The Golden Compass / Northern Lights (His Dark Materials, Book 1)

Book 1 of 3 in the His Dark Materials Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 12Z7.1112815

Published in 40 countries, Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials trilogy--The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass--has graced the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, San Francisco Chronicle, Book Sense, and Publishers Weekly bestseller lists. In 1996, The Golden Compass changed the face of fantasy publishing, and 2006 marks its 10 Year Anniversary--and an opportunity to celebrate with a deluxe hardcover. Pullman created new material just for this edition (archival documents, scientific notes and "found" letters of Lord Asriel) which has been illustrated and handlettered by renowned British artist Ian Beck and will be included in the back matter. The deluxe edition also features Pullman's own chapter opening spot art. A quality collectible--with the enticement of never-before-seen new material--for Pullman fans.

Hardcover, 432 pages
Published on October 24, 2006 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375838309
ISBN-13: 9780375838309
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • animelover1234
    animelover1234Monday, April 1, 2019 at 8:56 am
    looks great
    • clarinetgirl
      clarinetgirlSunday, March 17, 2019 at 11:14 am55 stars
      These are my favourite books ever. They are so good, they are very eye opening and I am so glad that I read them.
      • AvaFriday, January 18, 2019 at 10:26 pm
        Wow!
        • hufflepuff_diva
          hufflepuff_divaTuesday, February 6, 2018 at 3:46 pm55 starsFeatured
          The Golden Compass is more than just a book to read; it actually MEANS something. I got it for Christmas and it is so good! It can be very confusing and hard to read, but it is totally worth it. The characters are wonderful (Everyone has to love Lyra because she is stubborn, kind, and strong, and everyone has to love Will because he's the same as Lyra, but original, too), and everything else about it. I loved it, and the rest of the series!
          • zafrankel
            zafrankelSaturday, April 1, 2017 at 3:07 pm55 stars
            Lyra lives in a world similar to ours but different in many ways. Lyra is just learning about the world around her and has no idea that anything's possible especially will one of the most powerful weapons in the world. This book is fictional Yet imaginable
            • abhijay21
              abhijay21Tuesday, March 21, 2017 at 2:36 pm
              Soo good
              • kitten7260
                kitten7260Thursday, December 1, 2016 at 12:50 pm55 stars
                So good! This book is kind of like a fantasy book and is amazing! I suggest, though, only read this if you are an awesome reader! It also has a girl lead (Lyra). Girl power!!!
                • fuzzle
                  fuzzleSaturday, February 20, 2016 at 4:01 pm55 stars
                  Not only best book, but best trilogy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It made me wonder what when I grow up my daemon would be! And it had amazing wording, and a great story line!!!!
                  • icecat9791
                    icecat9791Wednesday, September 9, 2015 at 12:10 pm
                    This trilogy is an astonishing tale of a girl, Lyra, and her dæmon (pronounced demon) who journey through multiple worlds to right an ancient wrong. This novel is a subtle way of announcing the authors anti-church stance, as in this book, the church is the cause of the suffering. However, regardless of religious beliefs, this book is a must read for everyone. Her adventures keep you constantly alert and unable to put down the book.
                    • optimistic-edit
                      optimistic-editFriday, February 27, 2015 at 4:46 am55 stars
                      this book is such a good book about a thrilling adventure! i loved all the characters and the plot was super creative