Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 4 - 7n/a5.433048

Kids vs. parents! An epic treehouse sleepover! An awesome group of friends! An exciting new book from National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff.

Winnie's last day of fourth grade ended with a pretty life-changing surprise. That was the day Winnie’s parents got divorced and decided that Winnie would live three days a week with each of them and spend Wednesdays by herself in a treehouse between their houses, to divide her time perfectly evenly. It was the day Winnie’s seed of frustration with her parents was planted, a seed that grew until it felt like it was as big as a tree itself.

By the end of fifth grade, Winnie decides that the only way to change things is to barricade herself in her treehouse until her parents come to their senses—and her friends decide to join. It’s kids vs. grown-ups, and no one wants to back down first. But with ten kids in one treehouse, all with their own demands, things get pretty complicated! Even if they are having the most epic slumber party ever.

In the newest novel by beloved National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff, kids turn the tables on their parents, and all the rules are tossed out the window. But does Winnie have what it takes to hold her ground and keep everyone happy?

This story, with a pitch-perfect middle grade voice and a zany yet poignant situation, is perfect for fans of Sharon Creech, Louis Sachar, and Jack Gantos.

Praise for Lisa Graff's novels:

The Great Treehouse War

"It’s kids vs. parents in epic fashion...Graff’s whimsical, original work is a breath of fresh air."—School Library Journal

"Combining over-the-top storytelling with down-home wisdom, this [is] fun."—Booklist

"[Graff creates] a vibrant patchwork of personalities that gives voice to the power of friendship."—Publishers Weekly

"A good-natured satire of helicopter parenting and a celebration of child ingenuity."—Horn Book

Lost in the Sun

* "Graff writes with stunning insight...consistently demonstrat[ing] why character-driven novels can live from generation to generation."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* "Weighty matters deftly handled with humor and grace."—School Library Journal, starred review

"This [novel] speaks powerfully, honestly, almost shockingly about our human pain and...redemption. This book will change you."—Gary Schmidt, The Wednesday Wars

"Graff crafts a compelling story about a boy touched with tragedy....And like all the best stories, it ends at a new beginning."—Richard Peck, A Year Down Yonder

Absolutely Almost


* "A perfect book to share with struggling readers."—Booklist, starred review

* "Achingly superb."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* "Graff’s...gentle story invokes evergreen themes of coming to appreciate one’s strengths (and weaknesses), and stands out for its thoughtful, moving portrait of a boy who learns to keep moving forward."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

"The patrons of my school library have been asking, 'Do you have any books like Wonder by R.J. Palacio?' and now I have the perfect offering."—BookPage

A Tangle of Knots

“A beautiful world of deliciously interconnected stories.”—Entertainment Weekly, A-

* “Subtle and intricate, rich with humor and insight, this quietly magical adventure delights.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* “Combining the literary sensibility of E. B. White with the insouciance of Louis Sachar, [this] should satisfy readers for years to come.”—Booklist, starred review

