The Girl in the Locked Room: A Ghost Story

Ghost story master Mary Downing Hahn unrolls the suspenseful, spine-chilling yarn of a girl imprisoned for more than a century, the terrifying events that put her there, and a friendship that crosses the boundary between past and present.

A family moves into an old, abandoned house. Jules's parents love the house, but Jules is frightened and feels a sense of foreboding. When she sees a pale face in an upstairs window, though, she can't stop wondering about the eerie presence on the top floor—in a room with a locked door. Could it be someone who lived in the house a century earlier?

Her fear replaced by fascination, Jules is determined to make contact with the mysterious figure and help unlock the door. Past and present intersect as she and her ghostly friend discover—and change—the fate of the family who lived in the house all those many years ago.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on September 3, 2019 by Clarion Books
ISBN-10: 035809755X
ISBN-13: 9780358097556
9 Book Reviews
  • bookfan2008
    bookfan2008Wednesday, September 2, 2020 at 2:35 pm
    I wanted to read this book for FOREVER! But I couldn't find it at the library but I saw it at barnes and noble but since I already bought 2 books there I didn't wanna annoy my parents so I didn't get it so ya... I'm a big fan of creepy books like this!
    • wolfieland
      wolfielandWednesday, August 26, 2020 at 1:46 pm
      i am looking forward to reading dis.
      • ahinoanime
        ahinoanimeFriday, March 13, 2020 at 9:28 am55 stars
        I really liked this book.Its was about a girl who had been in the same room for 100 and more years ,she then meets someone and the interesting part of the story begins.I gave this book a five star review because there has been no movies on it so it was a mystery to what would happen.The book also gave a interesting past and definition of the main character.
        • Kiera Wednesday, November 20, 2019 at 12:14 pm
          It is not scary and boring 🙄
          • bizet
            bizetMonday, November 18, 2019 at 6:05 am55 stars
            This. book. is. AMAZING!!!! It's the type of book that you pick up and don't want to put down! it's a chilling adventure of a girl who's family moves into a new house only to find something unusual inside it's a chiller and a mystery, along the way she makes a very unexpected friend!
            • shantzj
              shantzjTuesday, November 12, 2019 at 5:46 pm55 starsFeatured
              This book is best book I have read in my life! This book draws you in to it and makes you want to keep reading and keep reading and keep reading. I definitely recommend this book to you if you like books, or even if you aren't that interested in books, I wasn't before I've read this book. Any way, the review. A girl has been locked in a room for over 100 years. One day a Jules and her family move in to remodel the home, Jules makes a friend from going to the library. Before that Jules finds out about Lily, her friend wants to help Jules try and save Lily from the room. They schedule a sleepover to save Lily, Can they save her? find out by reading The Girl in the Locked Room!
              • shantzj
                shantzjWednesday, September 18, 2019 at 3:37 pm55 stars
                BEST BOOK EVER! This book id the best book I've read in my hole life. This book traps you and does not allow you to escape. It makes you what to keep reading until you can't read no longer. And with how great this book is, that is practically impossible. How I fond this book is from "The Forty Book Challenge,". So about the " Forty Book Challenge,". So in Fifth Grade our teachers are challenging us to read 40 books this year. So my teacher has a mini library that you can pick books from. And that is how I found "The Girl in the Locked Room". Oh and if you want a full review, I will do that once I finish the book.
                • kambrie09
                  kambrie09Wednesday, March 20, 2019 at 8:50 am
                  amazing
                  • ang90731
                    ang90731Tuesday, October 30, 2018 at 10:13 am55 stars
                    This book is amazing, I mean it has tension, suspense, horror, and action. All the things that I would prefer. If you prefer this kind of genre then this is your book.