Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.469834
"A perfect combination of adventure, humor, and pure imagination!" —Jessica Day George, New York Times best-selling author of Tuesdays at the Castle
"Funny, scary, and endlessly inventive.” —Bruce Coville, author of Jeremy Thatcher, Dragon Hatcher
Sophie loves the hidden shop below her parents' bookstore, where dreams are secretly bought and sold. When the dream shop is robbed and her parents go missing, Sophie must unravel the truth to save them. Together with her best friend—a wisecracking and fanatically loyal monster named Monster—she must decide whom to trust with her family’s carefully guarded secrets. Who will help them, and who will betray them?

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on November 3, 2015 by Clarion Books
ISBN-10: 0544464974
ISBN-13: 9780544464971
28 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ruby gamesTuesday, January 29, 2019 at 2:28 pm
    I love this book but someone steal it what do I do?
    • cat loveThursday, November 1, 2018 at 6:32 am
      love this book one of the best i ever read
      • candyunicorn
        candyunicornThursday, May 17, 2018 at 6:09 am55 stars
        I love this book it’s awesome!
        • tori3ghoul
          tori3ghoulFriday, November 24, 2017 at 6:13 pm
          After stealing a dream bottle and making a cat monster come alive, Sophie is never allowed to dream again. This book has an amazing outlook on crazy dreams and what to make of them. From girls with odd nightmares to a mysterious dream prison, it all equals a magical novel.
          • kittykitkat
            kittykitkatFriday, May 12, 2017 at 9:48 am55 stars
            The best Book EVER.
            • bookworm88
              bookworm88Thursday, August 4, 2016 at 2:04 pm55 stars
              Not being able to dream must be awful. you can't experience the thrill of imagination, that is Sophie's problem- she can't dream. no matter how hard she tried she just couldn't. her parents own a dream shop they make cures for people just like Sophie, they also make it for people that have uncontrollable nightmares like Jake Sophie's soon to be friend. I recommend this book for those who have a wild imagination.
              • cimmie
                cimmieWednesday, May 18, 2016 at 2:00 pm55 starsFeatured
                This book makes me appreciate my dreams more. it shows that imagination is exciting it's full of adventure and excitement...but Sophie can't dream. she never has been able to...the closet she has ever gotten to dreaming her own dream was drinking one. her parents own a dream shop, they sell dreams to those who can't dream. Sophie is one of those people, but, her parents wouldn't let her drink dreams. they told her there are people out there who want to use dreams for bad intentions. that's when she meets the sinister Mr. Nightmare...that's when everything changes. recommended to readers out there who love a mystery with a sprinkle of creepiness.
                • fisykaledy
                  fisykaledyTuesday, April 19, 2016 at 9:33 am
                  weird but cool
                  • popstarprincess
                    popstarprincessMonday, November 30, 2015 at 7:32 pm
                    i sooooooooo want to read this
                    • spinnypeeps
                      spinnypeepsSunday, November 29, 2015 at 6:59 pm33 starsFeatured
                      "Everyone dreams, you just don't remember them." It's a fact. But that isn't the case for soon-to-be-twelve Sophie, a non-dreamer who lives in a shop where dreams are bought and sold. All Sophie ever wanted was to have a dream of her own. She's tried every method possible: eating weird foods before bedtime(bananas with ketchup), watching scary movies before bedtime, or just scaring herself in the hopes of having a nightmare. The closest she ever got to having a dream was drinking someone else's dream when she was six years old. There she met her best friend, Monster... and brought him to life. The adventure begins on her 12th birthday, when Sophie meet the main antagonist, Mr. Nightmare and saves the über popular Ethan from a Giraffe man. What adventures await Sophie? I would recommend this book to 3rd and 4th graders. Overall, I think this book was deliciously creative book perfect to gobble up! It made me thankful for my dreams... in fact, I can't wait to fall asleep. zzzzzzz
                      • cimmie
                        cimmieWednesday, May 18, 2016 at 1:51 pm55 stars
                        great review! this book was in fact something I would read again.
                        • bibliophile
                          bibliophileFriday, December 25, 2015 at 9:24 pm
                          YESSSSS this book was very delicious ;D... I love your review!!! But bananas and ketchups... I absolutely despise bananas... but I didn't know it could get way worse than that XD... Whose your favorite character???