The Giver (illustrated; gift edition) (Giver Quartet)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y5.743617

The Giver, the 1994 Newbery Medal winner, has become one of the most influential novels of our time. The haunting story centers on twelve-year-old Jonas, who lives in a seemingly ideal, if colorless, world of conformity and contentment. Not until he is given his life assignment as the Receiver of Memory does he begin to understand the dark, complex secrets behind his fragile community. Lois Lowry has written three companion novels to The Giver, including Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son.

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on October 25, 2011 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0547424779
ISBN-13: 9780547424774
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lunalovegood8
    lunalovegood8Wednesday, May 29, 2019 at 11:22 pm33 stars
    The Giver was a good book, and I liked the idea of the story. The characters in the community cannot see color, which is very interesting. I also like the ending of the book, because it leaves it to the reader’s imagination.
    • lunalovegood8
      lunalovegood8Sunday, May 19, 2019 at 11:16 am33 stars
      This was a good book. It was very interesting to see how the community could not see color, and how everything was the same. The people in the community all needed to follow certain rules as well. This is a good book if you like stories similar to the Hunger Games.
      • em7239
        em7239Tuesday, November 24, 2015 at 4:16 am
        This book sounds amazing.
        • alliya
          alliyaMonday, November 23, 2015 at 6:00 pm
          I also had it for school like ayeayecapitay but first i thought it would be boring with jonas and the girl he always hangs out with
          • 13ao
            13aoMonday, November 23, 2015 at 2:56 pm
            I'm reading this book right know it's really good so far
            • ayeayecapitay
              ayeayecapitayTuesday, November 25, 2014 at 2:37 pm55 stars
              I had it for school, no choice, but it's good
              • spacerace15
                spacerace15Monday, November 17, 2014 at 2:41 pm
                This book was an amazing read and the meaning was cool. the movie is good to but the charter in this book can seem silly a lot
                • pinkrosegirl
                  pinkrosegirlMonday, September 1, 2014 at 5:30 pm55 stars
                  this book was absolutley and truly and fantastically just amazing. it really captures the light of Jonas' life as a kid in the future and the Giver-to-be. it honestly saddens me that he and his friends never got to experience color or feelings or even their own memory.:0