Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 1 - 5S3.734763

When the Wild Calls

McKinley, a malamute, is a good dog -- he's reliable and trustworthy. Whether it's watching over the other dogs of Steamboat Springs, Colorado, or taking care of his human pup, Jack, McKinley never even thinks of letting anyone down -- until he meets Lupin. Lupin is a she-wolf and she's urging the dogs of Steamboat Springs to leave their domesticated lives and join her wild pack. And though she scares McKinley, he also finds himself drawn to her and the life of freedom that she offers.

For the first time, McKinley's loyalties are torn. Should he stay with his humans and continue to lead the dogs of Steamboat Springs? Or should he join the wolf and live freely, like his ancestors did? When the wild calls, what will McKinley's answer be?

Paperback, 256 pages
Published on April 1, 2003 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0689838255
ISBN-13: 9780689838255
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • fsloan
    fsloanMonday, June 15, 2015 at 11:37 am55 stars
    i am reading this book :)
    • jc112
      jc112Thursday, April 23, 2015 at 12:54 pm55 stars
      awesome book
      • lilcatman
        lilcatmanWednesday, November 19, 2014 at 1:25 pm55 stars
        I love this book and I am reading it in class right now!
        • lilcatman
          lilcatmanWednesday, November 19, 2014 at 1:18 pm55 stars
          It is a great book and from where I am in the story it seems like I am going to die if I don't read it at least for 20 minutes a day! :) Best book ever! I hope you read this book soon I know you will love it.
          • peachypie
            peachypieSaturday, April 7, 2012 at 5:52 am55 stars
            i love this book i read it in class and then once i was done i gave it to my friend and she liked it!
            • milkreader
              milkreaderFriday, April 6, 2012 at 7:19 pm55 stars
              Do not remember but awesome book! The reason why I post this review and not remember anything but the title of it, is because it was a really good book. So I hope you read it and keep readin'!
              • nicole1806
                nicole1806Thursday, January 26, 2012 at 4:20 pm
                I want to finish reading this book because its really good. I started reading it but then I neever got to finish it.