The Glass Castle (Thirteen)

Book 1 of 3 in the Thirteen Series
You'll love joining Avery in the adventures of The Glass Castle where the setting from The Chronicles of Narnia meets the action from Alice in Wonderland.
Avery dragged her three-year-old brother behind a boxwood bush and listened for footsteps in the brittle leaves.
She couldn’t be sure which was louder—the person on their trail or her own heart, galloping like a stallion in her ears.

With one hand over Henry’s mouth, Avery looked down at the nicest dress she owned. Not only had she torn the ruffles and destroyed the hem, but the white linen stood out in the shadowy woods, making her an easy target.
I
f she survived this afternoon and made it home tonight—and that felt like a giant if—her father would demand to know why her dress was stained with grass and mud and tinged with blood.She would tell him the truth.
The king is growing old and is concerned about who will replace him. His new wife wants to produce an heir to the throne. The only problem? Thirteen years ago, the king’s first wife gave birth to a son, and no one knows for sure what happened to him. Rumors swirl throughout the castle. For the new queen, the solution as simple: dispose of all the thirteen-year-olds in the kingdom.

Except, it isn’t that easy.

Avery and her friends won’t go quietly. Avery, Kate, Tuck, and Kendrick take charge of the underground network of kidnapped children, inspiring them to believe that their past does not dictate their future and pledging to do the hardest thing of all. . .reunite the children with the homes they left behind.

When they discover that one among them might be the child of a man who wants them dead, will everything they work for be lost?

The Glass Castle is Book 1 of the Thirteen series.
Look for...
The Ruby Moon - Book 2
The Paper Boat - Book 3

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on March 1, 2016 by Shiloh Run Press
ISBN-10: 1634093895
ISBN-13: 9781634093897
67 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookqueen1o13
    bookqueen1o13Tuesday, January 3, 2017 at 8:42 am
    is this book good my brother read it but i dont know if its good
    • siri
      siriFriday, November 18, 2016 at 7:01 pm
      looks pretty interesting!
      • iifreeze
        iifreezeWednesday, November 16, 2016 at 4:49 pm
        I just finished it when my friend showed me it. He let me read it at school, and IT'S SO GOOOODDD!!!
        • demosthenes
          demosthenesWednesday, May 11, 2016 at 4:37 pm
          i finished this and it's really good. i can't wait for the Ruby Moon (Second) i recommend this to everyone!!!!!!!!!!
          • trishawhitepriebe
            trishawhitepriebeWednesday, October 26, 2016 at 7:43 am
            Enderwiggin! Did you see that The Ruby Moon is out? I am excited to hear what you think. Thanks for your kind words about the series. Read on! --Trisha
            • demosthenes
              demosthenesMonday, January 2, 2017 at 11:29 am
              YESSS!!! I have it and its great!!! now i want to buy the Paper Boats!!!! and yes your a great author, you really good at captizating readers into the story! it keeps me engaged!
              • iifreeze
                iifreezeWednesday, November 16, 2016 at 5:10 pm
                In my opinion, you're a great author. Just sayin'. #Fan
              • trishawhitepriebe
                trishawhitepriebeSaturday, July 23, 2016 at 8:07 pm
                Thank you for your kind words, enderwiggin. Sounds like you enjoy reading as much as I do! Good thing, because readers are leaders. --Trisha
              • demosthenes
                demosthenesFriday, April 22, 2016 at 11:44 am
                I finally have it!!! I got it today, and I'm holding it right now!!!!
                • ocelot
                  ocelotSunday, April 17, 2016 at 8:12 am55 stars
                  I really enjoyed reading this book. A girl, Avery, and her brother, Henry, are just taking a stroll outside to celebrate Avery's 13th birthday. However, both of them are soon taken to a mysterious place, by an old woman. When Avery gets to the place the old lady took them to, Henry is separated from her, and Avery is placed upstairs with other 13-year old boys and girls. Avery makes a new friend, Kate, and Kate introduces Avery to the mysterious place, which Avery soon finds out to be a castle. She also learns that her, and the other 13-year olds, are being held prisoners in the King's castle. Will Avery be able to return home safely, with Henry? Or will it be too late to save them both? Read this cliff-hanging novel to find out!
                  • !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Sunday, April 10, 2016 at 3:43 pm
                    me want this book!!!!
                    • hollowitz
                      hollowitzSunday, April 10, 2016 at 2:28 pm
                      Looks interesting!!!
                      • star435Tuesday, April 5, 2016 at 6:19 pm
                        this book sounds awsome i am so going to buy it. great idea coming up with Alice In Wonderland and The Cronicals Of Narnia.
                        • Ilovebooks🤗Tuesday, April 5, 2016 at 11:51 am
                          Omg i would love good meals and clouthes like hers and live there