Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.849050

Princess Emeralda a.k.a. Emma isn't exactly an ideal princess. Her laugh is more like a donkey's bray than tinkling bells, she trips over her own feet and she does not like Prince Jorge, whom her mother hopes she will marry. But if Emma ever thought to escape her troubles, she never expected it to happen by turning into a frog! When convinced to kiss a frog so he might return to being a prince, somehow the spell is reversed and Emma turns into a frog herself! Thus begins their adventure-a quest to return to human form.

Fascinating and hilarious characters ranging from a self-conscious but friendly bat to a surprisingly loyal snake and a wise green witch confirm that readers won't soon forget this madcap story.

Hardcover, 214 pages
ISBN-10: 0439528380
ISBN-13: 9780439528382
50 Book Reviews
  • timekeaper
    timekeaperSunday, November 8, 2020 at 1:55 pm
    This book reminds me of a princess doesn't cry like when I lost my crush.
    • marrigold137
      marrigold137Wednesday, June 5, 2019 at 3:02 pm55 stars
      I agree with ya'll this book and its series(and its author) is awesome!
      • marrigold137
        marrigold137Tuesday, June 4, 2019 at 10:08 am55 stars
        Emma is a big chance for princess lovers! The adventure of a froggy life time is waiting for you under the cover of the book.And once you read this, read the rest of the series ,too!
        • wiccanbat666
          wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:46 pm55 stars
          I like children's books and I am not even going to invent an excuse for reading this one. I read it because I wanted to. There. I read it because I wanted to read a story about a princess who kisses a frog. Things went slighlty wrong and the frog prince didn't turn into a human prince, instead the princess turn into a frog. And then they have a lot of adventures and epiphanies. I liked how the frog prince was bent on saving and protecting the princess but somehow was always either asleep or not around when the danger struck, and the princess had to take care of herself (Bella, you look and learn). There was a lot of humour in the book (a pretend witch was called Vannabe) and no one was exceptionally pretty, people were short, had big noses, etc. And definitely no one sparkled in the sun.
          • snicker9
            snicker9Thursday, May 11, 2017 at 8:17 am55 starsFeatured
            The Frog Princess is one of my favorite books. Princess Emeralda, otherwise known as Princess Emma, is not your typical princess. She is clumsy, and has the laugh of a donkey, and she doesn't like the self-centered Prince Jorge who her mother wants her to marry. Instead she likes to explore the swamp and and learning about magic from her Aunt Grassina. One day when she is in her favorite place-the swamp, she meets a talking frog named Eadric. Eadric claims to be a prince, and he needs Emma to kiss him to turn him back into a prince. Emma consents, but something goes horribly wrong when Emma turns into a frog as well. Now Emma and Eadric must make a journey full of danger and predators in order to find a cure. I absolutely love this book, and the rest of the series. E.D. Baker is a fantastic writer, and her stories are weaved with magic and plot twists! I recommend this book to middle grade kids, around ages 8-12. I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars.
            • amde
              amdeMonday, February 20, 2017 at 3:34 am
              I really loved the book!! I guess each one of us wants to be a princess, and a special one <3
              • fablifeparis
                fablifeparisWednesday, November 30, 2016 at 9:37 am
                cute
                • kittycutie
                  kittycutieWednesday, September 7, 2016 at 10:13 am
                  Classic, but with a neat twist. Princess, frog, BUT the princess is the frog!!! I still am not sure exactly how I feel, but still an awesome book.
                  • 400bella
                    400bellaSaturday, August 27, 2016 at 8:20 am44 stars
                    This book is so good I can not wait to read it again I have lots of books by this auther she is the best!!
                    • annabethluna
                      annabethlunaFriday, August 26, 2016 at 1:31 pm33 stars
                      A princess named Emeralda goes to the swamp one day. She sees a talking frog who insists that he is a prince and tells her to kiss him to turn him back into a prince. When Emeralda kisses him she turns into a frog. Then they go on an adventure to turn back into humans and eventually turn into humans.