Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z4.125209
Believe in the possible . . . with this "warm, witty, and wise" New York Times bestselling novel from three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm. A perfect Father's Day read about a child's relationship with her grandfather!

Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer.
Science can change the world . . . but can it go too far?

Eleven-year-old Ellie has never liked change. She misses fifth grade. She misses her old best friend. She even misses her dearly departed goldfish. Then one day a strange boy shows up. He’s bossy. He’s cranky. And weirdly enough . . . he looks a lot like Ellie’s grandfather, a scientist who’s always been slightly obsessed with immortality. Could this pimply boy really be Grandpa Melvin? Has he finally found the secret to eternal youth?

With a lighthearted touch and plenty of humor, Jennifer Holm celebrates the wonder of science and explores fascinating questions about life and death, family and friendship, immortality . . . and possibility.


"Warm, witty and wise"—The New York Times

"Awesomely strange and startlingly true-to-life. It makes you wonder what's possible." -- Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me

SUNSHINE STATE AWARD FINALIST!

Paperback, 240 pages
Published on April 5, 2016 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0375871144
ISBN-13: 9780375871146
102 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • its_tcwgaming
    its_tcwgamingThursday, November 15, 2018 at 11:56 am55 stars
    This is one of the wackiest books ive ever read! so funny and clever! I'm so excited to read the next book "The Third Mushroom!
    • devilsnare35
      devilsnare35Friday, November 16, 2018 at 3:11 pm
      Do you think I should read this book? A lot of people talk about this book so I'm wondering if you could give me a brief book summary?
      • auntieb
        auntiebSunday, November 18, 2018 at 11:29 am55 stars
        You can read mine it is on page 3. :)
        • auntieb
          auntiebSunday, November 18, 2018 at 11:30 am55 stars
          And yes. This book is very good - there is a sequel too! The Third Mushroom.
    • applemango
      applemangoWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 6:23 pm55 stars
      Her grandfather walks into the door but, he is a boy! HE has created a special "thing" that makes him imortal!!!
      • readytoread
        readytoreadWednesday, August 29, 2018 at 3:06 pm44 stars
        In this book, Ellie's grandfather found a way to make himself young again. He is now 13 and lives with Ellie and her mom. However, her grandfather has many complaints. In this book, Ellie makes friends with a boy name Raj, while discovery the answers to lots for her questions, using science, and realizing the world is not reading for some things, and there is a difference between a discovery that is for the good and a discovery that destroys. She also discovers who her 14th goldfish- an example of her lifestyle is. This book is very well written and every part is interesting.
        • bobelly
          bobellyWednesday, August 22, 2018 at 2:39 pm55 stars
          This book was very, very funny. It talked a lot about Chinese food and it was about a girl named Ellie whose Grandpa desperately wants to find the key to eternal life because he is very sad about his wife Mona who died. This book has a lot of friendship, heart and family. In the end, everyone will like it.
          • jwarne
            jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 1:49 pm55 stars
            This book was really cool. I like all of the science stuff. I thought it was really funny, too, and really liked Ellie's grandfather Melvin. Especially when he was a kid. He was so funny.
            • strawberry1234
              strawberry1234Friday, July 27, 2018 at 3:08 pm33 stars
              I did not really enjoy this book. I don't think this was the best choice I made to read butI loved exploring the option. This book didnt have me hooked in the begging. Then I started getting intrested but I started getting bored.
              • lindsagatasabad
                lindsagatasabadFriday, November 2, 2018 at 8:54 am
                I like your hair, and I haven’t read this book but I think you should try to read Searching For David’s Heart. I certainly loved it, but my friend didn’t even finish the book. I hope you do read it, the ending is the best part. Have a nice life.
              • kwamilover
                kwamiloverMonday, July 23, 2018 at 5:25 pm
                It looks great and I want to read it!
              • armcginn
                armcginnMonday, July 23, 2018 at 12:10 pm55 stars
                Welcome to a world of possibility! (otherwise known as science) where the rare jelly fish known as T.Melvinus brings the fountain of youth to life!
                • bunny_ball
                  bunny_ballSaturday, July 14, 2018 at 6:46 am44 stars
                  This was a weird and fun book. I liked the little story at the beginning about her goldfish. The story was interesting and I enjoyed seeing what would happen next. I liked how the relationships between the characters changed throughout the book. It was a very different kind of story and I recommend it.
                  • jaden07
                    jaden07Tuesday, July 10, 2018 at 12:55 pm
                    This is a really cool book. i was amazed by how the grandpa turned into a teenager. a MOODy one.Somebody should study jellyfish so we could be immortal. I think it is funny when he tries to boss people around, and when he tried to drink red wine. he couldn't drink it because his body changed. great book!

                    Recent Kids Book Reviews

                    ashton wrote:

                    i have read that book and it is ...
                    Wonder

                    jeff wrote:

                    I have unlimited wins
                    FoRtNiTe: 100+ Funny Fortnite me...

                    WINGS OF FIRE F wrote:

                    This is awesome I’ve read this b...
                    Wings of Fire Book Three: The Hi...

                    Our Apps and Plugins