Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y5.743617

It's a perfect world, where everything looks right. But ugly truths lie beneath…

Imagine a world without poverty, war or pain. A world where everything is comfortable and familiar - a world where everything is the same. No colour, no music. In such a world, Jonas is selected to be the next Receiver of Memory and is apprenticed to the Giver, an old man who stores memories from the Community’s past. As Jonas learns about violence and sadness, as well as beauty and joy, he discover the sinister truth behind his safe existence.

Simply and beautifully written, The Giver is a thought-provoking look at utopian society. It was awarded the Newbery Medal in 1994.

Paperback, 240 pages
Published on July 1, 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544336267
ISBN-13: 9780544336261
266 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • zingisme213
    zingisme213Wednesday, September 26, 2018 at 8:23 am44 stars
    Run-Down This book is basically about a boy named Jonas, and he’s picked to be the Receiver, and he’s works under this guy named The Giver (hence the name of the book). The Giver gives him memories about things that were forgotten by everyone, such as color, snow, rain, and many different things that may seem normal to us, but the Giver explains how now no-one can see color because long ago, some people decided that they wanted to all go to Sameness. Jonas meets a baby secretly named Gabe, and when he discovers that Gabe will be put down if he doesn't act, he decides to run away.
    • peterconlow
      peterconlowMonday, August 27, 2018 at 9:52 am55 stars
      OK, let's get this out of the way, this book may be one of the best books ever made. It has a storyline and lore that can make me cry sometimes. this is a must read for anyone.
      • anonymous1080
        anonymous1080Sunday, August 5, 2018 at 3:51 pm55 stars
        This book is amazing! I love how it shows major world problems currently in a hidden way to show that this world would be "perfect." It shows rebellious spirit in a good way. Jonas is different because he would like to see more than just what shows on the surface.
        • esquay
          esquayFriday, June 22, 2018 at 4:48 pm44 stars
          This book is a futuristic parallel world where the lines between good and evil are indecipherable. A must read for everyone.
          • camkayekitten
            camkayekittenFriday, June 22, 2018 at 10:57 am55 starsFeatured
            I had a wonderful time reading this series. When I read The Giver, there was a mix of many emotions going through me. Hope. Sadness. Joy. Pity. Wonder. Want. And when I read Son (the last book) The emotions were even stronger, I couldn't image being 14 and having to go through all that. I would definitely recommend.
            • armcginn
              armcginnFriday, June 22, 2018 at 9:18 am55 stars
              This book is an AMAZING all-time must read! I highly recommend it to grades 5 and up, this heartfelt book shows what it is like to discover love, family, and diversity, some times all it takes is a few memories from the giver to turn jonas's world upside down and inside out!
              • snibborj
                snibborjSaturday, May 26, 2018 at 12:01 am55 stars
                I highly recommend this book and series! So intense and interesting. The society is completely taken over by the government. Jonas thinks all is normal until he meets the giver. He is given memories and knowledge of the world before the government controlled everything. He learns it is not so lerfect after all and plans to escape. Such a good book.
                • bookstory13
                  bookstory13Tuesday, May 22, 2018 at 2:00 pm55 stars
                  I'll be honest-in the beginning I expected this book to be trash. BUT....we we reading it in school do I didn't quit reading it. It turned out to be really good! The Giver teaches us about what would happen if the government controlled our society-like completely controlled it. What would happen if we could't make choices. What happened if they chose when we were born, the job we could have, even who we marry! But then again, no one is hungry. Everyone has a job. And sudden deaths rarely happen. Jonas sees this as a perfect community...until he is selected as a giver. That changes it all.
                  • sweetgirl823
                    sweetgirl823Friday, May 4, 2018 at 11:02 am22 stars
                    I would recommed it to people who doesnt cry easy. This is a really sad book. And i read some of it and i cried for hours because it was sad.
                    • hawiian_girl
                      hawiian_girlTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 4:32 pm55 stars
                      such a good book!!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      prestyu
                      prestyu wrote:

                      This is the first Geronimo Stilt...
                      Singing Sensation (Geronimo Stil...

                      hellgirl10981

                      this seems pretty cool? jk, i L...
                      Dark Lord: The Early Years

                      hellgirl10981

                      ummmm, who were the invaders aga...
                      Boxers (Boxers & Saints)

                      pdawg272
                      pdawg272 wrote:

                      this book looks alright i like it.
                      The Sword Thief (The 39 Clues, B...

                      Our Apps and Plugins