Believe in the possible . . . with this "warm, witty, and wise" New York Times bestselling novel from three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm. A perfect Father's Day read about a child's relationship with her grandfather!

Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer.
Science can change the world . . . but can it go too far?

Eleven-year-old Ellie has never liked change. She misses fifth grade. She misses her old best friend. She even misses her dearly departed goldfish. Then one day a strange boy shows up. He’s bossy. He’s cranky. And weirdly enough . . . he looks a lot like Ellie’s grandfather, a scientist who’s always been slightly obsessed with immortality. Could this pimply boy really be Grandpa Melvin? Has he finally found the secret to eternal youth?

With a lighthearted touch and plenty of humor, Jennifer Holm celebrates the wonder of science and explores fascinating questions about life and death, family and friendship, immortality . . . and possibility.


"Warm, witty and wise"—The New York Times

"Awesomely strange and startlingly true-to-life. It makes you wonder what's possible." -- Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me

SUNSHINE STATE AWARD FINALIST!

Paperback, 240 pages
Published on April 5, 2016 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0375871144
ISBN-13: 9780375871146
38 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • booknerd75Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 12:41 pm
    I think this is a great book!
    • gamingqueen103
      gamingqueen103Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 6:13 pm
      Yup!!! ...And, Ellie's "Best friend's" name is the same as mine!!! ~Brianna~
    • Gornbash77Friday, May 19, 2017 at 8:31 pm
      Bought this book today already at page 55, very very great book.
      • bry04
        bry04Thursday, March 16, 2017 at 7:20 am55 stars
        REALLY GOOD BOOK
        • Mr. booksThursday, March 2, 2017 at 6:30 am
          I really like this book!
          • happy123456789Thursday, March 2, 2017 at 6:29 am
            This book is so good, I want everybody to read it!
            • harrypotter87
              harrypotter87Saturday, February 25, 2017 at 5:36 pm44 stars
              this book didnt really have any action
              • duncanthedog516
                duncanthedog516Monday, February 20, 2017 at 7:15 am55 stars
                This book is amazing and beautifully written. Right now I am reading this book for the second time. This book is realistic fiction with a science-fiction twist.
                • gjpsFriday, December 16, 2016 at 7:53 am
                  THIS IS MY BOOK REVIEW. A girl name Ellie was in kindergarten she had a gold fish from her school it was superposed to teach them about the circle of life. Within in a couple of days everyone's goldfish was dead, But not Ellie's. Ellie had that goldfish all the way through k-7 but one day she left him on the counter and when she went down to go make breakfast for her mom and her self he went belly up so she started panicking she took him to her mom and said mom he went belly up." That was not him Ellie"Mom said. That was number unlucky 13. "wow and I thought he lasted for 7 years"Ellie said. Later that night Ellie's mom called her baby sitter to watch Ellie. When the baby sitter got there she heard them two talking but Ellie could not make out what they were saying. After Ellie's mom left Ellie asked the baby sitter what were you guys talking about and the baby sitter said your grandfather got put in jail. FOURTEEN GOLDFISH
                  • nate352
                    nate352Friday, October 14, 2016 at 7:57 am
                    one of my favorite books!
                    • whitesnow173
                      whitesnow173Wednesday, October 5, 2016 at 4:47 pm55 stars
                      i am reading it for battle of the books

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      grapefruit
                      grapefruit wrote:

                      Mia has a beautiful future--a mu...
                      If I Stay

                      missknowitall

                      All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                      Dork Diaries 7: Tales from a Not...

                      missknowitall

                      All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                      Tales from a Not-So-Talented Pop...

                      missknowitall

                      All the Dork Diaries are awesome...
                      Dork Diaries 5: Tales from a Not...