Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z4.125209
Believe in the possible . . . with this "warm, witty, and wise" New York Times bestselling novel from three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm. A perfect Father's Day read about a child's relationship with her grandfather!

Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer.
Science can change the world . . . but can it go too far?

Eleven-year-old Ellie has never liked change. She misses fifth grade. She misses her old best friend. She even misses her dearly departed goldfish. Then one day a strange boy shows up. He’s bossy. He’s cranky. And weirdly enough . . . he looks a lot like Ellie’s grandfather, a scientist who’s always been slightly obsessed with immortality. Could this pimply boy really be Grandpa Melvin? Has he finally found the secret to eternal youth?

With a lighthearted touch and plenty of humor, Jennifer Holm celebrates the wonder of science and explores fascinating questions about life and death, family and friendship, immortality . . . and possibility.


"Warm, witty and wise"—The New York Times

"Awesomely strange and startlingly true-to-life. It makes you wonder what's possible." -- Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me

SUNSHINE STATE AWARD FINALIST!

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on August 26, 2014 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375870644
ISBN-13: 9780375870644
80 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • claire922
    claire922Wednesday, June 20, 2018 at 9:21 pm
    The Fourteenth Goldfish is a great story! The main character ellie, is very brave, intelligent, and courageous. The Fourteenth Goldfish is a book worth reading for!
    • unicorn992
      unicorn992Tuesday, June 19, 2018 at 6:13 pm55 stars
      this is very good, especially if you are looking for a book to read. the perfect combination between realstic fiction and humor. really good book
      • eybook2018
        eybook2018Friday, June 15, 2018 at 4:18 pm
        The Fourteenth Goldfish is a good book that is cool to read. And I really want to read it again but its really hard to get it because it's really popular too.
        • auntieb
          auntiebThursday, June 14, 2018 at 3:52 pm55 stars
          The Fourteenth Goldfish is a really enjoyable short read by Jennifer L. Holm. Where a young girl named Ellie finds out her grandfather has discovered the T. Melvinus, a jellyfish that restores youth. As her 14 year old grandfather desperately tries to get his jellyfish back from his lab that he's been locked out of Ellie wonders is it really right to share eternal youth with the world? Or will it be another atomic bomb? ( also I really enjoyed counting the goldfish on each chapter page!)
          • catface7312
            catface7312Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 4:42 pm33 stars
            This book is really cute. Ellie is in sixth grade. Her grandpa is a scientist that discovered a way to make him look and become younger. He uses it on himself and he moves in with Ellie and her family. Since Ellie's grandpa (Melvin) is younger, he goes to the same school as Ellie and has to have a curfew. Melvin believes that his discovery will give him a Nobel Peace Prize, but he needs to finish his experiment. Ellie helps him and learns a lot. I recommend this book to anyone in late elementary school or middle school.
            • lovelyneo
              lovelyneoMonday, June 11, 2018 at 7:39 pm44 stars
              This book is great, and I'd recommend it to my family because of how heart warming it is. The fact that Ellie and Marvin can relate to each other is a nice little touch.
              • looneylovegood1
                looneylovegood1Sunday, June 10, 2018 at 3:25 pm44 stars
                This book is a good story about the bond between a girl and her grandfather, even though her grandfather is very abnormal compared to most other peoples.
                • applemango
                  applemangoFriday, June 8, 2018 at 11:57 am55 stars
                  Although there are some books that this author wrote that I didn't like I would say that this book is awesome it has a wonderful story and just makes me feel good when I read this book!!
                  • dolphin8
                    dolphin8Friday, June 8, 2018 at 10:45 am44 stars
                    I liked this book because Iike science and so I wish I could have this book it is sooooooo good. Also I like the ocean the from the end. I wish the book had more to Read like 100 more words.
                    • jeffdaboss
                      jeffdabossTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 8:40 am33 stars
                      The Fourteenth Goldfish is a nice book. It's about a middle-school girl named Ellie, whose grandfather turns himself into a kid. He lives with his daughter and granddaughter, who are Ellie and her mom, and tries to figure out how to continue his research while attending a modern middle school. Problems arise when his I.D. to his science lab is blocked and he gets detention for not using a hall pass. He struggles to fit in as the average middle-school child because he doesn't try to. This book doesn't have the intricate details or character developments that would normally come with such a complex plot, so I believe that younger children will be more entertained by this than older kids.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      extrememsb
                      extrememsb wrote:

                      Ever think if trees can talk? Me...
                      Wishtree

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      I really enjoyed reading this bo...
                      Untamed: The Wild Life of Jane G...

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      I always enjoy reading these boo...
                      Bad Kitty

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      This was a fun book to read. It ...
                      Two's A Crowd (Pug Pals #1)