Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 1 - 3N2.6621

Once there was a little tree ... and she loved a little boy.

So begins a story of unforgettable perception, beautifully written and illustrated by the gifted and versatile Shel Silverstein.

Every day the boy would come to the tree to eat her apples, swing from her branches, or slide down her trunk ... and the tree was happy. But as the boy grew older he began to want more from the tree, and the tree gave and gave and gave.

This is a tender story, touched with sadness, aglow with consolation. Shel Silverstein has created a moving parable for readers of all ages that offers an affecting interpretation of the gift of giving and a serene acceptance of another's capacity to love in return.

Hardcover, 48 pages
Published on March 1, 2002 by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN-10: 0060099402
ISBN-13: 9780060099404
54 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ajg16
    ajg16Friday, July 12, 2019 at 12:50 pm44 stars
    Once there was a tree who loved a little boy. The boy would eat her apples, play in her trucks and sleep in her shade. The boy loved the tree very much and enjoyed his childhood playing in the shade of her limbs. As the boy gets older he wants many things, money, a home, a boat. The tree gives him these things because she cares very much and it makes her happy. But is she happy... The boy is never around and she is lonely. But one day the boy comes back - except he isn't a boy. He is an old tired man. He only needs one thing. a place to rest... That place is the stump of the wonderful, giving, tree. I still love this book even though it is short. Thanks for reading- Ajg16's reviews
    • soso17970
      soso17970Friday, May 24, 2019 at 6:18 am33 starsFeatured
      This book is very short, but sad and deep. It is about a boy and a tree. When the boy was small, he loved to play on the tree and they were both happy. Then, the boy grew up and he started to lose interest in the tree. He started to veiw it only as a resource. Slowly, he takes everything from the tree. The tree is now only a lonely stump. Then one day, the boy comes back. He is a old man who has lost everything, and the last thing he needs, is a place to rest with the tree. I think this book represent the love of a parent to a child, always there for them no matter how ungrateful they are. This is a book everyone should read.
      • pizzagirl7
        pizzagirl7Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 1:46 pm55 starsFeatured
        The giving tree is a book about a little boy who needs a friend.so the tree is friends with him.they carve there names into the tree😁but the boy begins to grow up and he has a girlfriend now the girlfriend and the boys name s are carved into the tree.as the boy grows up he needs more and more .the leaves,the sticks,.the boy is now almost an old man.now he needs the trunk...the old man comes but and the tree says" I have nothing else for you "..And he says I need somewhere to rest and he sits on her trunk.😥😥😥this is a very sad book I love it though.I rate 5/5 stars I recommend to all ages
        • no1haunted
          no1hauntedWednesday, May 15, 2019 at 9:05 am55 stars
          This is my favorite book
          • 110090
            110090Monday, May 13, 2019 at 8:52 pm
            WOW
            • uuuTuesday, May 7, 2019 at 10:36 am
              good book
              • pokemonlover405
                pokemonlover405Thursday, March 28, 2019 at 9:23 am55 stars
                pretty cool for little kids
                • crystalFriday, February 1, 2019 at 12:16 pm
                  its my fave
                  • thanos2
                    thanos2Wednesday, January 23, 2019 at 12:13 pm55 stars
                    I love the book
                    • juniper07
                      juniper07Wednesday, January 23, 2019 at 11:58 am55 stars
                      Its soo awesome!