It's a perfect world, where everything looks right. But ugly truths lie beneath…

Imagine a world without poverty, war or pain. A world where everything is comfortable and familiar - a world where everything is the same. No colour, no music. In such a world, Jonas is selected to be the next Receiver of Memory and is apprenticed to the Giver, an old man who stores memories from the Community’s past. As Jonas learns about violence and sadness, as well as beauty and joy, he discover the sinister truth behind his safe existence.

Simply and beautifully written, The Giver is a thought-provoking look at utopian society. It was awarded the Newbery Medal in 1994.

Paperback, 240 pages
Published on July 1, 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544336267
ISBN-13: 9780544336261
246 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • ravenclawella
    ravenclawellaWednesday, August 16, 2017 at 5:34 pm55 stars
    The Giver shows how different the world would be if everything was the same. Everything in Jonas's life is as simple as black and white. There is no gray areas. Then, one day, Jonas is chosen to be the Receiver and his world is forever changed. The job of Receiver allows Jonas to see color for the first time, to experience feelings for the first time, and to see the good and bad of everything life has to offer.
    • forenna
      forennaThursday, August 10, 2017 at 5:24 pm55 stars
      The Giver is about a boy named Jonas. He is about to turn 12, that is when he gets a job, role, etc. He has been doing "community service" since then. Everything is black and white. This is a plain neighborhood and everything is the same and there are very different rules then to our "world" rules. Before the ceremony, Jonas sees the color of his friends hair, but he can't describe the color. At the ceremony, he is chosen as the receiver, the most rare job, which is only chosen by someone worthy and great and etc. The old receiver then becomes the giver. Please read this book, it's the greatest book of all time! Stop reading this review and go read, read, read this book!
      • georgiasilver
        georgiasilverWednesday, August 9, 2017 at 4:54 pm
        A wise, thought provoking book that captures the readers' attention with the philosophy of an unknown world, and the perspective of a young boy experiencing and living it. An all around good read for those who wish to give a book some thought, and understanding.
        • kassandrakissup
          kassandrakissupTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 2:10 pm55 stars
          intresting
          • kgautam
            kgautamMonday, July 17, 2017 at 1:16 pm55 stars
            This book will make you laugh and cry. It is a great book, I loved it! it shows how perfect is not always perfect, and that we should cherish the life we are now living.
            • lovetolearn
              lovetolearnSunday, July 16, 2017 at 1:15 am55 stars
              I usually don't like futuristic books, but The Giver was an exception. It showed that there was hope to escape the feelingless society that Jonas was a part of to a world filled with love, joy, pain, and color.
              • boomzoom
                boomzoomMonday, July 10, 2017 at 7:17 pm55 stars
                The Giver was a fantastic, thought-provoking novel. This story is about a boy who lives in a kind of "utopia." Members of this society cannot see in color and, when they feel something, they are required to identify what it is and talk about it at the table with their families. Jonas, the main character, is selected to be the next Receiver of Memory. With this, Jonas is called to experience everything from pain and suffering, to joy and prosperity. His role holds every sensation and memory of life outside of and before the beginning of the society he lives in. He soon discovers the awful truths behind the only life he has ever known and feels the need to do something about it.
                • rainkit309
                  rainkit309Saturday, July 8, 2017 at 6:45 pm44 stars
                  This is a futuristic book that tells of what it would be like if because of war and the pain that we suffer, scientists make everything the same. Then there would be no color or truly anything special about the world and everything is very orderly with one person that bears all of the pain.
                  • jwarne
                    jwarneThursday, June 29, 2017 at 2:03 pm55 stars
                    This book is such an emotional rollercoaster, which is really apt considering that emotions are really taboo in this society. The ending left me wanting more, and I wish there was a sequel.
                    • levi0sa
                      levi0saFriday, June 23, 2017 at 10:49 am55 stars
                      I loved this book. I was interesting to think about what the world could be like in the future someday. I can't wait to read the rest of this series.