxing ring, have earned him a singular place in history as one of the most inspiring figures of the twentieth century.In his riveting portrayal of Ali's spirit and courage, award-winning author Walter Dean Myers also exposes the hazards of boxing -- the sport Ali loved, but which ultimately damaged him and many other greats beyond repair. Through the story of Ali's childhood, his rise as a champion, his politics, and his battle against Parkinsons' disease, readers will come to know the man behind the brash public persona -- the man whose talent and legacy will stir and inspire a new generation of fans.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on January 1, 2001 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0590543423
ISBN-13: 9780590543422
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • triple-gio
    triple-gioFriday, August 30, 2019 at 9:42 pm
    I want to read this book cause I am interested in this book and cause I am going boxing also be is .I here he fought for us and have us💵💵
    • elisethecheeto
      elisethecheetoTuesday, October 9, 2018 at 9:19 am33 stars
      This seems pretty cool!
      • mykell12
        mykell12Tuesday, December 20, 2016 at 11:13 am55 stars
        I decided to read this book because it is based on someones life as a boxer and how it impacted others. I thought this was a good book because it shows that you can be whatever you want to be if you put your mind to it.
        • jeffreygreene
          jeffreygreeneThursday, December 1, 2016 at 10:32 am
          Its about from his childhood in the segregated south to his current fight with parkinsons disease Ali never backed down.So its talk about how was acting in his life and how he became great in the ring with other defenders and how he started fom bottom and how he made his way to the top.
          • nazzie24
            nazzie24Wednesday, November 30, 2016 at 11:40 am44 stars
            I decided to read this book because I'm a fan of greatness.An when I know and see greatness I flock to it especially if it's beyond their field.An that's Muhammad Ali (Cassius Clay).
            • bugatti_boy
              bugatti_boyTuesday, November 29, 2016 at 11:33 am
              This book is about Muhammad Ali.Muhammad was born in the south he is the greatest boxer in his prime.Muhammad Ali is Olympic gold medalist and the heavyweight champion.This book would be good if like Muhammad and what to learn about him.
              • joker8
                joker8Thursday, December 6, 2012 at 12:43 pm
                A very good book. Deep and inspiring