The Glass Gauntlet (The Blood Guard Series)

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.856948

Ronan Truelove barely survived his first encounter with his father and the Bend Sinister. Now, he’s determined to become one of the Blood Guard, a sword-wielding secret society sworn to protect thirty-six pure souls crucial to the world’s survival.

Eager to prove he’s got what it takes, Ronan is sent on his first mission with his friends Greta and Sammy to visit a weird-sounding school and take a series of tests called the Glass Gauntlet. Paper and pencils and nerdy scholarship—where’s the life-or-death challenge in that?

But the Glass Gauntlet is actually something much more dangerous: head-to-head competitions against ruthless opponents. Nothing and no one are what they seem. Who can he trust, and who will kill him? Ronan has to figure it out fast because his enemies are multiplying, and soon he will have to pass the ultimate test: facing his father again and standing up to those who threaten not only him and his friends but also the world.

Hardcover, 261 pages
Published on August 18, 2015 by Two Lions
ISBN-10: 1477826262
ISBN-13: 9781477826263
17 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • yuSunday, March 19, 2017 at 6:49 pm
    The class it so cool
    • bob12343
      bob12343Tuesday, October 4, 2016 at 2:58 am55 stars
      this was a good book
      • rrwwnn
        rrwwnnSunday, September 25, 2016 at 6:39 pm
        I love this book! Some of the characters worked together to solve problems. Some of the characters were even really funny. One character once broke into another character's room! Also i would recommend this book to others who like funny characters and tests and a bunch of adventures that are scary.
        • snicker9
          snicker9Friday, September 23, 2016 at 1:00 pm44 stars
          The Glass Gauntlet is the second book in the Blood Guard series. Ronan Truelove barely made it out alive when he first encountered the Bend Sinister and its head-who happens to be his father. Now he is determined to become part of the good guys, otherwise known as the Blood Guard. The Blood Guard is a secret society with some pretty awesome abilities that are dedicated to protect the Pure. The Pure are 36 souls who are necessary to the world's survival. And his best friend Greta happens to be a Pure-although she doesn't know it. Ronan is sent on his first mission with Greta and their friend Sammy along with one of the Guard, Jack. But the trio aren't thrilled about it. Their assignment is to visit a strange school-and take a series of tests called the Glass Gauntlet while Jack searches for an old relic. Where is the adventure in that? Turns out, more dangerous than they thought. They aren't taking boring pencil-and-paper tests, but are instead facing off in heated competitions with ruthless opponents. Everyone is more than they seem. Who can Ronan trust? This book was very adventurous and had high-stakes. I never knew what was going to happen next, and there were twists and turns around every corner. I can't wait to read the next book! I recommend this book to adventure lovers, and fans of the first book. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.
          • dylhou1617
            dylhou1617Tuesday, October 25, 2016 at 11:16 am
            good job on this review
          • strawberry1234
            strawberry1234Wednesday, September 21, 2016 at 2:12 pm55 stars
            this book was awesome i want to keep reading more of these book i hop i enjoy the next books just like i did right now.
            • memoiloveit
              memoiloveitTuesday, August 23, 2016 at 8:17 am44 stars
              This great sequel to The Blood Guard is enjoyable because the adventures of Ronan and his friends aren't over. This magical mystery is recommendable for anyone.
              • wingfeather
                wingfeatherThursday, July 28, 2016 at 3:40 pm44 stars
                second book in blood guard series. after barely stopping the bend sinister, ronan must protect his pure during dangerous tests and deal with a betrayal. great sequel!!!
                • zombiedude
                  zombiedudeTuesday, July 12, 2016 at 12:40 pm44 stars
                  This book was awesome because it had suspense and action. Which is what most people want to read over the summer to spend the time.
                  • inventor60
                    inventor60Monday, July 4, 2016 at 5:48 am33 stars
                    I found this book to be well, ok. It is all about Ronan trying to become the Blood Guard with his friends. That is where he goes through tests and ruthless fighting to become the blood guard.
                    • jsmyth
                      jsmythSunday, July 3, 2016 at 7:48 pm44 stars
                      I really enjoyed the first book, and was very excited to continue reading about the adventures of Ronan, Jack, Greta and Sammy. Also there are new characters who are just as fun to get to know. The story is fresh and exciting, and we learn more about the Blood Guard and their enemies. The new adventure centers around a mysterious test and strange happenings at the testing facility. Without giving too much of the story away, I can safely say that there are surprises, epic battles, and strange new characters. surprises, I am excited to see where this series goes, and plan on reading every book as it comes out, and would recommend the same to everyone.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      coco wrote:

                      Book reviews are in! There are ...
                      The Wearle (The Erth Dragons #1)

                      bookgeek101

                      It kept me reading even through ...
                      Hunger Games Trilogy (3 Book Ser...