Paperback, 304 pages
Published on May 1, 2018 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0147516714
ISBN-13: 9780147516718
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • fox1568
    fox1568Monday, October 5, 2020 at 1:43 pm55 stars
    This is a good book kids vs perents.will the kids or the perents win the war?best book ever super cool i read ist 2 or maby 3 times!!! super cool book
    • lions579
      lions579Thursday, August 27, 2020 at 1:06 pm55 stars
      There is a lot of information you need to know to understand this book, and you get it all! Winnifred is a normal kid with a normal life, NOT. Her parents are not the most normal in the world, instead of playing games after dinner, they might explain what they are doing in work. Then they get a divorce, and winnifred’s ( also called Winnie by her friends) parents are trying to make every day they spent with her better then the days she spends with the other parent, and Winnie’s frustration grows bigger and bigger, so she decides to live in her treehouse! Her friends join her, and they become known as the tulip street ten, kids with a cause. The reason they can do this is because Winnie’s tree was planted by a non-extinct country, as she believes that when she is in the treehouse, she is in her own country. As the battle between kids and grownups rages, Winnie realizes what they want is different then what they need.
      • swirlycool
        swirlycoolTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 1:16 pm55 stars
        Winnie's frustration started out as a seed, then grew to be as big as a tree itself. Her parents had gotten divorced, and decided she would spend three days a week with each of them, and have a day to herself in her tree house. By the end of fifth grade, Winnie decides the only way to make a change is to barricade herself in her treehouse. Her friends join, and they become known as the Treehouse 10. This book also includes steps to make crafts inside. This book is very funny, and I recommend this book to people who enjoy the other books written by this author. I rate this book 5/5.
        • swirlycool
          swirlycoolMonday, June 1, 2020 at 3:58 pm55 stars
          Winnie's frustration started out as a seed, then grew to be as big as a tree itself. Her parents had gotten divorced, and decided she would spend three days a week with each of them, and have a day to herself in her tree house. By the end of fifth grade, Winnie decides the only way to make a change is to barricade herself in her treehouse. Her friends join, and they become known as the Treehouse 10. This book also includes steps to make crafts inside. This book is very funny, and I recommend this book to people who enjoy the other books written by this author. I rate this book 5/5.
          • hoppy
            hoppyWednesday, August 2, 2017 at 6:46 am44 stars
            Exactly what I have been emphasizing in my house
            • beachbreeze15
              beachbreeze15Friday, July 21, 2017 at 6:07 am44 stars
              This book was fun and creative! Although none of the words were very long or complex, so it may be skewed towards younger readers.
              • ilovedallas
                ilovedallasThursday, July 20, 2017 at 5:36 pm
                AAAAAAMMMMMMMAAAAAAAZZZZIIIINNGGGG!
                • springchick114
                  springchick114Friday, June 9, 2017 at 9:27 am55 stars
                  This was a really good book! I TOTALLY recommend this. It told a hilarious story and I thought it was kinda cute. I love it! (I won this copy in the freebie thing FYI)
                  • maddyp18
                    maddyp18Thursday, May 25, 2017 at 10:23 am55 starsFeatured
                    I just finished reading this amazing book, and I loved it! This book is about a girl named Winnie, who's parents are a bit difficult. Winnie's parents are too alike for their own good, and they want everything to be equal. For instance, when Winnie came home from school and her parents told her that they were getting divorced, they had a duct-tape X on the couch for her to sit on, exactly between her parents. Since her parents are getting divorced, they inform Winnie that she's going to have an EXACTLY equal amount of days with each of her parents, by switching off between their new houses each day of the week. But, since there's seven days in a week, Winnie's going to spend that one extra day living in a treehouse, exactly between her parents' houses. At first Winnie thought the idea of living in a treehouse was ridiculous, but then she realized that it might be nice to have some peace and quiet. Then stuff got even crazier. Winnie usually spent Thanksgiving with her family, as the one holiday they celebrated, but since her parents weren't living together anymore, they had to celebrate a new holiday. First Winnie celebrated a new holiday with her Mom, then Winnie's dad got jealous of her mom celebrating the holiday with Winnie, so HE decided to celebrate a DIFFERENT holiday with Winnie. So that's how it happened that every day of the week Winnie celebrated a different holiday, so she had no time for her homework, or anything else. But there was one exception - on Wednesday's she lived in her treehouse, so she could relax, draw, cuddle with her cat, and do her homework, things normal kids did every day. But since there was only one Wednesday each week, Winnie was falling behind with her schoolwork, because every day (except Wednesday) was spent celebrating a holiday. Her teacher said that Winnie might even fail fifth grade! Her teacher gave her an important history report to do, and said if she didn't ace it she would have to redo fifth grade. So Winnie was under a lot of stress, until her final breaking point. Winnie's dad wanted Winnie to spend the summer with him, so to make up for those days with her dad, Winnie's Mom said that Winnie would spend every Wednesday with her, until the time from the summer was made up. This Winnie could not handle, because Wednesday's were her only time for normal things, and she would fail fifth grade if she didn't get a good grade on her history report. By chance Winnie learned that technically her treehouse wasn't a part of the US, so it didn't follow the rules of the US either. So, Winnie went up to her treehouse when her parents told her this, and it wasn't a Wednesday. She decided to stay up there until her parents came up and talked to her together about the whole holiday every day of the week thing, like levelheaded adults. Then Winnie's friends joined her, all because of something they wanted their parents to agree on, like more video game time, or more attention. And since her treehouse was technically its own country, no one could come into the treehouse unless the kids approved. After the kids had been in the treehouse for a couple days, "The Treehouse Ten" became famous. Will the kids come down from the treehouse, or will they stay up there until they get what they want? I really loved the format of this book, it was really cool. The book was told in Winnie's perspective, in the style of a journal, with fake sticky notes every few pages, written by various people in the Treehouse Ten. My favorite character was Winnie, because she seemed really smart and levelheaded in this book. I would recommend this book is to late elementary and middle school readers. Enjoy!
                    • wolfdog
                      wolfdogWednesday, April 10, 2019 at 8:25 am
                      Too long lol
                    • ananaThursday, May 18, 2017 at 8:22 am
                      OK so when i saw this book this is what I thought, I yelled to my mom and said I need this book will you please get me it . then she said maybe if you are good so i tried to do my best and I think I did we decided to get the book but I passed it n so another person could read, but when i saw the book I just knew it was going to be the best book ever!!!! When I read the little preview you gave me I instantlay froze and I knew that I wold like the book a lot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I DID LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!! HAve a good day