Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y5.743617

It's a perfect world, where everything looks right. But ugly truths lie beneath…

Imagine a world without poverty, war or pain. A world where everything is comfortable and familiar - a world where everything is the same. No colour, no music. In such a world, Jonas is selected to be the next Receiver of Memory and is apprenticed to the Giver, an old man who stores memories from the Community’s past. As Jonas learns about violence and sadness, as well as beauty and joy, he discover the sinister truth behind his safe existence.

Simply and beautifully written, The Giver is a thought-provoking look at utopian society. It was awarded the Newbery Medal in 1994.

Paperback, 240 pages
Published on July 1, 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544336267
ISBN-13: 9780544336261
269 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lms
    lmsMonday, February 25, 2019 at 2:08 pm44 starsFeatured
    This book was sad for me even though I really liked it. I'm not the first person who you would see cry, which I didn't, but still it was heart breaking. This book shows what people would go through it they lived the perfect and most unmistakable life. There is always going to be a problem or a mistake in the building of this life. There are going to be rules and no one can break them or they... well its a surprise. I love the realistic touch to this book. Lois Lowery really finds a hero trying to fix the conflict. I like how the ending is something I never even thought of in the beginning of this book. This builds off of friendship and courage. Being different in this book would be strange and dangerous, in these years on earth for me I've learned that different is what makes me unique.
    • HappyTuesday, February 5, 2019 at 6:32 pm
      It is the best 💯
      • heavytoothpaste
        heavytoothpasteThursday, January 31, 2019 at 9:43 pm55 stars
        This book is a very good book.
        • zingisme213
          zingisme213Wednesday, September 26, 2018 at 8:23 am44 stars
          Run-Down This book is basically about a boy named Jonas, and he’s picked to be the Receiver, and he’s works under this guy named The Giver (hence the name of the book). The Giver gives him memories about things that were forgotten by everyone, such as color, snow, rain, and many different things that may seem normal to us, but the Giver explains how now no-one can see color because long ago, some people decided that they wanted to all go to Sameness. Jonas meets a baby secretly named Gabe, and when he discovers that Gabe will be put down if he doesn't act, he decides to run away.
          • peterconlow
            peterconlowMonday, August 27, 2018 at 9:52 am55 stars
            OK, let's get this out of the way, this book may be one of the best books ever made. It has a storyline and lore that can make me cry sometimes. this is a must read for anyone.
            • anonymous1080
              anonymous1080Sunday, August 5, 2018 at 3:51 pm55 stars
              This book is amazing! I love how it shows major world problems currently in a hidden way to show that this world would be "perfect." It shows rebellious spirit in a good way. Jonas is different because he would like to see more than just what shows on the surface.
              • esquay
                esquayFriday, June 22, 2018 at 4:48 pm44 stars
                This book is a futuristic parallel world where the lines between good and evil are indecipherable. A must read for everyone.
                • camkayekitten
                  camkayekittenFriday, June 22, 2018 at 10:57 am55 starsFeatured
                  I had a wonderful time reading this series. When I read The Giver, there was a mix of many emotions going through me. Hope. Sadness. Joy. Pity. Wonder. Want. And when I read Son (the last book) The emotions were even stronger, I couldn't image being 14 and having to go through all that. I would definitely recommend.
                  • armcginn
                    armcginnFriday, June 22, 2018 at 9:18 am55 stars
                    This book is an AMAZING all-time must read! I highly recommend it to grades 5 and up, this heartfelt book shows what it is like to discover love, family, and diversity, some times all it takes is a few memories from the giver to turn jonas's world upside down and inside out!
                    • snibborj
                      snibborjSaturday, May 26, 2018 at 12:01 am55 stars
                      I highly recommend this book and series! So intense and interesting. The society is completely taken over by the government. Jonas thinks all is normal until he meets the giver. He is given memories and knowledge of the world before the government controlled everything. He learns it is not so lerfect after all and plans to escape. Such a good book.