Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y5.743617

It's a perfect world, where everything looks right. But ugly truths lie beneath…

Imagine a world without poverty, war or pain. A world where everything is comfortable and familiar - a world where everything is the same. No colour, no music. In such a world, Jonas is selected to be the next Receiver of Memory and is apprenticed to the Giver, an old man who stores memories from the Community’s past. As Jonas learns about violence and sadness, as well as beauty and joy, he discover the sinister truth behind his safe existence.

Simply and beautifully written, The Giver is a thought-provoking look at utopian society. It was awarded the Newbery Medal in 1994.

Paperback, 240 pages
Published on July 1, 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544336267
ISBN-13: 9780544336261
264 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • anonymous1080
    anonymous1080Sunday, August 5, 2018 at 3:51 pm55 stars
    This book is amazing! I love how it shows major world problems currently in a hidden way to show that this world would be "perfect." It shows rebellious spirit in a good way. Jonas is different because he would like to see more than just what shows on the surface.
    • esquay
      esquayFriday, June 22, 2018 at 4:48 pm44 stars
      This book is a futuristic parallel world where the lines between good and evil are indecipherable. A must read for everyone.
      • camkayekitten
        camkayekittenFriday, June 22, 2018 at 10:57 am55 starsFeatured
        I had a wonderful time reading this series. When I read The Giver, there was a mix of many emotions going through me. Hope. Sadness. Joy. Pity. Wonder. Want. And when I read Son (the last book) The emotions were even stronger, I couldn't image being 14 and having to go through all that. I would definitely recommend.
        • armcginn
          armcginnFriday, June 22, 2018 at 9:18 am55 stars
          This book is an AMAZING all-time must read! I highly recommend it to grades 5 and up, this heartfelt book shows what it is like to discover love, family, and diversity, some times all it takes is a few memories from the giver to turn jonas's world upside down and inside out!
          • snibborj
            snibborjSaturday, May 26, 2018 at 12:01 am55 stars
            I highly recommend this book and series! So intense and interesting. The society is completely taken over by the government. Jonas thinks all is normal until he meets the giver. He is given memories and knowledge of the world before the government controlled everything. He learns it is not so lerfect after all and plans to escape. Such a good book.
            • bookstory13
              bookstory13Tuesday, May 22, 2018 at 2:00 pm55 stars
              I'll be honest-in the beginning I expected this book to be trash. BUT....we we reading it in school do I didn't quit reading it. It turned out to be really good! The Giver teaches us about what would happen if the government controlled our society-like completely controlled it. What would happen if we could't make choices. What happened if they chose when we were born, the job we could have, even who we marry! But then again, no one is hungry. Everyone has a job. And sudden deaths rarely happen. Jonas sees this as a perfect community...until he is selected as a giver. That changes it all.
              • sweetgirl823
                sweetgirl823Friday, May 4, 2018 at 11:02 am22 stars
                I would recommed it to people who doesnt cry easy. This is a really sad book. And i read some of it and i cried for hours because it was sad.
                • hawiian_girl
                  hawiian_girlTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 4:32 pm55 stars
                  such a good book!!!
                  • pripri10005124
                    pripri10005124Friday, April 27, 2018 at 11:51 pm44 stars
                    it's like a dystopian novel... it's really a good venture to know what's the feeling of being controlled over a society that is unwanted by others
                    • zombie22
                      zombie22Thursday, March 1, 2018 at 2:40 pm55 stars
                      the giver is a great book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      aaronwalker

                      I Like It Thanks Dav Pilkey.☺
                      Captain Underpants and the Tyran...

                      fchianga
                      fchianga wrote:

                      it is a really funny bookie that...
                      Big Nate: Silent But Deadly

                      spykitten
                      spykitten wrote:

                      Yes, fairy tale twists are amazing!
                      Geekerella: A Fangirl Fairy Tale

                      hanpink800
                      hanpink800 wrote:

                      I love love love love love love ...
                      The Bad Guys (The Bad Guys #1)

                      Our Apps and Plugins