Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.851339

The most exciting road trip in history begins! In this action-packed, New York Times bestselling adventure, twelve-year-old twins Coke and Pepsi McDonald embark on a family vacation you'll have to read to believe.

With the real-kid humor that has earned Dan Gutman millions of fans around the world, and featuring weird-but-true American tourist destinations, The Genius Files is a one-of-a-kind mix of geography and fun.

As Coke and Pepsi dodge nefarious villains from the Pez museum in California all the way to the Infinity Room in Wisconsin, black-and-white photographs and maps put young readers right into the action.

And don't miss the next leg of the journey in The Genius Files: Never Say Genius!

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on January 25, 2011 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061827649
ISBN-13: 9780061827648
31 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Novel PendingSunday, July 5, 2020 at 7:06 pm
    This book was surprisingly good. My family and I go on lots of long car trips and we like to listen to audiobooks, but it can be very difficult to find stories that match all of our interests. Since this site is just for the book itself I won't rate the audiobook itself (read by Micheal Goldstrom) but I have to say it was delivered wonderfully. I also won't go into the plot either because, for one thing, there's a summary right there, and I don't want to spoil anything. The Genius Files, as a series overall, can get monotonous. You could say the story is broken into chapter clusters, which all go about the same way. The McDonalds have been driving for hours when Mrs. McDonald suddenly announces an oddball tourist trap that she can use on her popular and ridiculous site, Amazing but True. Dr. McDonald, Coke, and Pepsi all protest, but end up following along anyway. Somehow or another, the twins get separated from their parents and are confronted by their health teacher, Mrs. Higgins, or the nefarious "Bowler Dudes" who attempt to kill them in an absurd way, (including being trapped in a burning school, getting buried alive in the Singing Sand Dunes, getting lowered into a bubbling vat of SPAM, getting shocked to death with electricity, lowered into boiling oil, and having a variety of things dropped onto their heads including a chest of drawers, a concrete brain, and a dead cow.) but they escape, and Coke rips his shirt in the process. Despite the cookie-cutter format, it can be said that the book is full of tidbit trivia, spot-on humor, and defiant action. I would recommend to upper-elementary kids and families looking to have a good time. I would give it four and a half stars, but say in this instance, it rounds up.
    • MalieThursday, August 29, 2019 at 4:44 pm
      This book is amazing! It is exciting and adventurous. There are so many cliffhangers and it is an awesome mystery.
      • applemango
        applemangoWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 8:38 pm55 stars
        This is a book about Coke and his sister Pepsi. Suddenly while they are walking home from school one day Pep says "I feel like someone is following us..." and when they spot a man with a bowler hat in a golf cart driving toward them they start to run when they get pulled under cover by Mya a Genius Files spy, as you can say. She says that they have to get into wing suits and jump off a cliff. So, hesitantly at the last minute they jump off starting by Coke pushing Pep off the cliff. Soon they remember to spread out their legs to let them cruise to a fall. They think that all is normal after they fall . However, the next day after getting sent for dittention by Miss Higgins the assasin teacher, she makes the school burn down! Followed by a series of attacks all close calls they are also mysterious ciper notes too! A terror attack in the ball of twine museum? Hmmmmm...
        • Thomas S. MIlleThursday, December 20, 2018 at 5:45 am
          I really liked this book the first time I read it. Then it started to get boring. It is very easy for less advanced readers and is a good up-to-date book. I would rate it a 3.8 out of 5
          • ugly geniusTuesday, November 28, 2017 at 8:31 am
            AWESOME
            • ugly geniusFriday, November 24, 2017 at 9:26 am
              i loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • dancer_cbear52
                dancer_cbear52Thursday, November 23, 2017 at 12:43 pm55 stars
                This book is about 12 year old twins, Pepsi and Coke McDonald. They are on a cross country trip to Washington D.C. However, their trip isn't the traditional vacation. Coke and Pep are being chased by crazy murderers, all because they are in a program called the Genius Files. The program was supposed to have kids solve the worlds problems, but it backfires. What will happen to Coke and Pep?
                • mike-o
                  mike-oMonday, October 2, 2017 at 4:51 pm55 stars
                  It's AWESOME. In real life it would be so dangerous yet amazing. Out of my 1,000 books I've read this is the creepiest ever. I chose this book because It's long and it's a series so it will take me a while to read.
                  • smishball123
                    smishball123Tuesday, June 14, 2016 at 9:32 pm55 stars
                    this was an awesome book and is my favorite series! I love how dan gutman made lots of plot twists and cool names like coke and pepsi! He also made lots of suspense!
                    • carlyschwartzdps
                      Ms. SchwartzTuesday, March 8, 2016 at 6:17 pm55 stars
                      Great book, I loved how Dan talks to you