Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y5.743617

It's a perfect world, where everything looks right. But ugly truths lie beneath…

Imagine a world without poverty, war or pain. A world where everything is comfortable and familiar - a world where everything is the same. No colour, no music. In such a world, Jonas is selected to be the next Receiver of Memory and is apprenticed to the Giver, an old man who stores memories from the Community’s past. As Jonas learns about violence and sadness, as well as beauty and joy, he discover the sinister truth behind his safe existence.

Simply and beautifully written, The Giver is a thought-provoking look at utopian society. It was awarded the Newbery Medal in 1994.

Hardcover, 179 pages
Published on September 1, 2002 by Perfection Learning
ISBN-10: 0780741021
ISBN-13: 9780780741027
298 Book Reviews
  • bsc
    bscWednesday, March 24, 2021 at 5:09 pm55 stars
    Where Jonas lives, color is gone from the world and the world has a specific line up of how things run. When you turn 9, you get your first bicycle. When you turn 10, you get an adult hairstyle. When you turn 11, you get new clothes. When you turn 12, you get your purpose for life: your job. Some are birthers, some care for the newborns, some help the elder, and so on. But Jonas gets a very special job. He gets to be the next Giver. The old giver is training Jonas- how to act, what to do and such. The Giver is also giving Jonas memories and feelings. Feelings like sledding or getting hurt, Jonas feels that his eyes have been opened for the first time. Setting out to fix the past, Jonas will make you cry and smile. The Giver is a wonderful new look at life and everyone should read it. Happy reading!
    • eviejobs764
      eviejobs764Wednesday, March 24, 2021 at 4:35 pm11 star
      When I was in fifth grade my teacher decided that we will read the giver. We read the first four chapters and when we were done my teacher told us to put the giver on our desk. We did and she collected them. I ask why she took the books from us and she said the book is inappropriate. It has violence and mentions blood and innocent people like babies getting killed because their different. It talks about bodies too. I don't think this book is good for kids.
      • thesleepywriter
        thesleepywriterTuesday, March 23, 2021 at 3:12 pm55 stars
        have you ever been lied to? how did you feel? angry? scared? stunned? well a 12 year old boy felt all three, his name is jonas. jonas is a big deal around his commuity. he was choosen, bit that doesn't allways mean good. join jonas and find out what his commuity had hidden from him.f
        • mockingjay11
          mockingjay11Tuesday, March 23, 2021 at 2:25 pm55 stars
          I love the Giver! The book is sad and touching and really helps you understand how good things can come out of horrible places. The characters are amazing as well and the story is clear and easy too follow! Please read!
          • hackerfox
            hackerfoxSunday, January 10, 2021 at 5:37 pm55 stars
            BEFORE I START: SPOILER ALERT ok, I honestly LOVE this book, it is so cool, i have never came across a book that talks about the utopian world, it really teaches us a good amount of information about this type of world. i did a bit of reaserch about the utopian world, aparently there are different types of utopian worlds. this book doesn't really have a villan or a hero because it ends on a cliff hanger :( but if you've seen the movie, then you can say the movie did a REALLY good job of taking the information from the book and making it into a 1hour 32min movie. Being honest though i like the movie a bit better than the book. In the book the setting is a "old" "town" if you can call it a town. but in the movie the setting is on a HUGE island in the sky-ish thing. so in conclution this book is awsome and you should read it.... WAIT let me say that last sentence again. THE GIVER IS A GREAT BOOK AND YOU SHOULD READ IT!!!!!
            • chromatic1
              chromatic1Monday, January 4, 2021 at 5:45 pm55 stars
              Very interesting a whole new perspective
              • animereina2021
                animereina2021Friday, December 25, 2020 at 5:37 pm55 stars
                This book is filled with mysteries, some you probably can't even imagine. A boy named Jonas lives in a world filled with secrets. Conformity is how this world runs, making it feel wrong to stand out, almost like being in a black and white world, which is boring. Jonas will figure out all of the secrets of the so called "Utopian World", and a book like no other.
                • blossomreader
                  blossomreaderWednesday, July 15, 2020 at 5:28 pm44 stars
                  This book was weird and way different from the others I've read, but I really liked it. The Giver is about a boy named Jonas who is picked to be the Receiver in training. He has the skill to receive memories no one else knows but the Giver. But Jonas has trouble with what he sees and discovers, which leads him on a journey to elsewhere....
                  • lovetoread26
                    lovetoread26Monday, July 6, 2020 at 10:47 am55 starsFeatured
                    This book was amazing! Five stars, two thumbs up!!! I really enjoyed reading about The Giver universe. It is organized similarly to the Matched universe and the Delirium universe. Everyone in Jonas's community has a role. Some people are doctors, some are scientists, some are instructors, some are laborers, some are birthmothers, and some carry out the law. It is almost time for Jonas's Ceremony of Twelve, where he will find out what his Assignment is. When he receives the Assignment the Receiver of Memories, he has no idea what it is. Apparently it is the most important job in the community, and he has been watched for years to determine if he was a worthy candidate. He works with the older Receiver of Memories, or "The Giver", and discovers a terrible secret. He has to get away. The night of the next Ceremony, he runs. I hope you enjoy this book!
                    • bsc
                      bscWednesday, March 24, 2021 at 4:58 pm55 stars
                      Your review is so good! I agree that it was similar to the Matched universe. Awesome review!
                    • effie302
                      effie302Friday, June 12, 2020 at 6:58 am
                      such an interesting book, although im only on chapter 18 so..... so far its really good so maybe you guys would like it to!