In this mysterious and mesmerizing fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Splendor and Glooms and Circus Mirandus, a windswept girl who can float among the stars searches for her long-lost father at a shadow-filled carnival.

Left all alone after her mother passes away, twelve-year-old Louisa LaRoche watches the sky for her father. Long ago, a powerful gust of wind swept through town, stealing him away on the wings of his untamed magic―the same magic that stirs within Louisa. As if she is made of hollow bones and too much air, her feet never quite touch the ground.

But for all her sky gazing, Louisa finds her fortune on the leaf-strewn street when she spots a gleaming black-and-gold invitation―a ticket to the Carnival Beneath the Stars. If her father fits in nowhere else, maybe she’ll find him there, dazzling crowds alongside the other strange and wonderful feats. Only, soon after she arrives, a tightrope act ends disastrously―and suspiciously. As fate tugs Louisa closer to the stars, she must decide if she’s willing to slip into the injured performer’s role, despite the darkness plucking at the carnival’s magical threads.

Heather Kassner weaves a spectacle of wondrous magic, unexpected friendship, and dark secrets.

"A dark and dazzling tale, glistening with marvels, mysteries and the magic of friendship." ―Sophie Anderson, author of The House with Chicken Legs

"Woven together with atmospheric, lyrical language, this is a sparkling tale about grief, hope, and found families. The magic of this book will touch your heart and send it soaring." ―Amanda Foody, author of Ace of Shades

"A spellbinding tapestry of dreams and nightmares, shadows and hope." ―J.A. White, author of The Thickety

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on August 4, 2020 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
ISBN-10: 1250297001
ISBN-13: 9781250297006
1 Book Review
  • raindrop07
    raindrop07over 1 year55 starsFeatured
    The Forest of Stars by Heather Kassner is a dazzling, mysterious tale of magic, friendship and mystique. When Louisa LaRoche stumbles upon The Carnival Beneath the Stars in the search for her long lost father, she can only yet imagine what mysteries lie beneath the circus tent. After an odd accident involving shadows and a performer plummeting to the ground, Louisa is given a role in the circus and her magical abilities to walk on air gift her the name of “Starlark.” But soon after she is given the new part, more peculiar events occur and the threads of Louisa's story begin to unravel, exposing many secrets in the shadows. Louisa must find a way to patch the missing holes of this tale and with the help of her friends, track down the evasive thief who is stealing the magic encircling the performers and the Carnival Beneath the Stars. I really enjoyed this book and would absolutely recommend it!