The Giver (Cascades)

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y5.743617
It is a world without conflict, poverty and inequality. Conformity and happiness are a way of life. But for Jonas, things are different. While his friends are selected to be doctors or teachers, Jonas is sent to the Giver where he discovers the secrets that lie beneath the surface of his world.
Paperback, 240 pages
Published on July 1, 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544336267
ISBN-13: 9780544336261
231 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • levi0sa
    levi0saFriday, June 23, 2017 at 10:49 am55 stars
    I loved this book. I was interesting to think about what the world could be like in the future someday. I can't wait to read the rest of this series.
    • avatar1
      avatar1Tuesday, June 20, 2017 at 7:57 pm
      I love how this book explains a world without conflict and pain is not always good. This book teaches how if we shut out our bad emotions, then we are not ourselves.
      • looneylovegood1
        looneylovegood1Monday, June 19, 2017 at 1:34 pm55 stars
        This is a book about the future. About a world, where there is no war, no pain, no suffering, no disease, and no death. This world is simply perfect world, don't you think? When you read this book, you soon find out that it's not. The world in "The Giver", is also a place without love, family, color, choice, and etc, as well. Read the book to find out the ending.
        • anagkan
          anagkanWednesday, June 14, 2017 at 1:32 pm55 stars
          Imagine a utopia-like world in which there is no poverty or conflict. This is the world in which Jonas lives in. Everyone who is born in a year do everything together. They get their stuffed animals together, get their bikes together, and finally, get their future jobs together. At the Ceremony of Twelve, all Jonas’ friends get normal jobs, but he is picked to succeed the Giver and become the Receiver of Memory. Jonas was chosen because he was different, he could see color.Jonas is given memories, he understands many things, like why people converted to sameness, and that there is more pain in the world than what happens in his community. By the end, Jonas decides to run away, and gets a taste of something that made the Giver different, music. The Giver is a great book and I recommend it to people of all ages.
          • hannah_kwonn
            hannah_kwonnTuesday, June 13, 2017 at 4:12 pm55 stars
            What if the world was perfect? In Jonas' world nothing could go wrong. But that starts to change. On the day of the Ceremony of Twelve, he is chosen to become the Receiver of Memory. As the Receiver of Memory, he begins to understand the truth, he loses the playfulness he had with his friends, family, and everything and everyone else. When he meets the Giver, he soon begins to realize that the dystopian world the Elders of the community have created is flawed. As Jonas begins to receive memories from the Giver, he understands that the memories could be pleasant but also very painful. However, Jonas begins with Gabriel, a toddler, an adventure that would change Jonas' world to color, where his community could have love. Jonas wants to show the world that there is beauty in a non-perfect world. The Giver, by Lois Lowry, is a novel that portrays responsibility, kindness, and perseverance which will leave leave you from breathless the moment you open the book to when you end it.
            • momoko12
              momoko12Monday, June 12, 2017 at 6:05 pm44 stars
              The Giver is one of the first dystopian novels I've read that's more along the lines of a utopia. The world in this book was a place created in an attempt to make the perfect society where everyone is exactly equal. To try to keep people satisfied with this life they erased everyone's memories of the past, except for one person, the keeper of memories, so that they wont make the same mistakes as people in the past. This book has great writing, plot, and character development. The story is one of my all time favorites. And I highly recommend it to everyone.
              • bluehorse3
                bluehorse3Sunday, June 11, 2017 at 1:47 pm55 stars
                Jonas lives in a world very different from ours. Everyone looks and acts relatively the same. There are many rules and practices. For instance, every year depending on your age, you earn or lose something. Like one year you get a bike or another year you lose your stuffed animal. At age 12, Jonas and all the other 12's will be given their jobs that they will have for the rest of their life. Jonas is given a special job called the Receiver of Memory. Jonas starts to learn from the present Receiver of Memory about how the world used to be like. Jonas's thoughts on his life change as he learns more about how life used to be.
                • roshnip12
                  roshnip12Saturday, June 10, 2017 at 6:42 pm55 stars
                  The Giver is an AMAZING book! There is alot of imagery that pulls you into the book. When Jonas ( the main character) goes and breaks the rules in the end it makes the book more thrilling. I wish the book carried on and didnt stop where it did.
                  • annette
                    annetteFriday, June 9, 2017 at 1:30 pm44 stars
                    To me this book can be interpreted different ways, but it is simply about a boy learning about feelings and reality in a world where people's differences are removed. It is a sad, dystopian book with a cliffhanger at the end. You never know if the main character survived or died.
                    • unicorn992
                      unicorn992Wednesday, June 7, 2017 at 8:04 pm55 stars
                      The giver is about a boy names Jonas. Jonas lives in a perfect community. Everyone’s needs are met. No one has to worry about starvation, or war. It simply doesn’t exist! I love this book and I recommend it to anyone who loves books too!!!!!!!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      callie_is_cool

                      OK, this book is AWESOME. Fast-f...
                      Cinder: Book One in the Lunar Ch...

                      railz
                      railz wrote:

                      This is about a boy who is a sci...
                      Frank Einstein and the Antimatte...

                      railz
                      railz wrote:

                      I like this book because it remi...
                      Smile

                      divadancer101

                      This Graphic novel is about Rain...
                      Smile